About UCCA

UCCA Center for Contemporary Art is China’s leading contemporary art institution. Committed to the belief that art can deepen lives and transcend boundaries, UCCA presents a wide range of exhibitions, public programs, and research initiatives to a public of more than one million visitors each year. UCCA Beijing sits at the heart of the 798 Art District, occupying 10,000 square meters of factory chambers built in 1957 and regenerated in 2019 by OMA. UCCA Dune, designed by Open Architecture, lies beneath the sand in the seaside enclave of Aranya in Beidaihe. Formally accredited as a museum by the Beijing Cultural Bureau in 2018, UCCA also operates non-profit foundations, licensed by the Beijing Bureau of Civil Affairs and the Hong Kong government. UCCA’s commercial ventures include the retail platform UCCA Store, the children’s education initiative UCCA Kids, and collaborations and projects under the rubric UCCA Lab. Opened in 2007 and revived by a committed group of Chinese and international patrons in 2017, UCCA works to bring China into global dialogue through contemporary art.

History

UCCA was founded as Ullens Center for Contemporary Art by collectors Guy and Myriam Ullens, and opened in 2007. In 2017, it transitioned to the stewardship of a dedicated group of new Chinese and international patrons and shareholders. Now officially known as UCCA Center for Contemporary Art, it continues its founding mission of improving lives, and promoting cultural exchange, through art.

UCCA Beijing is housed in factory chambers built in the 1950s and designed by East German architects of the Dessau Design Institute, the postwar successor to the Bauhaus Dessau. These buildings maintain traces of their industrial past. The spaces were fully renovated by architects Jean-Michel Wilmotte and Qingyun Ma in 2007, and underwent a further regeneration designed by OMA and completed in 2019. With a total area of over 10,000 square meters, it spreads across three buildings and includes the signature Great Hall, further galleries, public spaces, an auditorium, and spaces for events, education, and research.

Since its founding, UCCA has presented more than 140 exhibitions. The opening exhibition “’85 New Wave: The Birth of Chinese Contemporary Art” (2007), curated by founding artistic director Fei Dawei, is regarded as the first institutional attempt to present a history of the Chinese avant-garde in the PRC. Subsequent shows have continued to demarcate generations, including “Breaking Forecast: 8 Key Figures of China’s New Generation Artists” (2009), “ON | OFF: China’s Young Artists in Concept and Practice” (2013), “Hans van Dijk: 5000 Names” (2014), and “The New Normal: Art, China, and 2017.” UCCA’s exhibition program is also known for the solo surveys and retrospectives it has granted to key figures in the ongoing history of advanced art in China, including Xu Bing, Xie Nanxing, Zhao Bandi, Hao Liang, Zeng Fanzhi, Wang Yin, Liu Wei, Zhao Gang, Xu Zhen, Ji Dachun, Wang Keping, Wang Xingwei, Kan Xuan, Yung-ho Chang, Yun-fei Ji, Gu Dexin, Zhan Wang, Wang Jianwei, Liu Jianhua, Liu Xiaodong, Yu Hong, Zhang Huan, Song Dong, Yin Xiuzhen, Chen Wenbo, Yan Lei, Yan Pei-Ming, Qiu Zhijie, and Huang Yong Ping, among others.

UCCA has also mounted major exhibitions with international artists including Sarah Morris, Robert Rauschenberg, John Gerrard, Elmgreen & Dragset, Peter Wayne Lewis, Haegue Yang, David Diao, Korakrit Arunanondchai, William Kentridge, Lee Mingwei, Ming Wong, Pawel Althamer, Taryn Simon, Tehching Hsieh, Tino Sehgal, Apichatpong Weerasethakul, Tatsuo Miyashima, Walead Beshty, Olafur Eliasson, Not Vital, Kehinde Wiley, Mona Hatoum, and Lawrence Weiner. Through these exhibitions and related programs, UCCA has built vital links between China’s art scene and the wider world, and exposed audiences to figures they may not otherwise have had the chance to encounter directly.

A commitment to emerging artists throughout China has long been a core thread in UCCA’s exhibition program, most recently through the “New Sites” series of lecture performances (2019-), the “New Directions” series of exhibitions (2015-2019), and the “Curated by…” series of exhibitions (2009-2011). Further exhibitions have explored related areas of visual culture including photography, architecture, and design. UCCA frequently collaborates with leading international institutions to stage major exhibitions outside of Beijing or even China, furthering its mission of presenting Chinese contemporary art in a global context. Notable examples include “Bentu, Chinese artists in a time of turbulence and transformation” (Fondation Louis Vuitton, Paris, 2016) and “Cao Fei: A Hollow in a World Too Full” (Tai Kwun Contemporary, Hong Kong, 2018).

UCCA underwent a major transition in 2016 and 2017, as the founders transferred ownership to a new group of patrons and shareholders. As part of this process, UCCA evolved from a single organization housing a wide range of functions into the UCCA Group. UCCA Center for Contemporary Art is the core entity of this group, and is now registered as a museum in China. UCCA Foundation for Art and Education was also established to support research and outreach initiatives and is accredited by the Beijing Bureau of Civil Affairs. Meanwhile, UCCA Store, UCCA Kids, and UCCA Lab were incorporated as discrete companies belonging to UCCA Group.

In October 2018, the institution opened a second exhibition space, UCCA Dune, in Beidaihe, along the coast of the Bohai Sea a few hours travel from Beijing. Located in the seaside Aranya Gold Coast Community and designed by Open Architecture, the museum is nestled beneath a sand dune. Since its inaugural exhibition “After Nature,” UCCA Dune has hosted an exhibition program specifically informed by its meditative setting, emphasizing the relationship between art, humanity, and the natural world.

Revitalized in its second decade by a new governance structure, the opening of UCCA Dune, and the architectural regeneration of its flagship Beijing space, UCCA remains steadfast in its commitment to deepening lives and promoting intercultural exchange through contemporary art.

UCCA and its activities have received extensive press coverage from leading art, news, culture, and lifestyle publications. Selections are available here.

1 / 6

Team

Philip Tinari
Director, UCCA Center for Contemporary Art
CEO, UCCA Group

Since coming to UCCA in 2011, Philip Tinari has led its transformation from a founder-owned private museum into an accredited museum across multiple locations, a public foundation, and a family of art-driven enterprises. During his tenure, UCCA has mounted more than seventy exhibitions and thousands of public programs, bringing artistic voices established and emerging, Chinese and international, to an audience of over a million visitors each year. From 2009 to 2012 he founded and edited LEAP, the first internationally distributed, bilingual magazine of contemporary art in China. He is a contributing editor of Artforum, and launched the magazine’s Chinese edition in 2008. Having written extensively on contemporary art in China, he was co-curator of the 2017 exhibition Art and China after 1989: Theater of the World at the Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum in New York. Based in Beijing since 2001 and fluent in Mandarin, Tinari is a World Economic Forum Young Global Leader and a fellow of the Public Intellectuals Program of the National Committee on US-China Relations. He holds degrees from Duke and Harvard, and is currently completing a doctorate at Oxford.

 

Windy Zhu
Chief Operating Officer, UCCA Group

Windy Zhu is Chief Operating Officer for UCCA Group. She joined UCCA in 2018, and is responsible for operations, visitor experience, and the integration and continual elevation of UCCA’s brand and marketing power. She leads the development and expansion UCCA Group’s commercial units, including UCCA Kids, UCCA Store, and UCCA Lab. Zhu has more than 14 years experience in brand positioning, branding tactics, integrated marketing, multi-disciplinary collaborations, and marketing management. She has previously worked at Procter & Gamble and PepsiCo, where she was responsible for brand development, marketing, and sales.

 

Ada Zhang
Chair, UCCA Foundation
Chief Financial Officer, UCCA Group

Ada Zhang joined the team in 2009 and served for many years as UCCA’s head of finance and operations. In 2018, she successfully led the institution’s efforts to charter a philanthropic foundation dedicated to outreach and research. She now leads the UCCA Foundation in its initiatives to expand access to contemporary art among underserved communities throughout China, while also overseeing UCCA’s financial planning and allocation. Zhang is a graduate of Renmin University of China, and obtained her MBA at Hong Kong University. Before joining UCCA, she served as financial manager for the businesses Stellar Megamedia, Willsonn Partners, and Flight Center.

 

You Yang
Deputy Director, UCCA Center for Contemporary Art
Director, UCCA Lab

You Yang has over ten years of experience related to art institutions, and has been with UCCA since 2011. Keenly interested in the development of and intersection between urban and consumer culture, his previous roles have included museum manager, columnist, curator, lecturer, public relations and marketing expert, and more. Having run various UCCA teams including public relations, public programs, and retail, he has since grown the special projects department into UCCA Lab, a new division of the UCCA Group focused on commercial collaborations and new kinds of exhibitions in urban spaces. He has curated several large-scale exhibitions, including “Juqi” (2012, Lijiang), “New Order: Altermondialisme” (2016, Sanya), and “Mirroring: Aegean Place Public Art Project” (Shanghai, 2017). Prior to joining UCCA, You Yang was the marketing director of the Chinese-language version of Time Out Beijing and the deputy general manager of the China International Gallery Exposition (CIGE), the first large-scale contemporary art fair in China. He has also served as Asia consultant for the ART ASIA art fair and consultant for Hyundai Motorstudio, among others.

关于 UCCA

UCCA尤伦斯当代艺术中心是中国领先的当代艺术机构。UCCA秉持艺术可以深入生活,并改善生活的理念,每年为超过百万的观众带来丰富的艺术展览、公共项目和研究计划。UCCA北京主馆位于798艺术区的核心地带,占地约一万平方米,其原址为建于1957年、历史悠久的厂房,于2019年完成由荷兰大都会建筑事务所(OMA)主持设计的场馆改造。UCCA沙丘美术馆由OPEN建筑事务所设计,坐落于北戴河渤海海岸的阿那亚社区内。UCCA于2018年正式获得由北京市文化局认证的美术馆资质,并经北京市民政局与香港政府许可,在两地注册成立非营利的艺术基金会。UCCA的商业板块包括零售平台UCCA商店、UCCA儿童艺术中心,以及UCCA Lab旗下的馆外合作项目等。UCCA于2007年开馆,2017年在一组国内外董事的支持下完成机构的重组与转型。UCCA致力于通过当代艺术,推动中国更深入地参与到全球对话之中。

UCCA发展历史

UCCA尤伦斯当代艺术中心由比利时收藏家盖伊·尤伦斯男爵和米莉恩·尤伦斯男爵夫人创建,于2007年开馆。2017年,UCCA在国内外董事的支持下,完成机构重组与转型,并继续履行创馆使命,通过当代艺术促进文化交流,深入并改善人们生活。

UCCA北京位于国营第七九八厂(现798艺术区核心区域)于20世纪50年代建造的原厂房中,厂房由德绍设计学院(原二战时期的包豪斯设计学院)的东德建筑师负责设计。2007年,建筑整体由让—米歇尔·维勒莫特和马清运全面翻新,并保留了建筑自身工业历史的痕迹,2019年则由荷兰设计公司OMA重新设计,进行建筑空间的全面升级。UCCA北京主馆现由3座建筑构成,占地约一万平方米,除标志性的大展厅和其它大小不一的多个展厅之外,还有一间报告厅,以及用于举办教育、学术和聚会等活动的公共空间。

自创建至2019年初,UCCA已为来自世界各地的观众呈现了140余场展览。2007年UCCA开馆展——“85 新潮:中国第一次当代艺术运动”由时任尤伦斯基金会主席、中国先锋艺术运动的重要参与者费大为策划,该展览被认为是探索中国前卫艺术发展的首个美术馆展。此后,UCCA还举办了更多具有划时代意义的展览,如“中坚:新世纪中国艺术的八个关键形象”(2009)、“ON | OFF:中国年轻艺术家的观念与实践”(2013)、“戴汉志:5000个名字”(2014)和“例外状态:中国境况与艺术考察 2017”等。UCCA还为推动中国艺术发展的许多重要艺术家举办了个展和回顾展,其中包括徐冰谢南星赵半狄郝量曾梵志王音刘韡赵刚徐震季大纯王克平王兴伟阚萱张永和季云飞顾德新展望汪建伟刘建华刘小东喻红张洹宋冬尹秀珍陈文波颜磊严培明邱志杰黄永砅等。

众多国际知名艺术家的重要展览亦于UCCA呈现,其中包括萨拉·莫里斯罗伯特·劳森伯格约翰·杰勒德艾默格林与德拉塞特彼得·韦恩·刘易斯梁慧圭刁德谦寇拉克里·阿让诺度才威廉·肯特里奇李明维黄汉明帕维尔·阿瑟曼泰伦·西蒙谢德庆提诺·赛格尔阿彼察邦·韦拉斯哈古宫岛达男威利德 · 贝西蒂奥拉维尔·埃利亚松诺特·维塔尔可海恩德·维里莫娜·哈透姆劳伦斯·韦纳。UCCA通过这些展览及相关项目,积极推动中国艺术与世界交流,令国内外观众有机会一睹世界艺术大师的创作实践,从而了解当代艺术前沿发展与动态。

UCCA始终关注中国新兴艺术力量,致力于为艺术新声提供展示平台,近些年通过“新现场”表演讲座系列活动(2019至今)、“新倾向”系列展览(2015—2019)和“由……策划”系列展览(2009—2011)为中国具有潜力的艺术家举办首次机构个展和出版首本专著。此外,还举办了众多与摄影、建筑、设计等视觉文化相关的展览。UCCA还与国际领先的艺术机构密切合作,积极推动中国当代艺术参与全球对话,为中国艺术家在北京之外,甚至海外举办了如“本土:变革中的中国艺术家”( 法国巴黎路易威登基金会,2016)和“曹斐:在过满的世界挖一个洞”( 香港大馆当代美术馆,2018)等展览。

2016和2017年,在国内外董事的支持下,UCCA完成机构重组,成功转型为UCCA集团。集团核心实体——UCCA尤伦斯当代艺术中心已正式获得北京市文化局认证的美术馆资质。而作为UCCA集团服务社群发展、推动学术研究的引领者,UCCA艺术教育基金会亦在北京市民政局正式注册成为非营利性基金会。UCCA集团的商业板块包括UCCA商店、UCCA儿童艺术中心和UCCA Lab。

2018年10月,UCCA分馆——UCCA沙丘美术馆成立。UCCA沙丘美术馆面朝渤海,位于距北京约300公里的北戴河阿那亚社区。美术馆由OPEN建筑事务所设计,隐于阿那亚社区黄金海岸沙丘之下。自开幕展“后自然”举办之后,UCCA 沙丘美术馆还推出了注重与在地环境互文关系的展览项目,聚焦探索艺术、人与自然三者的关系。

随着UCCA机构顺利重组、UCCA沙丘美术馆成立,以及UCCA北京主馆建筑全面改造完成,迈入下一个十年的UCCA将继续秉承艺术可以深入生活,跨越边界的理念,坚定履行机构使命,通过当代艺术促进文化交流,深入并改善人们生活。

UCCA及其活动的相关报道广泛见诸于各大知名艺术、新闻、文化和生活时尚媒体,部分报道请参见此处。

1 / 6

团队

田霏宇
UCCA尤伦斯当代艺术中心馆长
UCCA集团CEO

田霏宇现任UCCA尤伦斯当代艺术中心的馆长兼CEO。自其2011年出任馆长以来,UCCA已在田霏宇的带领下,由私人美术馆成功转型为中国领先的当代艺术机构,旗下包括一座由北京市文化局认证、于多地运营的美术馆,一个公益基金会和一组以艺术为核心的企业。田霏宇在任期间,UCCA举办了70多场展览和上千场公共项目,每年向超过百万观众介绍中国和国际知名的艺术家及艺术新秀。2009年至2012年,他创办了中国首个国际发行的双语当代艺术杂志《艺术界LEAP》,并担任编辑总监。此外,他还是国际知名艺术杂志《Artforum》的特约编辑,并曾担任Artforum中文网的创始主编。田霏宇在中国当代艺术领域有多年的研究和写作经验,他曾任2017年纽约古根海姆美术馆的大展“1989年后的艺术与中国:世界剧场”的联合策展人。田霏宇在2015年被世界经济论坛提名为“全球青年领袖”,2016年被美中关系全国委员会选为“公共知识分子”项目的成员。田霏宇自2001年移居北京,获有杜克大学的文学学士学位以及哈佛大学的东亚研究硕士学位,目前正在牛津大学攻读艺术史博士。

 

朱玮琦
UCCA集团首席运营官

2018年加入UCCA,负责优化UCCA美术馆的运营和观众体验、整合及提升品牌及市场营销的影响力,开拓发展UCCA商业运营模式,包括UCCA儿童、UCCA 商店和UCCA Lab。拥有十四年以上品牌定位、品牌策略、整合营销、跨界合作及运营管理的经验。此前曾在宝洁、百事等公司负责品牌建设、市场营销和销售业务。

 

张朝卫
北京尤伦斯艺术基金会理事长
UCCA集团财务总监

2009年加入UCCA集团,多年担任UCCA运营总监和财务总监。2018年成功创建北京尤伦斯艺术基金会,在监管集团财务战略同时,领导北京尤伦斯艺术基金会令艺术教育惠及艺术未触达的中国社区儿童。毕业于中国人民大学,于香港大学获得MBA。在加入UCCA之前,曾担任星美传媒集团、汉瑞商务管理咨询和北京福莱森特康辉国际旅行社有限公司财务经理。

 

尤洋
UCCA尤伦斯当代艺术中心副馆长
UCCA Lab 总监

拥有十余年艺术机构从业经验,2011年加入UCCA集团。密切关注城市和消费文化发展动态与融合,此前身份多元,包括艺术机构管理者、专栏作家、策展人、艺术管理讲师、公共关系和营销专家等。曾主管UCCA公共关系部、公共社会实践部和零售部等部门业务,并将特殊项目部整合升级为UCCA新部门——UCCA Lab,专注探索商业艺术合作与城市空间新型展览的可能性。曾策划的大型展览包括:2012年丽江束河古镇“局气”装置艺术展、2016年海南三亚艾迪逊酒店 “新国际:另一个世界是可能的”展览和2017年上海爱琴海购物公园长期呈现的大型公共艺术展览“镜像”等。在加入UCCA之前,曾担任《TimeOut北京》中文版杂志市场总监、中国首个大型当代艺术博览会——中国国际画廊博览会(CIGE)副总经理,美国迈阿密Art Asia艺术博览会亚洲顾问和现代汽车文化中心艺术顾问等。