UCCA Beijing

Haegue Yang: Come Shower or Shine, It Is Equally Blissful

2015.10.30 - 2016.1.3

Hovering Lion Dance – Trustworthy #240

2015

Vinyl film, various envelope security patterns, graph paper, origami paper, framed

19 pieces, 630 x 1460 cm

About

Location:  Central Gallery and Nave

"I saw a strange optimism and generosity in the title, an encouragement to overcome a seeming lack of commonality and to embrace growing diversity in our time and place." —Haegue Yang

From 30 October 2015 to 3 January 2016, UCCA is pleased to host the first solo exhibition in China of Haegue Yang. "Haegue Yang: Come Shower or Shine, It Is Equally Blissful" includes the artist's major works from 1994 to the present with newly commissioned sculptural installations. Through the Lobby, Nave, and Central Gallery, viewers navigate the plurality of Yang's unique visual language, a landscape of material hybridity—spices, Venetian blinds, clothing racks, synthetic straw, Choco Pies, bells, graph paper—torn, lacquered, woven, lit, and hung. Here, Yang attempts to stage diverse narratives of nameless subjectivities in a syncretic mode of abstraction and figuration that does not seek a balance between the two.

In reference to an idiom found in the poem "Drinking on the Lake when it Shines after the Rains" by the Northern Song dynasty scholar Su Shi, the exhibition's title suggests high spirits in spite of dramatic shifts in the environment, the embrace of diversity in our world. It also alludes to the artist's preoccupation with sensorial experience, which triggers associative sentiments beyond the verbal and conceptual. Lacquer Paintings such as Rainy Dirty (2012) or Rainy Chili (2011) display impressions of seasonal and environmental conditions acquired in the production process: lacquer is poured onto wooden panels in multiple layers then set against the elements outdoors. Exposed to rain, wind, and other disturbances, their surfaces become dotted and dusty, recording the specific season and place of their creation. Similarly, Spice Moons (2013), eight framed panels of spice prints, line the opposite wall of the Nave, carrying the scent of Singapore's diversity and colonial history into the exhibition space. Through visual and titular references, the two series suggest a connection between celestial bodies, the moon and stars, and human perception.

Hanging from the rafters of the Nave, Sol LeWitt Upside Down – K123456, Expanded 1078 Times, Doubled and Mirrored (2015) consists of twin volumetric shapes, tropes of LeWitt's K123456 (1997) expanded and mirrored with Venetian blinds. Becoming opaque or transparent according to the natural light of the space or standpoint of the viewer, the piece approaches the original not as parody but as a compositionally liberated expression of respect. Totem Robots (2010), a sculptural installation in three parts titled Sidewise, Askew, and Forward, also share the Nave, their ‘arms’ and ‘heads’ draped with electric cables, light bulbs, and other ephemera emptied of function.

These accumulated anthropomorphic features can also be found in the new sculptural group The Intermediates (2015) and the wallpaper series Eclectic Totemic (2013)—completed with London-based designer duo OK-RM (Oliver Knight and Rory McGrath)—situated in the Central Gallery. Titled "The Sun and the Moon: The Golden Crow and the Jade Hare," the floor is drawn according to a spiral pattern found in Oskar Schlemmer's Triadisches Ballett (1922), the straw figures of The Intermediates, adorned with a Korean bridal headpiece, vintage Indian cowbells, and artificial succulent plants among other things, ‘dance’ in a whimsical ritual allowing an experiential shift in their assumed objectivity.

The Central Gallery is entirely wrapped and rendered by wall décor with the paper collage series Trustworthies (2010-) on vinyl arrangements. Video Trilogy (Unfolding Places, Restrained Courage, and Squandering Negative Spaces, 2004-2006) is embedded within the Trustworthies, featuring an intimate voice-over monologue unfolding episodes of observations on homelessness and displacement collected during lonesome journeys. The narrator's voice flows over sequences of urban scenery interrupted by occasions of origami, masked figures, or paper windmills.

In the Lobby, viewers are welcomed by Virtuous Edibles – Affection and Benevolence (2015), two towers—each weighing approximately 500 kg, altogether a ton—constructed from Choco Pie packages with the characters of 情 [affection] and 仁 [benevolence] delineating the product markets of Korea and China, respectively. Monumental in scale, the work posits a contrast between the intimate, familiar taste of the snack with its ever-changing commercial image, while highlighting the notion of virtue attained through the application of an otherwise trivial commodity.

An extensive exhibition catalogue, "Haegue Yang: Come Shower or Shine, It Is Equally Blissful" explores the affective power of industrial materials, revealing a spiritual threshold in the ordinary.

Within the internalized movements of Yang's diverse practice, several iterations of alternative temporality are attempted: the appropriation of Sol Lewitt's progression in geometric shapes (Sol LeWitt Upside Down – K123456, Expanded 1078 Times, Doubled and Mirrored), astronomical phenomenon reflected in shifts of human perception (Lacquer Paintings, Spice Moons), and the syncretism of tradition with the economic undercurrents of sweetness in a popular Korean snack (Virtuous Edibles – Affection and Benevolence). Each signifies movement in spite of static form, citing instances outside the insomnia of their inscribed utilitarian time.

李明

Download "Haegue Yang: Come Shower or Shine, It Is Equally Blissful" press release.

About the Exhibition

"Haegue Yang: Come Shower or Shine, It Is Equally Blissful" is the final installment of UCCA's Secret Timezones Trilogy, a suite of consecutive solo exhibitions by contemporary Asian artists whose works reveal dislocated temporalities lying dormant behind mundane objects. The trilogy is curated by UCCA consulting curator Venus Lau, this exhibition with assistant curator Felicia Chen, and sponsored by SEDANT·ZIQUE.

Barco is the video equipment sponsor, and production support comes from ORION.

Published with support from Post Wave Publishing Consulting and designed by United Design Labs, Beijing, the exhibition catalogue, Haegue Yang: Come Shower or Shine, It Is Equally Blissful, includes a selection of nine previously published essays and conversations translated into Chinese as well as a curatorial essay by Venus Lau and a dialogue between Haegue Yang and Liu Wei.

About the Artist

Haegue Yang (b. 1971, Seoul) has lived and worked between her native city, Seoul, and Europe, since 1994. Through abstract and complex visual languages embodied in installations, light sculptures, straw sculptures, graphics, paper collages, wallpaper, and video essays, Yang translates her subjective reflections of specific narratives, engaging various modes of materiality from industrially manufactured goods to handicraft techniques. Yang represented South Korea at the 53rd Venice Biennale (2009) and exhibited at dOCUMENTA (13) in Kassel (2012). Her recent solo exhibitions took place at Haus der Kunst München (2012), Museum of Contemporary Art, Strasbourg (2013), Bergen Kunsthall (2013), and Leeum, Samsung Museum of Art, Seoul (2015).

Works in the exhibition

View All

Haegue Yang

Sol LeWitt Upside Down – K123456, Expanded 1078 Times, Doubled and Mirrored

2015
Aluminum Venetian blinds, aluminum hanging structure, powder coating, steel wire
840 x 562.5 x 1052.5 cm
Courtesy the artist.

Haegue Yang

Spice Moons

2013
Screen prints, sandpaper, spices, herbs*, framed Produced at Singapore Tyler Print Institute – Creative Workshop & Gallery, Singapore
8 pieces, 166 x 115.5 x 4.5 cm each
Courtesy the artist.
* Ingredients used: ginger powder, chili powder, cumin powder, garam masala, ganthoda powder, coriander powder, mustard powder, cardamom powder, white chili powder, clove powder, black pepper powder, white pepper powder, turmeric powder, star anise powder, cinnamon powder, nigella powder, root of tuber fleece flower, rhubarb, licorice root powder, myrrh

Haegue Yang

Totem Robot – Sidewise

2010
Clothing rack, casters, light bulbs, cable, grill grid, paint grid, sink strainer, metal rings, metal chain, spectacle frame, fringe, knitting yarn, hairpieces, hair roller, bells, pine cone, seashells, tea strainer
188 x 107 x 102 cm

Haegue Yang

Totem Robot – Askew

2010
Clothing rack, casters, light bulbs, cable, cord, metal hangers, plastic funnels, elastic net, bells, fishing float, aluminum reflector, darklight louver, metal rings, metal chain, paper clips, rubber toy animal, hair roller, hairpieces
190 x 130 x 75 cm

Haegue Yang

Fishing

1995
Wooden panel, wood varnish, thread, fish hook
40 x 32 cm
Courtesy the artist.

Haegue Yang

The Intermediate – Chinese Bride

2015
Artificial straw, steel stand, powder coating, casters, Indian bells, gourds, jute twine, tri-color band
190 x 125 x 130 cm

Haegue Yang

The Intermediate – Basket Totem on Triple Leg

2015
Artificial straw, steel stand, powder coating, casters, Indian bells, artificial plants, plastic twine, cord, metal rings, metal bells
230 x 105 x 95 cm

Haegue Yang

The Intermediate – Triple Sphere on Pyramid Totem

2015
Artificial straw, steel stand, powder coating, casters, Indian bells, artificial plants, plastic twine, cord, metal rings, metal bells
280 x 120 x 120 cm

Haegue Yang

The Intermediate – Sea Lotus

2015
Artificial straw, steel stand, powder coating, casters, root carving, cotton twine, jute twine, cord, artificial seaweed, barnacles, abalone shells, sea shells, conch shells, metal basket, palm tree basket, coconut basket, gourds, wood perches, bird toys, trumpet, rubber object object
215 x 110 x 110 cm

Haegue Yang

Sonic Full Moon – Medium Ultralight #14

2015
Steel frame, metal grid, powder coating, brass plated bells, metal rings, steel wire
172 x 53 x 53 cm
Courtesy the artist.

Haegue Yang

Hovering Lion Dance – Trustworthy #240

2015
Vinyl film, various envelope security patterns, graph paper, origami paper
19 pieces, 630 x 1460 cm

Haegue Yang

Eclectic Totemic

2013
In collaboration with OK-RM (Oliver Knight and Rory McGrath), London
Digital color print
Size variable
Courtesy the artists.

Haegue Yang

Unfolding Places

2004
Single channel DV-PAL, color, sound, 18:15, filmed in London and Seoul, Voice-over: Helen Cho (English)

Haegue Yang

Restrained Courage

2004
Single channel DV-PAL, color, sound, 19:07, filmed in Amsterdam, Frankfurt, London, Seoul, Berlin, Voice-over: Camille Hesketh (English)

Haegue Yang

Squandering Negative Spaces

2006
Single channel DV-PAL, color, sound, 27:57, filmed in Brazil, Voice-over: David Michael DiGregorio (English)

1 / 15

Installation Views

Installation Views

1 / 16

UCCA北京

梁慧圭:雨奇晴好

2015.10.30 - 2016.1.3

《徘徊的狮子舞 – 信用良好者 #240》

2015

聚氯乙烯薄膜、多种保密纹样信封、绘图纸、折纸、已装框

19件,每件为630 x 1460厘米

关于展览

地点:  中展厅、甬道

“在展览标题中,我看到了一种陌生的乐观与慷慨,同时,对于克服看似缺乏共性的现实,以及迎合不断增长的、我们身处于其中的时空多样性,它也起了一种推进作用。”——梁慧圭

UCCA当代艺术中心于2015年10月30日至2016年1月3日举办艺术家梁慧圭在中国的首场个人展览。“梁慧圭:雨奇晴好”包含这位艺术家自1994年迄今创作的主要作品,以及新近创作的雕塑装置。观众穿行于UCCA大堂、甬道、中展厅时,能欣赏到艺术家实践中常用的独特视觉语言,即以混合各类材料形成的景观——被撕裂、涂漆、编织、点燃、悬挂的香料、百叶窗、挂衣架、人造稻草、巧克力派、铃铛、方格纸。在本场展览中,艺术家尝试以融合互相难以“和谐共处”的“抽象”与“具象”的方式,展现对无名之物的的多元叙述。

展览的名称以北宋诗人苏轼的《饮湖上初晴后雨》为参考,暗示出在周遭形势极具改变的情况下,仍然对世界多元化保持接受的态度。标题同时又暗示着艺术家对知觉经验——这些经验常常能引发语言和概念无法表达的情绪——有所关注。例如,《脏雨》(2012年)或《辣椒雨》(2011年)等漆画显示了她在创作过程中捕捉到的、对季节和环境的印象:将清漆分多次层层倾倒到木板上,然后固定于户外的自然环境中。在遭受风、雨及其他自然条件的侵蚀后,绘画表面布满斑点和灰尘,从而记录了作品创作的特定季节和地点。与之类似,在《香辛月》(2013年)中,于甬道另一侧墙壁排成一排的8块香料制作的装框画板,将新加坡多元性和殖民地历史的气味整合到展场之中。通过视觉和标题文字,这两个系列作品提示出月亮和太阳两个天体与人类知觉之间的联系。

悬挂于甬道上方工字钢的《索尔·勒维特反转 – K123456,扩大1078次,增倍与镜像》(2015年)由两个体积相似的部分构成。作品复制了勒维特绘画作品《K123456》(1997年)中的形象,并以百叶窗为材料,进行放大和摹仿。作品根据展场的光线和观众的视角而变得在透光与遮蔽之间转换。这并非单纯的仿制品,而是力图以充满想象力的方式表现出对原作的尊重。由分别名为“侧向”“歪斜”和“前进”的三个部分组成的雕塑装置系列“图腾机器人”(2010年)亦在甬道中展出。这些“机器人”的“手臂”和“头部”由电缆、灯泡和其他被抽空使用功能的微小之物组成。

我们也可以在位于中展厅的、新近创作的装置系列“中间类型”(2015年)以及墙纸系列“多面图腾”(2013年)中见到此类拟人化的特征,后者由伦敦设计师二人组“OK 和RM”(奥利弗·奈特和罗里·麦格拉思)与艺术家共同完成。这个名为“金乌玉兔”的展览单元的地面是根据奥斯卡·施莱默的《三人芭蕾》(1922 年)中的漩涡图案而绘制的,“中间类型”系列的人形稻草由韩国的婚礼头饰、复古的印度铃铛和人造植物等构成。它们以一种奇特的节奏“舞动”,将材料原有的客观性向主观的维度
转换。

整个中展厅被以聚氯乙烯墙纸为媒介的作品“信用良好者”(2010 年)系列包裹和装饰。“视频三部曲”(《展开的场域》《犹豫的勇气》《滥用于负空间》,2004-2006 年)被嵌入“信用良好者”之中,影像中亲切的独白展开了孤独旅程中对流离和漂泊的一系列观察。叙述者的声音在连续的城市场景中展开,一些手工折纸、面具人像或纸质风车亦在影像的画面之中穿插而过。

在大堂中,首先迎接观众的是作品《有道德的零嘴–情意与仁善》(2015年)——两座由巧克力派组成的“小塔”(每座重约500千克,共1吨)。巧克力派包装上的“情”字和“仁”字,是分别为韩国和中国市场而专属设计的。这件体量巨大的作品,呈现出熟悉的零食味道及其不断变化的商业包装图像之间的张力,凸显运用无足轻重的商品表现的道德概念这一现象。

在多元化实践的内在运动中,梁慧圭进行了替代暂时性的反复尝试:对索尔·勒维特创作的几何形体演变逻辑的挪用(《索尔·勒维特反转–K123456,扩大1078次,增倍与镜像》),反映天文现象的人类感知转变(《漆画》《香辛月》),以及将传统文化与流动于广为人知的韩国零嘴中的甜味经济暗流相融合(《有道德的零嘴 – 情意与仁善》)。这些作品尽管多为静态,却都表现出了一种运动感,提供了永无止息的实用主义时间的以外的时间类型案例。

李明

下载“梁慧圭:雨奇晴好”新闻稿。

关于展览

“梁慧圭:雨奇晴好”为“不明时区三部曲”展览系列的最后一场展览。“不明时区三部曲”由一系列亚洲艺术家个展组成。这些艺术家的作品均展示了潜伏在生活中庸常之现象底下错置的时间性。 “不明时区三部曲”由UCCA 顾问策展人刘秀仪策划,“梁慧圭:雨奇晴好”由助理策展人陈怡辰协作呈现。

“梁慧圭:雨奇晴好”由巴可提供影像设备赞助,好丽友·派提供相关作品制作支持。展览画册由后浪出版公司提供赞助并出版,由联合设计实验室(United Design Lab)设计。展览画册《梁慧圭:雨奇晴好》包括九篇之前已经发表过的、被译成中文的论文和采访、刘秀仪撰写的一篇策展文章,以及梁慧圭和刘韡之间的对话纪录。

关于艺术家

梁慧圭(1971年生于首尔)生活和工作于首尔及欧洲(1994年至今)。通过装置、轻型雕塑、稻草雕塑、图像、纸拼贴、墙纸以及录像文学中抽象而复杂的视觉语言,她运用不同的材料(从工业制品到手工艺)诠释她对特定故事的主观反映。梁慧圭曾于第53届威尼斯双年展(2009年)中代表韩国参展,并参加卡赛尔文献展(第13届,2012年)。她的近期展览举行于慕尼黑艺术之家(2012年)、斯特拉斯堡当代艺术博物馆(2013年)、卑尔根艺术厅(2013年)和首尔三星美术馆(2015年)。

展出作品

查看更多

梁慧圭

《索尔 · 勒维特反转 - K123456,扩大1078次,增倍与镜像》

2015
铝百叶窗、铝合金的悬挂结构、粉末涂料、钢丝
840 x 562.5 x 1052.5厘米
由艺术家提供。

梁慧圭

《香辛月》

2013
丝网印刷,砂纸,香料,药材*,装框
制作于新加坡泰勒版画研究院 - 创意工作坊及画廊,新加坡
8 幅,每幅为166 x 115.5 x 4.5 厘米
由艺术家提供。
* 原料:生姜粉,辣椒粉,孜然粉,葛拉姆马萨拉,荜拔粉,香菜粉,芥末粉, 豆蔻粉,白辣椒粉,丁香粉,黑胡椒粉,白胡椒粉,姜黄粉,八角粉,桂皮粉, 黑种草粉,何首乌根,大黄,甘草粉,没药

梁慧圭

《图腾机器人 - 侧向》

2010
挂衣架、脚轮、灯泡、电缆、烤肉架、涂料网格、水槽过滤器、金属环、金属链、眼镜架、流苏、针织毛线、假发片、卷发、铃铛、松果、海贝、茶漏
188 x 107 x 102厘米

梁慧圭

《图腾机器人 - 歪斜》

2010
挂衣架、脚轮、灯泡、电缆、细绳、金属挂钩、聚碳酸脂漏斗、弹力网、铃铛、钓鱼浮子、铝制反射镜、格栅灯架、金属环、金属链、回形针、橡胶玩具动物、发卷、假发片
190 x 130 x 75厘米

梁慧圭

《钓鱼》

1995
木制面板、木用清漆、线、鱼钩
40 x 32厘米
由艺术家提供。

梁慧圭

《中间类型 - 中国新娘》

2015
人造稻草、钢支架、粉末涂料、脚轮、印度铃铛、葫芦、黄麻线、三色带
190 x 125 x 130厘米

梁慧圭

《中间类型 – 三足篮图腾》

2015
人造稻草、钢支架、粉末涂料、脚轮、塑料绳、棉花麻线、黄麻线、针织、绳、人造羽毛、贝壳、海螺、金属环、金属链、金属铃铛
230 x 105 x 95厘米

梁慧圭

《中间类型 – 金字塔图腾上的三球体》

2015
人造稻草、钢支架、粉末涂料、脚轮、印度铃铛、人造植物、塑料绳、绳、金属环、金属铃铛
280 x 120 x 120厘米

梁慧圭

《中间类型 – 海洋莲花》

2015
人造稻草、钢支架、粉末涂料、脚轮、根雕、棉花麻线、黄麻线、绳、人造海带、藤壶、鲍鱼壳、贝壳、海螺、金属篮、棕榈树篮、椰子篮、葫芦、木栖架、鸟玩具、小号 (乐器)、橡胶物件
215 x 110 x 110厘米

梁慧圭

《发声的满月 – 超轻中型 #14》

2014
钢框、金属网格、粉末涂料、镀黄铜铃铛、金属环、钢线
172 x 53 x 53厘米
由艺术家提供。

梁慧圭

《徘徊的狮子舞 – 信用良好者 #240》(局部)

2015
聚氯乙烯薄膜、多种保密纹样信封、绘图纸
19件,630 x 1460厘米

梁慧圭

《多面图腾》

2013
与OK和RM合作(奥利弗 · 奈特和罗里 · 麦格拉思)、伦敦
数码彩色打印
尺寸可变
由艺术家们提供。

梁慧圭

《展开的场域》(视频截图)

2004
单屏道PAL制式数字视频,彩色,有声,18分15秒,摄于伦敦以及首尔,画外音:赵海伦(英文)

梁慧圭

《犹豫的勇气》(视频截图)

2004
单屏道PAL 制式数字视频,彩色,有声,19 分07 秒,摄于阿姆斯特丹、法兰克福、伦敦、首尔以及柏林,画外音:卡米尔·赫斯基斯 ( 英文)

梁慧圭

《滥用于负空间》(视频截图)

2006
单频PAL制式数字影像,彩色,有声,27分57秒,摄于巴西,画外音:大卫 · 迈克尔 · 迪格雷格里奥(英文)

1 / 15

活动现场

活动现场

1 / 16