UCCA Edge

City on the Edge: Art and Shanghai at the Turn of the Millennium

2021.5.22 - 2021.7.11

Installation view of “City on the Edge: Art and Shanghai at the Turn of the Millenniuma”.

About

Location:  UCCA Edge

The opening exhibition at UCCA Edge looks back at the moment Chinese contemporary art entered into global dialogue and the transforming urban fabric of Shanghai at the turn of the millennium. 


SHANGHAI, China — UCCA Edge opens in Shanghai with the inaugural exhibition “City on the Edge: Art and Shanghai at the Turn of the Millennium,” on view May 22, 2021 to July 11, 2021. This exhibition looks to the city UCCA Edge calls home at the juncture when China’s art world came to envision itself as part of a global contemporary, bringing together new and important works by 26 major Chinese and international artists, many with deep connections to UCCA and the development of contemporary art in China. Participating artists include Matthew Barney, Birdhead, Ding Yi, Fang Fang, Greg Girard, Andreas Gursky, He Yunchang, Hu Jieming, Huang Yong Ping, William Kentridge, Lee Bul, Liang Yue, Ni Jun, Shi Yong, Xu Zhen, Yan Lei, Yang Fudong, Yang Zhenzhong, Yu Youhan, Zhang Enli, Zhang Peili, Yung Ho Chang, Zhao Bandi, Zheng Guogu, Zhou Tiehai, Zhou Xiaohu. “City on the Edge: Art and Shanghai at the Turn of the Millennium” is curated by UCCA Director Philip Tinari.

In and around the year 2000, amidst emerging markets, reforming institutions, and artist-led organizations, a slate of exhibitions occurred that would expand the range of possibilities for experimental art in a city on the verge of a new international centrality. New art took root everywhere, from industrial warehouses to municipal museums, from retail space in unopened shopping malls to the opening ceremony of a major international summit. Two decades later, “City on the Edge” situates itself in the city’s multiplicitous cosmopolitan history, reflecting on the rapidly transforming urban fabric and the generative development in contemporary art by assembling important works that have brought this flourishing formation and provocative scene into being (as chronicled in the TV documentary series Arts and Artists, produced by Fang Fang (b. 1977, Beijing, lives and works in Beijing)), in dialogue with works that refract the city’s globalizing present. This exhibition follows in a tradition of UCCA opening exhibitions, begun by Fei Dawei’s “’85 New Wave: The Birth of Chinese Contemporary Art” (2007), that position a new museum in relation to the art historical context in which it will function. Seen today, these artists and their contributions allow us to reflect on how far the city and its cultural ecology have come and to understand the experimental ethos that underlies Shanghai’s current position at the forefront of China’s global art scene.

The monumental Bank of Sand, Sand of Bank (2000) by Huang Yong Ping (1954-2019, Xiamen) epitomizes the symbolic social and economic transformation of Shanghai from its semi-colonial past to modern international metropolis. The giant, disintegrating sand sculpture of the 1923 HSBC headquarters on the Bund occupied a central position at the 2000 Shanghai Biennale, held in the Shanghai Art Museum, which at that time occupied the former Shanghai Race Club.The architect Yung Ho Chang (b. 1956, Beijing) is represented by an updated version of the work he originally presented in 2000, diagramming at life size the living space of a typical Shanghai lane house. The biennale, the first edition in Shanghai to show foreign artists, marked the debut of Matthew Barney (b. 1967, San Francisco, lives and works in Long Island City, New York) in China, who returns to UCCA Edge with one of his recent water cast sculptures Khepera (2016/2021), surrounded by a suite of electroformed copper etchings. Likewise, William Kentridge (b. 1955, Johannesburg, lives and works in Johannesburg), who showed Shadow Procession (1999) at the biennale, is represented here by a new video work Sibyl (2020), which continues to explore the themes of memory and movement that have been constant in his work. Each of these artists were later subjects of major exhibitions at UCCA Beijing: Huang in 2008, Chang in 2012, Kentridge in 2015, and Barney in 2019. Other works originally debuted at the biennale include Lee Bul’s (b. 1964, Yeongju, South Korea, lives and works in Seoul), Anthem (2000/2012) and Andreas Gursky’s (b. 1955, Leipzig, lives and works in Düsseldorf), Shanghai (200), a carefully staged image of the atrium of the hotel in the then-new Jin Mao Tower, which suggests a contrarian hollowness in the implied power of global capital in order to create such a golden spectacle.

Revisiting artworks by some of the key artists who had participated in the notorious “Fuck Off” exhibition that ran alongside the biennale the same year poses a new juxtaposition with the dominant events and memories of Chinese contemporary art. As the biennale took place across town, He Yunchang’s (b. 1967, Lianghe, Yunnan province, livs and works in Beijing) repetitive but futile gesture by the banks of Suzhou Creek, as recorded in River Document, Shanghai (2000), suggests an alternative way of assimilating into the times and the fluidity of his environment. Tracking the daily transformation in the bustling cosmopolis outside his studio by Suzhou Creek—part of the venue for this exhibition—three Appearances of Crosses paintings (2000) by Ding Yi (b. 1962, Shanghai, lives and works in Shanghai) not only marks an important break in the artist’s stylistic development, but also changes in the register of the city as it glowed brighter and brighter under ever-growing highways and billboards.

A new generation of artists emerged in Shanghai around the year 2000, organizing their own exhibitions in the interstices of the city, as in the biennale satellite exhibitions “Useful Life” (2000) and “Twins” (2002). Under the backdrop of a concrete jungle, Yang Fudong’s (b. 1971, Shanghai, lives and works in Shanghai) Flutter, Flutter…Jasmine Jasmine (2002) offers a dreamy vision of two young lovers proclaiming their desire for each other and looking headlong into the future. In contrast, Liang Yue’s (b. 1979, Shanghai, lives and works in Shanghai) Blindsweet (2003) drifts between subjective imagination and hope that appears to be out of reach. Reenacting his 2002 performance piece March 6 at this exhibition, Xu Zhen (b. 1977, Shanghai, lives and works in Shanghai) once again stages a rebellion against the mutely quotidian—as in Shouting (1998/2005, edited 2021)—with provocative acts that are self-affirming while probing at the boundaries between self and others. In Disinfect (2015) by Yang Zhenzhong (b. 1968, Hangzhou, lives and works in Shanghai), urbanites from different walks of life perform their anguish for the camera, only to be muted and contorted by the slowed down playback speed until they become alienated objects under the audience’s gaze. This work, while more recent, directly channels the affect first explored in Yang’s 2000 piece I Will Die. 

The concurrent transformations in the urban fabric of Shanghai were captured in the photography of artists including Birdhead (Song Tao, b. 1979, Shanghai and Ji Weiyu, b. 1980, Shanghai; both live and work in Shanghai) and Greg Girard (b. 1955, Vancouver, lives and works in Vancouver). Birdhead’s photographs come from their on-going project documenting urban conditions in a post-industrial neighborhood in Pudong in the early 2000s, presented here in one of their signature assemblages, with the characters for “youth” carved atop. Five images from Girard’s “Phantom Shanghai” series (2001-2006) show the last standing houses in old neighborhoods then being demolished to make way for new developments. The new opportunities made available to Chinese artists as emerging wealth brought creativity into contact with commerce are the subject of Yan Lei’s (b. 1965, Langfang, Hebei province, lives and works in Beijing) subtle critique in seven paintings that form his conceptual gambit The Fifth System (2004), first showed as part of another periodic exhibition organized by Hou Hanru, who had led the 2000 biennale curatorial team.

The turn of the millennium marked critical periods in the artistic development of Chinese artists working in different mediums and their experimentations with material and scale in order to grapple with the curiosity, fear, anxiety, and anticipation of the new millennium and a new era in economical and technological development. Zheng Guogu (b. 1970, Yangjiang, Guangdong province, lives and works in Yangjiang) explores this anxiety with his long-term series 2000 AD, Rusty for Another 2000 Years No. 11 (1999-2008), in which he cast ordinary plastic consumer-product bottles in brass, enabling them to outlive us all. In the calendar-change of a lifetime, Hu Jieming (b. 1957, Shanghai, lives and works in Shanghai) constructs The Fiction Between 1999 & 2000 (2000), an epic collage of image and data that is prescient to our digitally eclipsed totality today, originally shown at the San Francisco Museum of Modern Art and recreated for this exhibition in an installation made for the gallery space at UCCA Edge. The Y2K nostalgia evoked stands in juxtaposition with Lee Bul’s meditations in Anthem (2000/2021) on the sinister warnings embedded in technological utopias: what if modern comfort is accompanied by anxiety rather than playfulness?

This period saw Shi Yong’s (b. 1963, Shanghai, lives and works in Shanghai) interest in deconstructing illusion and reality, as in The Moon’s Hues are Teasing (2002) and Gravitation – Shanghai Night Sky (2003-2004), while the expressionistic Zhang Enli (b. 1965, Jilin province, lives and works in Shanghai) turns towards introspection and reflections on the cultural milieu in a new attention paid to the personal and the tableaus of daily life. As a participant in the eye-opening 2000 Shanghai Biennale, Zhou Xiaohu (b. 1960, Changzhou, Jiangsu province, lives and works in Shanghai) spent the next decade making stop animation works—The Crowd of Bystanders (2003-2005) and the "Word Chains" series (2010)—that depict the normalized absurdity, violence, and other ubiquitous expressions of power by defamiliarizing everyday life. While resisting the “feminist” label at the time, Ni Jun (b. 1969, Shanghai, lives and works in Shanghai) confronts the eternal return of female pain with the experimental work Injury (2002), refusing to compromise with model answers to the inevitable questions of pain and happiness.

Tensions between the optimism of the past and the embrace for the future continue to animate dialogues with the present. The polyphonic arrangement of “Happy Birthday” by Zhang Peili (b. 1957, Hangzhou, lives and works in Hangzhou) in Just for You (1999) appears to be a stroke of inspired utopianism both at the time and in retrospect. As the new millennium approached Yu Youhan (b. 1943, Shanghai, lives and works in Shanghai), who first gained recognition in the 1980s for his abstract paintings and featured in the landmark 1989 Beijing exhibition "China/Avant-Garde," chose to continue to experiment with collage and paintings that echoed his own private works from the 1970s, including Black Painting (2000) shown here. Revisiting his career-making body of work with pandas in a new installation, Zhao Bandi (b. 1966, Beijing, lives and works in Beijing), stages in a video installation Panda 20 Years (2021) a wistful reflection on his relationship with youth. Finally, Zhou Tiehai’s (b. 1966, Shanghai, lives and works in Shanghai) iconic Buying Happiness/You Can’t Grow Healthy and Strong Without the Godfather’s Protection (1997) hints at the new primacy of consumer subjectivity that might be seen as a subtext to this entire moment of change.


Public Programs

During the exhibition period of “City on the Edge: Art and Shanghai at the Turn of the Millennium,” UCCA Edge will present a series of enriching public programs every weekend, including guided tours every Saturday, led by scholars and art practitioners across a range of cultural and artistic fields who will bring their expertise to an interdisciplinary approach to interpreting the artworks and the exhibition, as well as an irregular slate of talks and panels with artists and scholars. Every Sunday, a special performance work from the exhibition will take place all day inside the exhibition galleries. All events are free to the public, with limited capacity. Please register in advance. Please follow our official website, WeChat account, and other social media platforms for details. 


Sponsorship and Support

Housed in the EDGE tower by K. Wah International Holdings Limited (KWIH), UCCA Edge is designed by New York architecture practice SO – IL, in co-development with the Shanghai team of Coldefy & Associates Architects Urban Planners.

This exhibition is made possible with support from DS Automobile. Exclusive sustainable wall solutions is provided by Dulux. Special thanks to Moleskine. 

On the occasion of the exhibition “City on the Edge: Art and Shanghai at the Turn ofthe Millennium,” UCCA and Moleskine have collaborated to release a special edition UCCA & Moleskine notebook to celebrate the unique spatial design of UCCA Edge, with a sketch by lead architect Jing Liu, co-founder of SO – IL.

Works in the exhibition

View All

Huang Yong Ping

Bank of Sand, Sand of Bank

Sand and cement
350 × 600 × 430 cm
Collection of Guanyi Art Archive, Beijing Courtesy Shen Yuan

Hu Jieming

The Fiction Between 1999 & 2000

2000
Installation, film, iron shelves, nylon string, blue spotlight, speakers, CD players
Dimensions variable

William Kentridge

Sibyl

2020
Single-channel HD video, color, sound
9'59"

Matthew Barney

Khepera

2016/2021
Cast zinc
185.4 × 177.8 × 165.1 cm
Courtesy the artist and Gladstone Gallery, New York and Brussels

Shi Yong

The Moon’s Hues are Teasing

2002
Installation, colored fiberglass, cloth, button, other textile, fluorescent tubes, speaker, DVD player
186 × 142 × 307 cm

1 / 5

Videos

04:58

Videos

04:58

Installation Views

Installation Views

1 / 11

UCCA Edge

激浪之城:世纪之交的艺术与上海

2021.5.22 - 2021.7.11

“激浪之城:世纪之交的艺术与上海”展览现场,UCCA Edge,2021。

关于展览

地点:  UCCA Edge,上海静安区盈凯文创广场

回望世纪之交,中国当代艺术参与全球对话,以及上海城市肌理转变的历史时刻。

 

2021年5月22日至7月11日,UCCA Edge以展览“激浪之城:世纪之交的艺术与上海”宣布于上海正式落成,并对公众开放。此次展览将目光投向其所在的城市——上海,聚焦于中国艺术将自身纳入全球当代艺术图景的历史时刻。“激浪之城:世纪之交的艺术与上海”汇集了26位国内外知名艺术家的重要作品及近期创作。这些艺术家多与UCCA有着深厚渊源,其创作促成了中国当代艺术今日发展之面貌。本次参展艺术家包括马修 · 巴尼、鸟头、丁乙、房方、季瑞、安德烈·古斯基、何云昌、胡介鸣、黄永砅、威廉·肯特里奇、李昢、梁玥、倪俊、施勇、徐震、颜磊、杨福东、杨振中、余友涵、张恩利、张培力、张永和、赵半狄、郑国谷、周铁海和周啸虎。“激浪之城:世纪之交的艺术与上海”由UCCA馆长田霏宇策划。

2000年前后,随着新兴市场的发展、机构改革的深入和艺术家自发性组织的活跃,在即将跃身国际大都市的上海涌现出一系列推动艺术传播与提升艺术影响力的展览,这些展览体现并扩展了实验艺术呈现的可能性。从工厂仓库到公立美术馆,从尚未开业的购物中心到重大国际峰会的开幕式,新的艺术在上海各处生根发芽。20年后的今日,“激浪之城:世纪之交的艺术与上海”将自身置于这座城市多元化国际发展的历史进程之中,通过对推动中国艺术发展迈入重要节点,促成彼时上海独特艺术生态形成的重要作品的呈现,以及与反映上海当下全球化发展作品之间的对话,对上海城市的疾速变化与当代艺术的蓬勃发展进行审视。2007年,UCCA北京的开馆展“’85新潮:中国第一次当代艺术运动”由费大为策划,展览根据彼时的历史背景明确了UCCA这座艺术机构的定位,本次展览则是对这一开馆展传统的延续。时至今日,再次回望这些艺术家及其贡献,既可以审视这座城市和文化生态发展所取得的成果,也更为了理解上海——这座位于全球艺术前沿的中国城市所蕴含的开创精神。

黄永砅(1954—2019,生于厦门)的装置《沙的银行,银行的沙》(2000)复制了1923年位于上海外滩的汇丰银行总部的建筑外观,在2000年上海双年展上,这座缓慢崩塌的巨大沙子雕塑曾占据了昔日上海跑马总会,即当时的上海双年展主展场——上海美术馆的中心大厅。21年后,这件装置的重建回溯了世纪之交的上海巨变,也重新审视着崭新社会背景下时间与权力的流动消长。建筑师张永和(1956年生于北京,现生活工作于北京)的《5×11 米生活》基于2000年上海双年展“都市实验室”单元展出的作品,此次根据UCCA Edge的展厅空间特别创作,以真实比例展现了上海典型弄堂的生活空间。2000年上海双年展首次邀请外国艺术家参展,也是马修·巴尼(1967年生于旧金山,现生活工作于纽约)在中国的首次亮相,此次马修·巴尼在UCCA Edge展出了其新近创作的水铸雕塑《凯佩拉》(2016/2021)。在这件作雕塑品旁边则是其蚀刻电镀铜版系列作品。同样也曾参加2000年上海双年展,并展出作品《影子列队》(1999)的威廉·肯特里奇(1955年生于约翰内斯堡,现生活工作于约翰内斯堡)此次展出的新影像作品《女预言家》(2020)延续其一直以来对记忆和行进与列队主题的兴趣。这些艺术家此后都在北京UCCA举办过个人的重要展览:如2008年的“占卜者之屋:黄永砅回顾展”,2012年的“张永和+非常建筑:唯物主义”,2015年的“威廉·肯特里奇:样本札记”,以及2019年的“马修·巴尼:堡垒”。曾经于2000年上海双年展首次亮相的还有李昢(1954年生于韩国荣州,现生活工作于韩国首尔)的《颂歌》(2000/2012)和安德烈·古斯基(1955年生于德国莱比锡,现生活工作于杜塞尔多夫)的《上海》(2000)。《上海》聚焦于当时上海新近落成的标志性景观之一——金茂大厦,在展现当时新建金茂大酒店开放式中庭同时,将镜头对准其内在的中空,而非外部令人联想到资本的金碧辉煌。

对参加2000年上海双年展外围展“不合作的方式”主要艺术家作品的再次呈现,为回望和解读中国当代艺术发展的重要时刻提供了新的线索。当上海双年展于城市另一端举办的同时,何云昌(1967年生于云南梁河,现生活工作于北京)将与上海城市命运息息相关的苏州河作为自己行为表演的现场,正如他的作品《上海水记》(2000)所记录的那样,艺术家以重复和徒劳的劳作将肉体的痛楚与河流和城市的漫长历史相融。丁乙(1962年生于上海,现生活工作于上海)此次展出的三幅绘画作品《十示》(2000)追踪展现了他从位于苏州河边的工作室望出去所看到的繁华城市景象。丁乙当时的工作室是2000年上海双年展外围展“不合作方式”的展出空间之一。这几件作品不仅标志着艺术家在风格上取得了重要突破,也记录了当时上海市区由于灯光亮化工程的全面实施,高架装饰灯和广告霓虹灯数量的增加而变得越来越明亮的城市特征。

回望2000年左右,上海新一代的艺术家开始在城市中寻找机会举办展览,如上海双年展的外围展“有效期”(2000)和“孪生艺术展”(2002)。以上海城市钢铁丛林为背景,杨福东(1971年生于上海,现生活工作于上海)的《天上,天上,茉莉,茉莉》(2002)描绘了年轻恋人宣告对彼此的依恋和对未来憧憬的梦幻景象。相比之下,梁玥(1979年生于上海,现生活工作于上海)的《麦盲》(2003)则在主观想象和似乎遥不可及的希望之间徘徊。徐震(1977年生于上海,现生活工作于上海)在本次展览上重演其2002年的行为表演作品《3月6日》,再次表达了他对沉默世俗的反抗,一如他在作品《喊》(1998/2005,2021剪辑)中,其充满挑衅性的行为既是对自身存在感的宣言,也是对周遭人物关系的试探。杨振中(1968年生于杭州,现生活工作于上海)的作品《消毒》虽创作于稍晚的2015年,却直接延续了其2000年展出的作品《我会死的》所探讨的主题。在作品《消毒》中,身份职业各异的城市男女在镜头前发泄愤怒,在10倍慢动作静音拍摄下,屏幕中人物的行为在观众的注视中异化为怪异的舞蹈。包括鸟头和季瑞在内的艺术家的摄影作品则同时捕捉到了上海城市的时代变迁。鸟头(宋涛,1979年生于上海;季炜煜,1980年生于上海;现都生活工作于上海)此次展出的是其标志性作品之一——《鸟头世界2019-1》,这组上刻有“青春”二字的摄影拼贴作品出自鸟头正在进行的项目:用镜头持续记录21世纪初浦东某后工业街区的改变。 季瑞(1955年生于温哥华,现生活工作于温哥华)“魅影上海”系列(2001-2006)中的5幅作品聚焦于因城市发展即将被夷为平地的老旧街区上最后坚挺的“钉子户”。颜磊(1965年生于河北廊坊,现生活工作于北京)“第五系统”(2004)系列中的7幅画作隐晦地探讨了在新兴财富将创造力与商业价值结合的趋势下,上海与中国其他地区艺术家所面临的新选择与挑战。颜磊曾于2003年深圳国际当代雕塑展上展出过同名装置作品,而那次展览的共同策展人正是2000年上海双年展的策展人侯瀚如。

千禧年标志着中国艺术发展进入了一个重要节点,而房方(1977年生于北京,现生活工作于北京)在担任中央电视台《美术星空》制片人期间拍摄的纪录片,记录了2000年上海双年展这一中国当代艺术史的重要事件,为千禧之交中国崭新而活跃的艺术氛围提供了珍贵记录与写照,观众从中能以最直观的方式感受到当时中国当代艺术发轫的势头。此时,艺术家的创作涵盖了多种媒介,并对作品的材质与体量大小展开探索,以回应人类步入世纪之交,面对经济与科技快速发展新时代所产生的好奇、恐惧、焦虑与期待。郑国谷(1970年生于广东阳江,现生活工作于阳江)的长期系列作品《公元两千年,再锈两千年 No.11》(1999-2008)抒发了艺术家对千禧年的焦虑,他用铜浇铸现成消费品的包装瓶,使得它们比人类留存在世的时间更久。基于UCCA Edge的展厅空间,胡介鸣(1957年生于上海,现生活工作于上海)重新制作了其2001年在旧金山现代艺术博物馆首次展出的作品《1999-2000传奇》。在这件作品中,艺术家用在世纪之交24小时内收集的庞大图像和数据构建了一座信息矩阵,对今日现实世界或将被数字世界而取代做出了预示。李昢的《颂歌》(2000/2021)在唤起人们对千禧年怀念之情的同时,也表达了其对科技时代乌托邦隐含危险的思考:如果现代生活在变得舒适的同时带给人类的是焦虑,而非欢乐,那又如何?

在此时期,施勇(1963年生于上海,现生活工作于上海)开始在诸如《月色撩人》(2002)和《“引力”——上海夜空》(2003-2004)的作品中,试图探究都市幻象背后的现实成因,张恩利(1965年生于吉林,现生活工作于上海)则从奔放感性的表现主义转为内敛于日常事物中的自我探寻与文化深思。作为2000年上海双年展的参与者周啸虎(1960年生于江苏省常州市,现生活工作于上海)在之后十年里用陶土创作了一系列定格动画作品,其“围观”系列(2003-2005)和“词语链”系列(2010)通过对日常生活场景的陌生化揭示了权力在现实世界的各种表征。作为2000年前后,活跃于上海当代艺术家群体中的少数女性之一,倪俊(1969年生于上海,现生活工作于上海)拒绝被贴上“女性主义”的标签,以实验性作品《伤》向女性无可避免的痛苦与幸福发出诘问,并拒绝向模式化的答案妥协。

对逝去美好的迷恋与对未来的渴望之间所蕴含的张力令艺术家与当下的对话充满了活力。在张培力(1957年生于浙江杭州,现生活工作于杭州)的作品《祝你快乐》(1999)中,形色各异的人用不同声调演唱《生日快乐》歌,这情景无论在当时,还是现在看来都像透着一丝乌托邦的意味。随着新千年的到来,20世纪80年代便以抽象画作闻名,作品曾在1989年的“中国现代艺术大展”中展出的余友涵(1943年生于上海,现生活工作于上海)选择继续拼贴并带有表现主义色彩的绘画艺术实验,本次展出的《黑色绘画》(2000)便创作于这一时期。赵半狄(1966年生于北京,现生活工作于北京)在20年后的今天重新回访了2000年上海双年展的熊猫主题,以新装置作品《熊猫20年》与年轻一代建立了对话。周铁海(1966年生于上海,现生活工作于上海)的标志性作品《采购幸福/茁壮成长离不开教父教母的呵护》(1997)暗示了消费至上主义新时代的来临或将成为时代变革的注脚。


展览同期公共项目

在“激浪之城:世纪之交的艺术与上海”展览期间, UCCA Edge每周末都将策划和举办丰富多彩的公共活动。每周六邀请泛文化领域的学者和从业者,对展览和作品进行跨越艺术的解读,此外还将不定期举办艺术家分享对谈与学者讲座。展览期间的每周日,一件特殊的参展作品将以行为表演的形式在展厅内全天呈现。所有活动均向公众免费开放,需提前预约报名参与。详细信息欢迎关注UCCA的官方网站、UCCA Edge的微信公众号及UCCA的其他社交网络平台。


赞助与支持

位于嘉华国际集团有限公司盈凯文创广场的UCCA Edge由纽约SO – IL建筑事务所担纲设计,法国Coldefy & Assocaites建筑设计规划事务所协助项目实施。

“激浪之城:世纪之交的艺术与上海”展览由首席赞助汽车品牌DS提供慷慨支持。感谢多乐士提供的独家墙面解决方案,以及MOLESKINE的特别支持。

DS品牌与UCCA Lab再度联手,以来自巴黎原汁原味的DS 3为灵感源泉,UCCA Lab特邀艺术家与DS 3共同开启法式美学与先锋艺术多元对话,并带来五款高定艺术涂装。

值此次新馆落成对公众开放之际,UCCA还携手全球知名文具品牌MOLESKINE,共同推出UCCA & MOLESKINE联名笔记本,笔记本中特别印有纽约SO – IL建筑事务所联合创始人、首席建筑师刘静的UCCA Edge设计手稿,以此纪念UCCA Edge落成的历史时刻。

展出作品

查看更多

黄永砅

《沙的银行,银行的沙》

2000
沙、水泥
350 × 600 × 430 cm
管艺当代文献馆收藏,致谢沈远

胡介鸣

《1999-2000传奇》

2000
装置,胶片、铁架、尼龙线、蓝色射灯、扬声器、CD 播放机
尺寸可变

威廉·肯特里奇

《女预言家》

2020
单频彩色有声高清影像
9分59秒

马修·巴尼

《凯佩拉》

2016/2021
锌浇铸雕塑
185.4 × 177.8 × 165.1 cm
致谢艺术家与格莱斯顿画廊(纽约、布鲁塞尔)

施勇

《月色撩人》

2002
音频装置,上色玻璃钢雕塑、布料及扣子等纺织材料、透明玻璃钢装置、荧光灯管、音响、DVD设备等
186 × 142 × 307 cm

1 / 5

视频资料

04:58

视频资料

04:58

展览现场

展览现场

1 / 13