×
loading...
New Directions: Chang Yun-han
2018.3.24 - 2018.5.27
New Gallery
  • About
  • Exhibition Works
  • Installation Views

For the latest installment of the “New Directions” series of solo shows by emerging artists from throughout greater China, UCCA presents a cycle of artworks and supplementary materials by Taiwanese artist Chang Yun-han, running from March 24 to May 27. Included here are works produced during two sojourns undertaken by Chang: in New York, 2017, for the completion of a project with Residency Unlimited; and in Svalbard, Norway, 2014, while undertaking the Farm Foundation’s Arctic Circle Residency. By inviting others—a graphic designer, a folklorist, and a magician—to join in her in creating her artworks, Chang creates a space of collaboration and openness.

During her stay in New York, Chang created a series of marker drawings based on stills from the 1986 animated feature film An American Tail. Set in 1885, the movie follows a group of Russian-Jewish mice through their tumultuous journey to America, a place where they imagine there are “no cats.” The film, produced by Stephen Spielberg and animated by Don Bluth, was a childhood staple for Chang’s generation, growing up in Taiwan, a filmic distillation of America into a hyperreal blend of imagination, history, and popular culture. Each of Chang’s drawings is named after the snatch of dialogue contained within the still it recreates: This is America, we have free speech; America; Another fairy tale; What a place; and What does it stand for. Yet a closer look at the medium on which she executes her drawings—foreign-language newspapers discovered while roaming the streets of Manhattan—suggests a tension between an idealized story of assimilation and the stark realities of being an immigrant. Beneath the cheerful marker surface of This is America, we have free speech, for example, is the Chinese heading “Chinese [American] youth train-jumping suicide tragedy causes societal stir…” The newspaper, which Benedict Anderson called a tool for “imagining the nation into being,” has always recorded a similar tension: between the commitment to quick, reliable, and democratic information, and the ethno-nationalist belief that only white Europeans could properly live by these principles; between a tendency to think humanity as an abstract, universal category, and to suspend, indefinitely, inclusion in this category for countries in the global South and East. What is the fate of this American tale, the artworks seem to ask, once it is translated for a Taiwanese audience?

The next set of artworks centers on Svalbard, Norway, located near the North Pole. A series of drawings, done in acrylic and colored pencils and titled “You Are Not What You Think You Are,” riffs on whimsical Scandinavian motifs: a caped figure standing on a lone ice cap, ringed by walruses; a woman rising from the open jaws of a whale; a gargantuan viewer peering down at a settlement shrunken into a diorama. Alongside these drawings is a light-box installation, Unreachable Place. A photograph of an iceberg circumscribed by black, as if seen through binoculars, this installation foregrounds the question that occurred to Chang during her journey: “Why does the North Pole gradually become the symbol for the global disaster today?” One of the signature ironies of the era, inaugurated by the industrial revolution and dubbed the Anthropocene, is that the iceberg, a Romantic symbol of the sublime and inhuman, is now being destroyed by human emissions. As Chang says in her travel notes, presented alongside the drawings, “There is nothing here, but the sights never cease to awe you…The world doesn’t need us at all…There is no boundary between human and nature, only a shapeless boundary of respect for each other. You know that once you cross, you might never return, and choose, humbly, to let yourself return to that earliest of instincts—survival—not daring to disturb the world…We aren’t anything at all, you say.”

Though New York and the North Pole are worlds apart, both function as “distant places,” compensations for the pressures of capitalism which are, in the final analysis, a part of capitalism’s very driving force. Instead of using “place” to distance herself, Chang sees it as a way to delve into present-day issues: the “regional variants” of the tale, American, that has proliferated in the wake of globalization; and the imbrication of humans with non-humans, a mesh of animals, plastic, radioactive waste, carbon emissions, and rising seas. Her artworks never evince a sense of moralizing or defeatism, however. Produced in tandem with her friends, their light shades and soft contours draw viewers in, foregoing monumentality. Similarly, the handwritten notes hung on the wall function not as a manifesto, but an invitation for the viewer to journey, and think, alongside their author.

 

About the Artist

Chang Yun-han (b. 1985, Changhua, Taiwan, China, lives and works in Taipei) graduated with an M.F.A. in sculpture from the National Taiwan University of Arts. Her solo exhibition “You Are Not What You Think You Are” was held at the Taipei Contemporary Art Center in 2015. Major group exhibitions include: “Live Ammo” (Taipei Contemporary Art Center, 2011); the 2010 Taipei Biennial (Taipei Fine Arts Museum); and the finalists exhibition for the 2009 Taipei Arts Award (Taipei Fine Arts Museum).

 

About New Directions

“New Directions” is an ongoing series of solo exhibitions and accompanying publications focused on new voices from Greater China. Deepening a commitment to emerging practices that has been fundamental to UCCA’s mission since its founding, this series aims to elaborate, through a constellation of singular positions, the richness and complexity of new art in China today.

 

About the Exhibition

”New Directions: Chang Yun-han” is the first exhibition to take place in the 225-square-meter New Gallery, constructed as the first phase of the architectural transformation taking place at UCCA this year. The New Gallery, which will house three further exhibitions in the “New Directions” series throughout 2018, deepens UCCA’s commitment to giving promising young artists a platform to realize their first institutional solo show, and to giving its audience an overall sense of the richness and complexity of new art in China today. Annual support for “New Directions” comes from Dior.

 

Ticketing:

170 170

 

Download “New Directions: Chang Yun-han”press release.

Works in the Exhibition
 / 2 1
    • Chang Yun-han
    • Unreachable Land
    • 2015
    • Film installation
    • Dimension variable
    • Chang Yun-han
    • American Dream
    • 2018
    • Three-channel video
    • 7′34″
    • Chang Yun-han
    • This is America, we have free speech
    • 2017
    • Waterproof marker on newspaper
    • 110 x 92 cm
    • Chang Yun-han
    • America
    • 2017
    • Waterproof marker on newspaper
    • 51 x 31.5 cm
    • Chang Yun-han
    • Another fairy tale
    • 2017
    • Waterproof marker on newspaper
    • 58 x 35 cm
    • Chang Yun-han
    • What a place
    • 2017
    • Waterproof marker on newspaper
    • 55 x 30 cm
    • Chang Yun-han
    • What does it stand for
    • 2017
    • Waterproof marker on newspaper
    • 55 x 30 cm
  •  
Installation Views

UCCA北京

新倾向:张允菡

2018.3.24 - 2018.5.27

关于展览

地点:  新展厅

在为支持中国青年艺术家举办的“新倾向”系列最新个展中,UCCA呈现中国台湾艺术家张允菡的一系列作品与相关材料。这些创作完成于张允菡的两次旅居过程之中——其于2017年在纽约参与的“驻村无限”(Residency Unlimited)计划项目,和2014年在挪威斯瓦尔巴参与由农场基金会(Farm Foundation)举办的北极圈驻村计划(The Arctic Circle)。艺术家将自身见闻传达给插画师、说书人和魔术师,并邀请他们共同参与其艺术创作,将之以自身视角转达给观众,从而建立起了一个 “主体间性”的开放场域。

在纽约居住期间,张允菡以1986年动画长片《美国鼠谭》中的截图画面为基础创作了一系列马克笔绘画作品。《美国鼠谭》的故事背景设置于1885年,讲述了一个俄国犹太裔的老鼠家庭移民至美国——他们认为那儿没有猫——的冒险旅途。电影由史蒂文·斯皮尔伯格监制,唐·布鲁斯创作,是成长于台湾的张允菡与其同时代人们共同的童年记忆,而美国则在电影中被凝聚为一个想象、历史和流行文化相互交融的超现实混合体。张允菡截取电影里的影像片段进行再创作,其作品标题则来源于截图中的台词:《This is America, we have free speech》《America》《Another fairy tale》《What a place》《What does it stand for》。然而,仔细观察承载了这些画作的媒介——艺术家在曼哈顿街道上漫步时找到的外文报纸,则会发现它们揭示了移民们融入另一种文化的理想与严峻现实之间的张力。例如,在《This is America, we have free speech》看似欢乐的画作表象下,是中文标题“跳轨华青悲惨身世引发社会关注纷解囊”。报纸被本尼迪克特·安德森称为“通过想象建立起民族共同体”的工具,它总是记录下相似的紧张关系:使信息的获取变得快速、可靠而广泛的古登堡式原则,与民族国家主义者坚信只有欧洲白人才能奉行这些原则之间的矛盾;将人性视作某种抽象而具有普世性的体系,与无限期地搁置将在世界南部和东部的国家纳入这一体系之中的矛盾。当这样的美国故事进入台湾的社会语境,人们又将如何看待它?

另一组艺术作品以位于北极附近的挪威斯瓦尔巴为中心,一系列以丙烯和彩色铅笔完成的画作被命名为《其实我们什么也不是》,像一段斯堪的纳维亚奇异主题的即兴演奏:一个身披斗篷,站在孤零零的被海象包围的冰盖上的人;一个从鲸鱼张开的嘴里升起的女人;一个巨人向下凝视着一个小聚落的微缩立体模型。这些画作旁边的装置《未竟之地》展现一张被黑色包围的冰山照片,彷如从望远镜中看到的景象。这个装置将困扰张允菡整个旅途的问题放到了最显眼的位置:“为什么北极逐渐变成了当今全球性灾难的象征?” 象征着浪漫、崇高和非人类特质的冰山正被人类排放物所摧毁——这是这个肇始于工业革命时期、被称为“人类纪”的时代中最具标志性意味的讽刺之一。放置于画作旁的张允菡旅行日记中这样写道:“这里什么都没有,景色却永远震慑着你……这个世界一点都不需要我们……人和自然并无边界,只有彼此互相尊重的无形分界。你知道自己在跨越之后可能一去不回,而选择谦卑的(地)让自己回到最原初的生存本能,敬畏地不多打扰……其实我们什么也不是,你说。”

尽管纽约与北极气质迥异,却同样负载许多现代人对“远方”的向往。它们是为了逃避由资本驱动的呆板生活而产生的想象,本身却又从属于这一驱动。不过,“远方”这一概念并未被张允菡用于强调自己与世界之间的距离,而是被视作介入当今世界议题的途径:已在全球化之际扩散的,对美国故事的各种“地方性变奏”,以及人类与动物、塑料、放射性废物、碳排放和上升的海平面等一系列非人类要素之间紧密的相互作用。然而,这些张允菡与朋友们合作的艺术作品并不含有任何道德说教和失败主义的意味,它们的光影和柔和的轮廓摒弃了任何宏大不朽的意图,而仅仅是吸引着观赏者进入作品本身。同样,墙上悬挂的手写笔记也并非庄重的宣言,而是一纸邀请参观者同作者共同踏上思考旅途的邀请函。

关于展览

感谢迪奥对“新倾向”系列的年度赞助。

关于艺术家

张允菡1985年出生于(中国)台湾彰化,2012年毕业于国立台湾艺术大学雕塑系,获硕士学位,现工作、生活于台北。2015年她于台北当代艺术中心举办了个展“其实我们什么也不是 ”。其主要群展包括:“活弹药 ”(台北当代艺术馆,2011);2010年台北双年展(台北市立美术馆);2009台北美术奖获奖作品展(台北市立美术馆)等。

关于新倾向

“新倾向”系列项目首创于2015年,旨在为中国最具潜力的艺术家提供举办其首次机构个展和出版首本专著的平台。个展系列项目“新倾向”延续了UCCA一贯的展览愿景——致力于展示和推广脱颖而出的新兴艺术实践。曾举办的相关展览包括“ON | OFF:中国年轻艺术家的观念与实践”(2013)、“中坚:新世纪中国艺术的八个关键形象”(2009)、“由……策划”系列展(2010-2012)等,意在以一系列个体呈现的整体样貌来展现当今中国新艺术倾向的丰富性与复杂性。

下载“新倾向:张允菡”新闻稿。

展出作品

查看更多

张允菡

《未竟之地》

2015
投影装置
尺寸可变

张允菡

《美国梦》

2018
三频录像
7′34″

张允菡

《This is America, we have free speech》

2017
马克笔、报纸
110x92cm

张允菡

《America》

2017
马克笔、报纸
51x31.5cm

张允菡

《Another fairy tale》

2017
马克笔、报纸
58x35cm

张允菡

《What a place》

2017
马克笔、报纸
55x30cm

张允菡

《What does it stand for》

2017
马克笔、报纸
56x31cm

1 / 7

视频资料

“新倾向:张允菡”展览现场

04:18

视频资料

“新倾向:张允菡”展览现场

04:18

活动现场

活动现场

1 / 15