×
loading...
Society Guidance: Part I
2019.5.18 - 2019.8.18
Open Gallery, New Gallery, Central Gallery
  • About
  • Exhibition Works
  • Installation Views

From May 18 to August 18, 2019, UCCA Center for Contemporary Art presents the group exhibition “Society Guidance,” featuring work by Chen Shaoxiong (1962-2016, Guangdong province), Ren Jian (b. 1955, Liaoning province) and New History Group, and Wang Jin (b. 1962, Shanxi province)in relation to their practice in the 1990s. “Society Guidance” focuses on the creative trajectory of Chinese artists at the outset of the 1990s, making work against the backdrop of the sweeping social transformation that occurred as economic reforms initiated in 1978 deepened and gathered speed. The exhibition provides an opportunity to revisit the early 1990s, an era which, though well studied in terms of individual artists and their work, is still processed in art historical narratives more as a period of transition than a distinct epoch. Taking place over two installments (the second on display from August 31 to November 24, 2019), the research-driven project takes a multi-disciplinary approach, presenting artworks alongside a reading room of archival materials. “Society Guidance” sketches out the circuitous route that led from the elite, intellectual culture of the 1980s to the collapse of values and search for meaning after the onset of consumerism in the 1990s, along with the strategies that artists adopted in response, whether retreating from the social sphere or diving headlong into emerging consumer culture. The exhibition is curated by UCCA Head of Exhibitions Bian Ka, who has previously engaged with related themes through his own practice as a critic and curator of independent projects.

“Society Guidance” (Renjian Zhinan, 人间指南) takes its title from the fictional magazine at the center of the 1991 Chinese television comedy Stories from the Editorial Board, (Bianjibu de Gushi, 编辑部的故事). Featuring some of the biggest stars of the day, including Ge You and Lü Liping, the program humorously introduced emerging social phenomena, shaping the public imaginary of the period. As such, the title may also be understood as referring to the desire for a new and durable system of values at a time of constant change, defined by new economic paradigms, shifting social norms, and collective feelings of anxiety and confusion.

In the 1990s, as China’s economic system and society rapidly changed, and a new corresponding system of values was as yet incomplete, the country made an abrupt transition to consumerism. This revolution had a profound and long-lasting impact on private life and public society. During this period, both intellectuals and the general public fell under the sway of consumerism’s economic driving power, producing unprecedented levels of prosperity and contradiction. The exhibition focuses on how artists examined and deconstructed this incomplete modernity. The narrative of the show traces how artists-as-intellectuals faced this dilemma, while also selectively glancing back at the origins of our current cultural situation, and the complexities and absurdities of the spectacular present.

Artists around China reacted to these changes through diverse means, with a particular emphasis placed on new media (taking advantage of the increased availability of cameras and video equipment), and iconic symbols of the global economy. In the southern city of Guangzhou, traditionally a key node for the transmission of foreign influence and trade into the country, Chen Shaoxiong took the urban landscape of the city itself as raw material for his “Street” series. The artist collaged together photographs taken in different parts of the city to create new scenes, turning himself into a permanent tourist, even within the place he called home. The video installation Sight Adjuster-7 drops viewers onto a road in Guangzhou, simulating the act of visually scanning over a street scene to investigate the relationship between landscape, media equipment, and the viewer. In Collective Memory – Big Pants, the artist lets the public participate in a portrait of the city by pressing their fingerprints on the canvas, using personal touch to preserve and evoke urban memory. The “Landscape” series, and 7 Days of Silence, undertaken as part of Chen’s participation in the Big Tail Elephant Working Group, are presented along with supporting documents, illustrating how the artist confronted a changing reality that set a new relationship between the self and identity as an “observer.”

As China moved into this unfamiliar new era, Wang Jin created a series of readymade paintings titled “Knocking on the Door,” in which he rendered the likeness of the seven presidents and historical figures found on different denominations of United States Dollars on to old wall tiles from the Forbidden City. The piece was originally named after the Chinese idiom qiaomenzhuan (敲门砖), meaning “a brick picked up to knock a door and then discarded”)—the metaphorical equivalent to a stepping stone, indicating how American currency was used to knock on the gates of contemporary China, opening the country to trade and serving as a symbol of its entrance into the global financial system. In this exhibition, the works appear as large photographic prints, the artist counterintuitively emphasizing the painterly qualities of the images by revealing the refined technique and aesthetic taste behind the portraits, as if to obscure the ideological entanglements of the subject at hand. These later, reimagined versions of the works are given the subtitle, “Presidents on US Dollars.”

Both in his solo practice and as a member of the New History Group, Ren Jian’s work has opened up new avenues for discussion by directly engaging with, and even emulating, consumer culture. The exhibition hall will include a “New History Reading Room,” featuring Ren Jian’s solo works from the 1980s, and materials on his related practice as a member of New History Group in the early 1990s. Building from specific examples in his work, the exhibition outlines the clear shift in his creative journey as society reoriented towards mass consumption at the turn of the decade. The “New History Reading Room” juxtaposes the artist’s visual work and creative texts with their original historical setting, allowing the audience to locate them within a broader context.

With its retrospective focus, “Society Guidance” traces present conditions back to their origin. Today, the term “consumption” no longer strictly denotes purchasing behavior that satisfies economic demand, having evolved into pervasive ideology that undergirds the production of knowledge, desire, and subjectivity. In today’s globally interconnected China these contradictions have not disappeared, but have instead become all the more apparent. “Society Guidance” allows us to reexamine the work of artists from an era that has profoundly shaped our present, asking how the paths they forged may offer new possibilities for the future.

About the Exhibition:

Fengmi Technology and Shanghai HELU Culture Communication Co., Ltd. provide video equipment support. Excusive audio equipment support comes from Genelec. Ergeng Video provides video recording technology support. Exclusive support for environmentally friendly wall solutions comes from Dulux. UCCA sincerely thanks strategic partner Aranya for its support for the exhibition.

About the Artists:

Chen Shaoxiong

Chen Shaoxiong (1962-2016, Guangdong province) was educated in the department of printmaking in the Guangzhou Academy of Fine Arts. Chen’s practice encompasses a variety of artistic mediums, including photography, video, installation and ink painting, investigating the ever-changing urban landscape of contemporary China. His major solo exhibitions include “Chen Shaoxiong: Prepared” (Power Station of Art, Shanghai, 2016) and “Chen Shaoxiong: Ink. History. Media.” (Seattle Art Museum, 2014). Chen’s work has also appeared in major group exhibitions such as “Art and China after 1989: Theater of the World” (Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum, 2017); “Xijing Man: Xijing Is Not Xijing, Therefore Xijing Is Xijing” (21st Century Museum of Contemporary Art, Kanazawa, 2016); “Sights and Sounds: Global Film and Video” (The Jewish Museum, New York, 2014); and “Ink Art: Past as Present in Contemporary China” (The Metropolitan Museum of Art, 2013). His artworks have also appeared in the 21st Biennale of Sydney (2018); the Bi-City Biennale of Urbanism/Architecture, (Shenzhen, 2017); and the 9th Gwangju Biennale (2012).

Ren Jian

Ren Jian (b. 1955, Liaoning province) holds Bachelor’s and Master’s degrees from Lu Xun Academy of Fine Arts in Shenyang. During his time in college, Ren Jian met Bei Dao, Mang Ke, and Dao Zi, and together they established the “Northern Art Group,” a collective driven by the members’ shared views on culture. During his time as a graduate student, Ren created the series “Heaven & Earth” and “Primeval Chaos.” In 1988, after attending the China Modern Art Conference held at Huangshan, he started to work at Wuhan University, where in 1992 he cofounded “New History Group” with artists including Zhou Xiping, Zhu Xikun, Liang Xiaochuan, Yu Hung, Zhang Sanxi, Wang Yubei, Zhao Bing, Wei Ming, Dao Zi, and Fu Zhongwang; Ye Shuanggui, Ye Niu, Yu Youbin and Chen Mo joined later. During the 1992 Guangzhou Biennial, New History Group conducted their first performance, Disinfecting, recognized as an important artistic event of the period. In November 1992, the collective began planning New History 1993, Mass Consumption, a multimedia event involving music performances, fashion shows, and a sale of artifacts. In April 1993, the evening before the opening at the brand-new McDonald’s in Wangfujing, Beijing, the event was shut down by the city’s Public Security Bureau. The project was eventually realized later that year at the venues of Wuhan Clothing City, Wuhan Exhibition Center, and Wuhan Donghu Park. After 1995, New History Group gradually incorporated more elements from everyday life into their artistic practice, and members began focusing more on individual work. The solo exhibitions of Ren Jian and New History Group include “Inside Out; New Chinese Art” (San Francisco Museum of Modern Art, Asian Art Museum, Museum of Modern Art, and Asia Society and Museum, San Francisco and New York, 1998-2000); “China’s New Art, Post-1989” (Hong Kong Arts Centre, 1994); and “China/Avant-Garde Exhibition” (National Art Museum of China, Beijing, 1989). His work has also appeared in “History: Not Always What it Seems” (OCAT Xi’an, 2015) and the 4th Gwangju Biennale (2002).

Wang Jin

Wang Jin (b. 1962, Shanxi province, lives and works in Beijing) graduated from the China Academy of Art in 1987. His artistic career begun in the early 1990s, and his practice involves experiments in various mediums. His major artworks include Knocking at the Door, Fighting the Flood—Red Flag Canal, To Marry A Mule, Ice 96 Central China, The Dream of China, My Bone, Installation People’s Republic of China, Passport No.1295109, Wang, and Ursa Major. He has participated in exhibitions including “Ink Art: Past as Present in Contemporary China” (The Metropolitan Museum of Art, 2014); “Power and Prestige: Chinese Dragon Robes, 18th-21st Century” (The Metropolitan Museum of Art, 2014); “Mahjong, Contemporary Chinese Art from the Sigg Collection” (Kunsthalle Hamburg, 2006-2007); and “Between Past and Future: New Photography and Video from China” (International Center of Photography, New York, 2004). His artworks have also been included in the First Guangzhou Triennial (Guangdong Art Museum, 2002-2003) and the 48th Venice Biennale, Venice (1999).

Download “Society Guidance: Part I” press release.

Ticketing information

Please scan the QR code to purchase tickets.

人间指南170

Works in the Exhibition
 / 1 1
    • Chen Shaoxiong
    • Street - 2
    • c-print
    • 1998
    • 270 x 405 cm
    • Chen Shaoxiong
    • Street - Tianhe Plaza
    • c-print
    • 1999
    • 270 x 405 cm
    • Chen Shaoxiong
    • Seven Days Silence
    • c-print
    • 1991
    • dimension various
    • Ren Jian
    • "Up to the Streets and Down to the Factories"
    • Ren Jian purchases cloth on the street in Wuhan for Ren Jian Stamp Collection Denim Outfit
    • 1992
Installation Views

UCCA北京

人间指南(上)

2019.5.18 - 2019.8.18

关于展览

地点:  新展厅、中展厅

UCCA尤伦斯当代艺术中心于2019年5月18日至8月18日期间呈现群展“人间指南(上)”,展出艺术家陈劭雄(1962-2016,出生于广东)、任戬(1955年出生于辽宁)和新历史小组、王晋(1962年出生于山西)与上世纪九十年代相关的一系列创作。展览聚焦和梳理中国艺术家在上世纪九十年代初期,以不断深化和加速的经济改革引起的大规模社会转型为背景进行的艺术实践。此次展览引导观众重新审视二十世纪九十年代早期——尽管艺术家个体在其创作中详尽地探究了这一时期,但在艺术历史叙事中,它更多地被视为一个过渡时期,而非一个自有其鲜明特征的独立时代。“人间指南”分为上、下两个部分(展览的下部将于2019年8月31日至11月24日呈现),从多学科路径出发展开研究,将艺术品与汇集了档案资料的阅览室并置展示。在此背景之下,展览的话题重新转向那个关键的时间节点,勾勒出一道从八十年代知识分子普遍的精英主义想象,到九十年代初消费和开放社会来临后的价值坍塌、自我放逐或重建想象的“曲线路径”,并审视艺术家们所采取的或退出社会领域,或一头扎进新兴消费文化的应对策略。本次展览由UCCA展览部总监卞卡策划,他曾作为评论家和独立项目策展人,通过自身实践探索相关主题。

展览标题取自1991年上映的一部国产室内喜剧《编辑部的故事》,该剧由葛优和吕丽萍等著名演员出演,以幽默的方式介绍了彼时新兴的社会现象,更塑造了当时的公众形象。《人间指南》是电视剧中的一份杂志,这个词也因此暗示了九十年代初那个流变不居的年代——特别是经济结构转型的社会背景下,面对价值的虚焦和断裂,公众所产生的焦虑、困惑和对价值重建的期待。

上世纪九十年代,随着经济制度与社会结构的急剧变革,中国在整体价值观积淀尚不完备的状况下急速进入消费型社会,这场“消费革命”对中国的私人生活与公共社交均产生了深远影响。这一时期,知识界和社会个体均在消费主义的经济驱动力的影响下,呈现出了前所未有的丰富性和矛盾性。展览聚焦于艺术家们如何审视和解构这种尚未完全成型的“现代性”,其叙事既关乎艺术家作为知识分子群体的一部分所面临的价值困境,同时也是关于今天我们的文化状况的溯源,以及对当下中国奇观式的社会景观的反向管窥。

中国各地的艺术家以各种方式对这些变化做出了回应,并特别强调新媒体——这得益于相机和视频设备的日益普及,以及全球经济的标志性符号。广州是一座在对外贸易和交流中具有关键枢纽意义的南方城市,而陈劭雄的作品“街景”系列即取材于当时广州的城市景观:艺术家将在城市各地拍摄的景观进行拼贴与重组,将自己转变成熟悉城市中“永远的旅客”。影像装置《视力矫正器–7》使观众置身于广州的街景投影画面中,模拟出个体在街头进行扫视的状态,藉此探讨景观、媒体设备与观看之间的关联。《集体记忆—大裤衩》中,艺术家让公众通过指印来参与城市绘像,借助切身接触将城市记忆重新留存,以公众参与唤起城市记忆。“风景”系列作品和陈劭雄为大尾象工作组展览创作的《七天的沉寂》相关文献资料亦于展览中呈现,以串联出艺术家针对变化的现实所设定的自我和“观看”的他者身份。

随着中国进入这一有些陌生的新时代,王晋于九十年代初期创作了一组现成品绘画《叩门》,将美元的七种面额的图像印在故宫旧城墙砖上。这组作品最早被艺术家称为“敲门砖”,意在喻指美元是打开中国当代贸易大门、促使中国进入全球金融系统的符号。此次展览中,作品被以大幅图片的方式重新呈现,艺术家转而强调图像的绘画性趣味,通过凸显美元上人物形象的绘画技巧与逸趣来“覆盖”掉意识形态的纠葛。这组被重新呈现的作品被赋予了一个副标题——“美元上的总统”。

通过直接指涉甚至仿拟消费文化,任戬的个人创作及其新历史小组时期的工作开辟了新的讨论路径。展览在中展厅设立“新历史小组阅览室”,将之构建成一个阅读与对话的空间,呈现艺术家任戬八十年代的个人艺术创作,及其九十年代初期作为新历史小组成员所开展实践的一系列相关资料,从具体的实践维度出发,勾勒出九十年代初消费社会转向时期,艺术家创作轨迹所经历的清晰转向。“新历史小组阅览室”将艺术家的创作文本资料与创作发生的时代背景并置,让观众在对照中重温那个时代的情景。

展览以回顾的视角观看当下,亦基于当下的现实来回溯问题的发端。“消费”在今天不再只是一种为满足经济需求而产生的购买行为,更成为了一种渗透于知识、欲望甚至是主体建构过程内部的要素。在当今的中国社会高度参与全球化进程、成为全球化系统不可或缺的一部分之时,内化于知识界和社会个体中的矛盾性并未消失,反而被展现得更为充分。在此背景之下,展览“人间指南”将艺术作品视为过去时刻的“方位浮标”,在时间轴中重新理解深刻塑造了我们当下的中国艺术与艺术家的工作简史,并获得一种“温故知新”。


关于展览

展览“人间指南”由峰米科技和上海河路文化传播有限公司提供影像设备赞助,GENELEC(真力)提供独家展览音响设备支持。感谢二更视频提供展览影像记录支持。美术馆环保墙面解决方案由多乐士独家呈现。UCCA诚挚感谢战略合作伙伴阿那亚对于此次展览的支持。


关于艺术家

陈劭雄

陈劭雄(1962–2016)生于中国广东,毕业于广州美术学院版画系。艺术家的观念艺术运用了多种媒介,包括摄影、录像、装置、行为及绘画,以此来研究中国日新月异的城市景观。主要个展包括:“陈劭雄:万事俱备”(上海当代艺术博物馆,上海,2016);“陈劭雄:墨水、历史、媒体”(西雅图美术馆,美国,2014)。重要群展包括:“第21届悉尼双年展”(悉尼,澳大利亚,2018);“深港城市/建筑双年展”(深圳,中国,2017);“1989年后的艺术与中国:世界剧场”(古根海姆博物馆,纽约,2017);“西京不是西京,西京也是西京”(21世纪当代美术馆,金泽,2016);“景象和声音:全球电影和录像”(犹太美术馆,纽约,2014);“水墨艺术:当代中国的过去和现在”(大都会美术馆,纽约,2013);“013美术馆,纽”(光州,韩国,2012)等。


任戬和新历史小组

任戬1955年生于辽宁,8岁随母亲移居哈尔滨,1983年毕业于鲁迅美术学院,获学士学位。1984年于黑龙江艺术学校担任教师一职。1987年于鲁迅美术学院获得硕士学位。1988年进入黑龙江省画院,1989年至1998年调至武汉大学,1999年任职大连工业大学艺术设计学院。任戬在大学期间结识北岛、芒克、岛子等文化学者,在共同文化价值观的驱动下形成了“北方艺术群体”。在其就读研究生期间,任戬创作了《天地冥》《元化》等系列作品。1988年末参加“黄山会议”后调动工作至武汉大学。1992年5月,在与武汉的学者、艺术家的交流过程中,任戬和志同道合的艺术家共同创立了新历史小组。成员包括:任戬、周细平、祝锡锟、梁小川、余虹、张三夕、王玉北、赵冰、未明、岛子、弓克、傅中望。不久后,叶双贵与野牛、余佑斌、陈默陆续加入。

在1992年广州九十年代双年展期间,新历史小组实施了第一次艺术活动“消毒”,成为那一时期的重要艺术事件;1992年11月,小组开始策划第二次艺术行动“新历史1993大消费”产品艺术系列活动;1993年4月,在北京王府井麦当劳、中萃时装精品店进行布展,但在临展前夕被有关部门叫停;1993年6月,“新历史1993大消费”在武汉服装城、武汉展览馆、武汉东湖公园实施完成。1995年之后,新历史小组的工作方法逐渐趋向于将艺术纳入具体生活生产的环节;伴随着团队成员个人发展的差异,新历史小组也逐渐从团队协作的艺术行动,转向不同个体的具体艺术实践。任戬个人以及新历史小组的展览项目还包括:“历史,看什么不是什么”(OCAT,西安,2015);“光州双年展”(光州,韩国,2002);“中国新艺术”(现代艺术博物馆、亚洲艺术博物馆、亚洲协会美术馆,纽约,1998-2000);“后89中国新艺术大展”(香港,1994);“中国现代艺术大展”(中国美术馆,北京,1989)等。


王晋

王晋出生于1962年,1987年毕业于中国美术学院,为北京独立艺术家。他自90年代初开始当代艺术实践,艺术活动涉及诸多领域与媒介。主要作品包括《叩门》《抗洪—红旗渠》《娶头骡子》《冰·96中原》《中国之梦》《我的骨》《中华人民共和国第1295109号护照》《王》《北斗七星》等。其参与的主要展览包括:“水墨艺术:当代中国的过去作为现在”(大都会博物馆,纽约,2014);“权力与威望:十八至二十一世纪的中国龙袍”(大都会博物馆,纽约,2014);“麻将:希克收藏中的中国当代艺术”(汉堡美术馆,汉堡,2006-2007);“过去和未来之间:中国新影像展”(国际摄影中心,纽约,2004);“首届广州当代艺术三年展——重新解读:中国实验艺术十年(1990-2000)”(广东美术馆,广州,2002-2003);“第48届威尼斯双年展”(威尼斯,1999)。

下载“人间指南(上)”新闻稿。


展出作品

查看更多

陈邵雄

《街景-2》

数码微喷
1998
270 x 405 cm

陈邵雄

《天河城》

数码微喷
1999
270 x 405 cm

陈邵雄

《七天的沉寂》

数码微喷
1991
尺寸可变

任戬

“上街下厂”

任戬在武汉汉正街街头采购制作《任戬集邮牛仔服》的布料
1992

1 / 4

视频资料

“人间指南(上)”展览纪录片

03:37

视频资料

“人间指南(上)”展览纪录片

03:37

展览现场

展览现场

1 / 4