UCCA Beijing

Cao Fei: Staging the Era

2021.3.12 - 2021.6.6

Installation view of “Cao Fei: Staging the Era”, photo: Stefen Chow.

About

Location:  Great Hall

Cao Fei’s first major solo show in China and largest and most comprehensive career retrospective to date assembles works from the artist’s two decade-long career, situating the threads present in her diverse practice amidst rapid development in contemporary society.

 

From March 12, 2021 to June 6, 2021, UCCA presents “Cao Fei: Staging the Era,” the artist’s first major solo show in China. As one of China’s most prominent contemporary artists, Cao Fei (b. 1978, Guangzhou) uses multimedia formats—film, video, virtual reality, and installation—to surreally depict the dramatic social changes of a globalizing China and the state of the individual under such conditions. “Staging the Era” assembles the expansive range of works from Cao Fei’s two decade-long career to date, from the experimental theater works in her early years as a student at the Guangzhou Academy of Fine Arts to her latest large-scale interdisciplinary research project on the history and echoes of the Beijing neighborhood she calls home today.

Cao Fei has consistently focused on the complicated social pressures emerging from the entanglement of popular culture, technological development, and urban change, fluidly shifting between documenting reality and creating fantasy in her art. Structured into four sections that reflect the flow of themes and locales in her work—The South, The City, The Workshop, and The Simulation—the exhibition situates her practice within the context of her own artistic development, often in symbiosis with her environment, and the country’s profound social upheavals since Opening and Reform four decades ago. Raised in a family of artists in Guangzhou, Cao Fei’s early performances and experimental video works reflect her bold creative attitude and the new aesthetic and cultural sensibilities effected by the city’s economic development and the influence of Hong Kong’s mass culture during this period. Cao Fei gained early recognition for Imbalance 257 (1999), a short video shot while still at the Guangzhou Academy of Fine Arts that was considered to be the starting point of her career.

Guangzhou and the urban fabric in modernizing China became the essential, mosaic setting of Cao Fei’s exploration of the role of the individual amidst rapid urbanization—the impact of relentless industrial development recast in Cao Fei’s singular creative language. San Yuan Li (2003), an experimental documentary takes the perspective of a flâneur to portray the contradictions and poetics inherent in this historical district that has become emblematic of the singular urban-village phenomenon. Cao Fei’s interest in the quotidian, youth culture, and the paradoxes of contemporary life, where individual hopes and desires run up against collective currents and social reality, finds its energetic expressions in the video works the “Hip Hop” series (2003-2006), Cosplayers (2004), and Milkman (2005).

Maneuvering within the protean hybridity of documentary and fictional forms, Cao Fei turns her focus towards the site and conditions of production behind the digital infrastructures and social systems contemporary life is prone to yield to or take for granted. In Rabid Dogs (2002), white collar workers morph into erratically behaving dogs under the pressure of a cutthroat work environment, while factory workers take center stage in Cao Fei’s at once playful, poignant, and spirited interrogation of the impact of economic transitions on individual lives in Whose Utopia (2006). She dives into the heart of the online shopping industrial complex in the pair of works shot on location with permission from the online retailer JD.com. The “Asia One” project, shown in China for the first time, consists of Asia One (2018), a fictional film of a futuristic love story between the two remaining human employees at JD.com’s automated Asia No. 1 warehouse, and 11.11 (2018), a documentary that peels back the overwhelmingly complex operations at the gargantuan JD.com logistics chain and distribution network during the annual Double Eleven Shopping Festival.

Departing from the real world, Cao Fei forays into the virtual by adopting the avatar China Tracy and constructing the metropolis RMB City in the online virtual world Second Life, resulting in the “RMB City” series (2007-2012) that would come to be considered a pioneering work of Internet art. The series encompasses a multimedia suite of documentary video, virtual events, and social networks that is at once satirical and skeptical, a tableau of New China and the extremes of media and political consciousness that is self-contradictory but nonetheless holistic. Later, La Town (2014) spins past and future, reality and fiction into a post-truth apocalyptic tale that grates at the borders of magical realism. In her most recent long-term interdisciplinary undertaking, shown here for the first time, Cao Fei probes into the history and transformation of her Jiuxianqiao neighborhood in Beijing that was once the core of the early Chinese electronics industry and home of Hongxia Theater. The project centers on the science fiction film Nova (2019) and the documentary Hongxia (2019), along with a pair of AR and VR works. Taken together with the archival materials unearthed from her research, the layers of documentary, history, and science fiction present a multidimensional synthesis of individual and collective encounters across space-time, a vision of memory and media as loci of future-nostalgia convergence.

This exhibition is at once a retrospective—Cao Fei’s largest and most comprehensive to date, and her first in China—and an immersive experience that invites us into her creative mind, as realized in the exhibition design by Hong Kong studio Beau Architects. “Cao Fei: Staging the Era” is accompanied by the publication of the catalogue HX (2021), developed alongside “HX” project as a counterpart to the artworks and documents Cao Fei’s extensive research process. Rather than a linear exposition, this exhibition is a site of exploration, a place to wander, observe, think, and play, where we view her art as we also look to each other and to the historical moment we inhabit together. Perhaps this is Cao Fei’s special contribution to the global history of art: a sense, at once personal and epochal, sentimental and monumental, meditative and performative, of belonging to this particular here and now—a stage for our era.

This exhibition was curated by Philip Tinari, Guo Xi, Patrick Rhine, and Huang Jiehua, and was organized by Liu Kaiyun, Edward Guan, Shi Yao, and Anna Yang.

 

Sponsorship and Support

“Cao Fei: Staging the Era” is supported by Audemars Piguet Contemporary and Prada. Dulux contributed exclusive wall solutions support, Genelec provided exclusive audio equipment and technical support, BenQ provided video equipment support, Golden Sea provided stage lighting equipment and technical support, and VIVE Arts supplied virtual reality equipment support. Virtual and augmented reality artworks were produced in collaboration with Acute Art. UCCA thanks the members of its Foundation Council, International Circle, and Young Associates, as well as our Lead Partner Aranya, Presenting Partner Bloomberg, and Supporting Partners Active House, Barco, BenQ, Clivet, Dulux, and Genelec.

 

About the Artist

Cao Fei

Cao Fei (b. 1978, Guangzhou, lives and works in Beijing) blends social commentary, pop culture aesthetics, references to Surrealism, and documentary filmmaking conventions in her works, which consider the rapid and chaotic changes of contemporary Chinese society. Her work has been exhibited in many major international exhibitions, including the Shanghai Biennale, Moscow Biennale, Taipei Biennial, 15th and 17th Biennale of Sydney, Istanbul Biennial, Yokohama Triennale, and 50th, 52nd, and 56th Venice Biennales. She has exhibited her works and projects at museums such as the Serpentine Gallery (London); Tate Modern (London); New Museum (New York); Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum (New York); Museum of Modern Art (New York); Palais de Tokyo (Paris); and more. She has held solo exhibitions at Centre Pompidou (Paris) and MoMA PS1 (New York). In 2020, her large-scale exhibition “Blueprints” was shown at the Serpentine Gallery. Cao Fei was nominated for the Hugo Boss Asia Art Award in 2010. She has received both the Best Young Artist Award (2006) and the Best Artist Award (2016) from the Chinese Contemporary Art Awards.

Works in the exhibition

View All

Whose Utopia (still)

2006
Single-channel video, color, sound, 5:4
20'20"
Courtesy the artist, Vitamin Creative Space, and Sprüth Magers

La Town (still)

2014
Single-channel video, color sound, 16:9
36'54"
Courtesy the artist, Vitamin Creative Space, and Sprüth Magers

Asia One (still)

2018
Single-channel HD video, color, sound, 2.35:1
63'21"
Courtesy the artist, Vitamin Creative Space, and Sprüth Magers

Nova (still from exhibition cut)

2019
Single-channel HD video, color, 5.1 sound, 2.35:1
94'01"
Courtesy the artist, Vitamin Creative Space, and Sprüth Magers

The Eternal Wave

2020
Virtual reality installation
12'00"
Produced in collaboration with Acute Art
Virtual reality partner: VIVE Arts
Courtesy the artist and Acute Art

Isle of Instability

2020
Multimedia installation, 2-channel video, color, sound, photographs, salon lights, benches, yellow tapes, books, hand sanitizer, paper rolls, boarding pass, paper documents, plastic clips, wallpaper, lights, carpet, pillows, clay sculptures, color-pencil paintings, pain relief patches, message balm, toys, palm trees.
10'01", dimensions variable
Commissioned by Audemars Piguet Contemporary
Courtesy the artist and Audemars Piguet

1 / 6

Videos

04:52

00:43

00:15

Videos

1 / 3

04:52

00:43

00:15

Installation Views

Installation Views

1 / 28

UCCA北京

曹斐:时代舞台

2021.3.12 - 2021.6.6

“曹斐:时代舞台”展览现场,UCCA尤伦斯当代艺术中心,2021。摄影:Stefen Chow。

关于展览

地点:  UCCA大展厅

UCCA尤伦斯当代艺术中心呈现曹斐迄今为止规模最大、最为全面的回顾展,对其过去二十多年的创作实践和艺术发展脉络进行集中呈现与梳理。

2021年3月12日至2021年6月6日,UCCA呈现“曹斐:时代舞台”。这是艺术家曹斐迄今为止规模最大、最为全面的回顾展,也是于中国大陆举办的首个机构个展。作为中国最杰出的当代艺术家之一,曹斐运用影像、戏剧、虚拟现实技术和装置等多元媒介,以超现实的表现方法反映了全球化浪潮下中国社会的时代变迁,以及社会疾速发展对个体生活的影响。从最早就读于广州美术学院的实验戏剧作品,到近年探究北京街区历史的大型跨学科项目,本次展览对曹斐过去二十多年的艺术实践和艺术发展脉络进行了集中呈现与梳理。“曹斐:时代舞台”由UCCA团队田霏宇、郭希、赖柏圣及黄洁华共同策划,由刘楷韵、关健、施瑶及杨翛然共同呈现,展览空间由Beau Architects设计。

曹斐以融合纪实与虚构叙事的艺术创作,持续关注时代发展中大众文化、科技进步和城市变迁交融下复杂的社会压力。本次展览遵循其一直以来通过艺术反思自身所处时代,反映中国改革开放40多年时代巨变的创作脉络,根据作品所指涉的主题和地域,以“南方游戏”“都市乐园”“车间内外”和“另类实境”四个主题展开。曹斐出生于广州,成长于艺术家庭,在早期实践和影像创作中以大胆实验的探索,反映了当时城市经济发展和香港流行文化冲击对审美观念和文化感知的转变。尚在广州美术学院就读时,曹斐拍摄了影像作品《失调257》(1999),这件作品令她获得国际舞台的关注,可视为其艺术生涯的起点。

而位于改革浪潮前沿的广州,以及这座城市的肌理则成为曹斐探索快速城市化进程中个体角色的重要背景,曹斐以高度个人化的创作语言对工业不断发展给社会带来的冲击进行了全新诠释。应邀为第 50 届威尼斯艺术双年展创作的实验纪录片《三元里》(2003),以城市漫步者的视角,对已成为城中村典型的著名历史地标——三元里展开拍摄和研究,以诗意的黑白影像再现了其内在的种种矛盾。而“嘻哈”系列(2003-2006)、《角色》(2004)和《牛奶》(2005)等影像作品则充分体现了曹斐对当代日常生活、年轻文化,以及个体的主观性和欲望与集体和社会现实之间矛盾的兴趣。

随着自己的创作在记录现实与虚构叙事之间的自由切换,曹斐将关注的目光转向当代生活和社会系统所依赖的数字基础设施,对人类越发不可或缺,或被认为理所当然的数字化生活背后的生产场所和工作状态展开探讨。在用DV拍摄的短片作品《狗》(2002)中,上班族在严苛的工作高压下异化成行为古怪的“狗”,而在《谁的乌托邦》(2006)中,工厂的工人则成了艺术家对经济转型之于个体的影响充满戏谑而伤感审视的主角。曹斐还亲自深入互联网购物产业的核心,在互联网电商企业京东仓储和物流基地拍摄完成了“亚洲一号”项目。该项目包括在中国首次展出的《亚洲一号》(2018)和《11.11》(2018)两件作品,《亚洲一号》是一部虚构电影,讲述了在京东智能设备控制的亚洲一号仓库内,仅有的两名男女员工之间充满未来感的爱情故事;纪录片《11.11》则记录了“双11”购物节前后,京东物流各部门超负荷运作的场景。

曹斐的创作往往从现实世界出发,并将自身或者全人类置于虚幻时空进行多重演绎,2007年她进入虚拟世界,在虚拟数字平台“第二人生”上化身“中国•翠西”,建造了一座虚拟都市“人民城寨”,并在此基础上创作了“人民城寨”系列作品。在这些被视为互联网艺术早期开端之作的作品中,曹斐集合纪录影像、虚拟事件和社交网络等多元媒介,构建出一系列自相矛盾却又相互整合,充满揶揄与质疑,同时散布着极度娱乐和思想意识的新中国画境。之后带有魔幻现实主义色彩的作品《La Town》(2014)则融过去与未来、现实与虚构为一体,共同讲述了一个后真相世界末日的故事。在本次展览中,曹斐还首次展出了其最新的长期跨学科项目“红霞”,艺术家在此项目中对北京酒仙桥社区的历史和变迁展开了深入探究,该社区曾是中国早期电子工业的核心基地和红霞影剧院的所在地。“红霞”项目的主体由科幻电影长片《新星》(2019)和纪录片《红霞》(2019),以及两件虚拟现实和增强现实作品构成,此外还包括在项目研究过程中,艺术家及其团队在民间搜集的诸如档案资料、纪录片、历史和科幻小说等众多文献与实物,从多个维度展现了该社区的前世今生和不定的未来,刻画了个人乃至集体的时空遭际。

“曹斐:时代舞台”为了解艺术家的精神世界提供了身临其境的观展体验,本次展览不但是对其艺术创作观念的一次新奇探索,更是一个可以徜徉、观察、思考和游戏的艺术现场。步入根据不同系列作品而特别设计的展厅,观众在观看作品的同时,也在观照彼此,审视共同经历的历史时刻,又或在艺术家建构的虚幻时空中,展开对人类未来的想象。或许,这正是曹斐对全球艺术发展的特别贡献:她以既充满个人化表达,又紧随时代变迁,既富含感情,又意义深远,同时亦不止于内省,且付诸于行动的作品诠释着当下的每时每刻——即我们所属的时代舞台。


赞助与支持

“曹斐:时代舞台”展览由爱彼当代艺术创作项目(Audemars Piguet Contemporary)、De Ying Foundation和Prada提供慷慨支持。感谢多乐士提供独家墙面解决方案,真力提供独家音响设备及技术支持,明基提供影像设备支持,浩洋股份提供的舞台灯光设备及技术支持,以及VIVE Arts提供的虚拟现实设备支持。本次展览中的虚拟现实装置和增强现实装置由Acute Art共同制作。同时亦感谢尤伦斯艺术基金会理事会、UCCA国际委员会、UCCA青年赞助人,以及首席战略合作伙伴阿那亚,联合战略合作伙伴彭博,以及特约战略合作伙伴Active House、巴可、明基、Clivet 中央空调、多乐士和真力对UCCA的大力支持。


关于艺术家

曹斐,1978年生于广州,现在北京工作及生活。曹斐是活跃于国际舞台的中国艺术家。她的作品融合社会评论、流行美学,参考超现实主义并运用纪录片拍摄手法,反映当代中国社会疾速发展的变化。曹斐曾参加过的国际双年展和三年展包括:上海双年展、莫斯科双年展、台北双年展、第15 及17 届悉尼双年展、伊斯坦布尔双年展、横滨三年展,以及第50、52 和56 届威尼斯双年展。她的作品曾在伦敦泰特美术馆、蛇形美术馆、白教堂美术馆、纽约新美术馆、古根海姆美术馆、纽约现代艺术博物馆,巴黎蓬皮杜艺术中心、巴黎东京宫、路易威登基金会等地展出。2016年曹斐在纽约MoMA PS1举办首个个展。
近期项目包括2018年香港大馆美术馆个展和杜塞尔多夫K21美术馆回顾展,以及2019年6月在蓬皮杜艺术中心举行的个展,8月APPLE和纽约新美术馆合作的增强现实艺术项目,2020年在伦敦蛇形美术馆举办个展。

曹斐于2010年获提名“Hugo Boss雨果博斯艺术奖”及“未来一代艺术奖”。2006和2016年分别获得“中国当代艺术奖CCAA”的“最佳青年艺术家”奖项及“最佳艺术家奖”。2016 年获“昆卡双年展”的“Piedra de Sal 奖”。曹斐曾担任2014年第八届柏林双年展策展人遴选委员会评委;2016年荷兰博尼范登当代艺术奖评委;2019年担任HUGO BOSS亚洲新锐艺术家大奖评委,以及劳斯莱斯“缪斯”全球艺术项目艺术家遴选委员会提名人。

展出作品

查看更多

《谁的乌托邦》(静帧)

2006
5:4彩色有声单频影像
20分20秒
图片由艺术家、维他命艺术空间及Sprüth Magers提供

《La Town》(静帧)

2014
16:9 彩色有声单频影像
36分54秒
图片由艺术家、维他命艺术空间及 Sprüth Magers提供

《亚洲一号》(静帧)

2018
2.35:1 彩色有声单频高清影像
63分21秒
图片由艺术家、维他命艺术空间及Sprüth Magers提供

《新星》(静帧)

2019
2.35:1 彩色 5.1 声道有声单频高清影像
94分01秒
图片由艺术家、维他命艺术空间及Sprüth Magers提供

《永不消逝的电波》

2020
虚拟现实装置
12分钟
与 Acute Art 联合制作
虚拟现实合作伙伴:VIVE Arts
图片由艺术家和Acute Art提供

《不安之岛》

2020
综合媒材装置,彩色有声双频影像、照片、沙龙灯、连排椅、黄色胶带、出版物、消毒洗手液、纸巾卷、机票、纸质文件、塑料扣、墙纸、灯、地毯、枕头、泥塑、彩色铅笔画、药膏贴、肩颈按摩药膏、玩具、棕榈树
10分1秒,尺寸可变
爱彼当代艺术创作项目委任创作作品
图片由艺术家和爱彼提供

1 / 6

视频资料

04:52

00:43

视频资料

1 / 4

04:52

00:43

00:15

活动现场

活动现场

1 / 29

出版物

《曹斐:时代舞台》