×
loading...
“Adventures with Picasso” Series Session 3

In conjunction with the exhibition “Picasso – Birth of a Genius,” UCCA presents four weekends of exhibition-related public programs includingpanel discussions, the performing arts, and cinema. The series, titled “Adventures with Picasso,” seeks to introduce audiences to the life and work of the great artist in a variety of different formats. Scholars will discuss the relationship between Picasso and China in a symposium on June 15. The director of Museo Picasso Málaga, poet Xi Chuan, and other experts will discuss Picasso’s Spanish identity, along with his poetry. Two French creative directors under the moniker “I Could Never Be a Dancer,” pianist Gao Ping, percussionist Liu Gang, and the Beijing-based Creative Composers Collective (3C), will create original work inspired by the connection between Picasso’s paintings and his theater collaborations. After learning about the many aspects of Picasso’s artistic practice from experts in the field, audience members will also have anopportunity to catch a glimpse of the artist’s personal history in a set of recordings and documentaries, some of which are being screened for the first time in China.

 

Ticketing:

ppp3

PEPI

15:00-15:30

17:30-18:30

20:00-20:30

 

Throughout his artistic career, Picasso experimented with diverse forms of expression. As a young artist, he discovered the world of the performing arts, and was particularly fascinated by circus and dance. He began collaborating with Serge Diaghilev in the 1910s, and designed the sets and costumes for several productions by the Ballets Russes, including Le Tricorne (1919), which is richly documented in the exhibition. The dynamics of movement are featured in much of Picasso’s work as a painter, draftsman, and engraver, ranging from acrobats and the figure of Harlequin to cabaret dancers, and from bacchanal scenes to traditional Spanish dance.

 

The performance PEPI has been created exclusively for the exhibition “Picasso – Birth of A Genius,” running at UCCA from June 15 to September 1, 2019. Artistic duo I Could Never Be A Dancer pays tribute to Picasso’s Mediterranean roots and the choreographic forms that inspired the artist. As they come into contact with different styles of performance (circus, urban dance, flamenco), audience members will have the opportunity to experience a Cubist deformation of bodily perception. This performance is a Doors initiative.

Creative Directors

I Could Never Be a Dancer

I Could Never Be a Dancer is an international duo that applies their pop, conceptual, and modern vision to multiple projects. Working as choreographers, film directors, and artistic directors, Carine Charaire and Olivier Casamayou break the boundaries of dance within the fashion, contemporary art, and music worlds. Collaborating with institutions like the Centre Pompidou and the Comédie-Française, high-end brand-names like Chanel, Cartier, Hermès, Lacoste, Chloé, and Kenzo, and pop artists like Chaka Khan, Kylie Minogue, Metronomy, Willy Moon, Mika, and the Pet Shop Boys, they love participating in the creation of pop culture, as well as questioning cultural codes in order to say something relevant about our time.

Performers

José Manuel Álvarez (Flamenco Dancer) and Lucas Balbo (Percussionist) 

José Manuel Álvarez is a flamenco dancer born in Sevilla in 1985. He has worked with directors such as Rafael Estévez, Rubén Olmo, Marco Flores, Juan Carlos Lérida, Emilio Fernández, Javier Latorre and Pepa Gamboa and with artists such as Antonio Canales, Las Migas, tap dancer Roxane Butterfly, the company Increpación Danza and the master of tar Hamid Khabbazi. At an international level, José Manuel has worked with Craig Rivel, with whom he joined forces in the musical “Flamen’ka Nueva” in Paris and London. José Manuel Álvarez has been part of the Marco Flores’ company in the productions “Laberíntica” (2014) and “Enter the Game” (2016).

 

Born in Buenos Aires in 1988, Lucas Balbo was trained in flamenco and Afro-Latin percussion with cajón flamenco masters like Isreal Suarez (Piraña), Lucky Lozada, and leading figures such as Huber Reyes (Peru), Julio Morales (Argentina) and Cheik Gueye (Guinea). He already had the honor of working with leading flamenco figures such as La Farruca, Eva Yerbabuena, Marco Flores, Karime Amaya, among others. He has collaborated with Jose Manuel Álvarez in “Bailes Colaterales,” “Hostal Pascual” and in the choreographic piece “D-Structures” presented in Théatre de la Ville (Paris), Ciutat Flamenco 2017, and Circuito Bucles 2018.

 

Mamadou Bathily and Taylor Chateau (Bonebreakers)

Mamadou Bathily (Bats) and Taylor Chateau (Taylor) are choreographers, dancers, models, and actors. They are part of the dance group Electro Street. They have collaborated with Blanca Li and appeared in commercials for Diesel, Replay, Louboutin, Longchamp, Givenchy, Zegna and Balmain. They both started dancing in 2007, and developed their art while winning titles and awards in international competitions. They form an original duet with their own distinctive style, a mix of urban dance and contortionism.

 

Shi Meiyu and Shi Meiru (Acrobats)

Shi Meiyu and Shi Meiru are twin sisters and acrobats. They are part of the China National Acrobatic Troupe, and have performed in their productions internationally, in countries including Russia, USA, Thailand, Laos, Malaysia, Singapore, and Cambodia.

Collaborator

Doors门艺

Founded in 2017 by Bérénice Angremy and Victoria Jonathan, Doors is a Franco-Chinese agency specialized in the production and promotion of art and culture. Through creative projects and innovative events, their goal is to open doors and facilitate cultural exchange between China and Europe. Recent projects include the Jimei x Arles photo festival in Xiamen and the exhibition “Picasso – Birth of A Genius,” while Doors is collaborating with cultural institutions such as Centre Pompidou, Philharmonie de Paris, Jeu de Paume, Lille World Design Capital, and Fondation Henri Cartier-Bresson on new China projects.

 

JACQUEMUS

Simon Porte Jacquemus was born in 1990 in Salon-de-Provence. In 2009, aged 19, he launched the brand JACQUEMUS as a tribute to his mother, who had passed away the year before. In 2015, he won the LVMH Special Prize. In May 2017, he showed his collection “Les Santons de Provence” for the second time as part of the event “Marseille, je t’aime” and three other exhibitions in Marseille. The same year, he also celebrated the launch of his book, made in collaboration with thirteen artists, paying tribute to Marseille and the south of France. Simon draws his inspiration from his native province and the Mediterranean region. JACQUEMUS women’s clothing is inspired by the women in his life, with each collection telling a story and referencing his memories.

Le Mystère Picasso

13:00-14:30

 

Year: 1956

Director: Henri-Georges Clouzot

Screenplay: Henri-Georges Clouzot, Pablo Picasso

Cast: Pablo Picasso
Genre: Documentary
Country: France
Language: French
Runtime: 78 min

Awards: Cannes Special Jury Prize

In the summer of 1956, the famous French director Henri-Georges Clouzot received the consent of Picasso to film the documentary The Secret of Picasso. The film faithfully recorded the artist’s creation of more than 20 paintings. Picasso once said: “As far as I am concerned, a painting is the result of destruction.” After the filming of this documentary was completed, Picasso destroyed all of the paintings painted during the filming process, making the film an even more important piece of documentation.

Picasso, The Making of an Icon

16:00-17:00

 

Picasso, the Making of an Icon

Year: 2015

Director: Hopi Lebel

Screenplay: Stéphane Guégan

Genre: Documentary

Country: France

Language: English

Runtime: 52 min

Precocious genius, visionary and committed artist, the inventor of modern art, seducer, and patriarch: the image of Pablo Picasso has been in constant evolution since he started out at the Bateau-Lavoir in Montmartre. Focusing on Picasso’s public persona, this documentary traces this exceptionally talented artist’s mastery of mass media, and his role writing his own legend, to the point of subsuming his private life, so that the man and the artist became one. By exploring rare archival material, including family documents, and with analysis provided by art historians and artist Jeff Koons, a new light is shone upon the world’s most famous painter. Special thanks to Olivier Widmaier Picasso, INA, Seventh Art Productions, and Sinapses Conseils.

Picasso: A Spanish Artist Who Writes Poetry

19:00-19:30

Exhibition on Screen: Young Picasso

20:30-22:00

 

Exhibition on Screen: Young Picasso

Year: 2019

Director: Phil Grabsky
Genre: Documentary
Country: UK
Language: English
Runtime: 91 min

Pablo Picasso is one of the greatest artists of all time—and right up until his death in 1973, he was the most prolific of artists. Many films have dealt with these later years—the art, the affairs and the wide circle of friends. But where did this all begin? What made Picasso in the first place? Too long ignored, it is time to look at the early years of Picasso; the upbringing and the learning that led to his extraordinary achievements. Three cities play a key role: Malaga, Barcelona, and Paris. Young Picasso visits each of them, and explores their influence on Picasso, focusing on specific artworks from these early years. The film thus explains how this young artist acquired his craft. Looking carefully at two key early periods – the so-called Blue Period and Rose Period—the film takes us all the way to 1907 and the creation of a critical painting in the history of art—Les Demoiselles d’Avignon. It was a painting that shocked the art world but changed it irrevocably. Picasso was only 25 years old. Working closely with all three Picasso Museums in Malaga, Barcelona, and Paris, this film explains how he rose to great heights. Special thanks to Olivier Widmaier Picasso, INA, Seventh Art Productions, and Sinapses Conseils .

Collaborators

French Embassy

Swiss Embassy

Institut Français de Pékin

Exhibition On Screen

INA France

Olivier Picasso

Sinapses Asia

放映技术支持 xiao

 

“Adventures with Picasso” Series Session 3
  • 2019.7.20
  • 13:00-22:00

×
loading...
“奇异旅程毕加索”系列
第三期 表演与影像艺术交流

自2019年6月起,UCCA将在“毕加索:一位天才的诞生”展览期间的4个周末(6月15日、6月29日、7月20日、8月24日)推出系列活动“奇异旅程毕加索”,以“对话”“影像艺术交流”“表演艺术交流”三种活动形式,丰富UCCA观众的文化生活之旅,全面、立体地介绍这位伟大艺术家的生平和创作。其中,“毕加索在中国”系列演讲将通过学者演讲的形式全面诠释毕加索与中国的关系;巴黎、马拉加和巴塞罗那的毕加索美术馆的研究员、策展人及馆长将带来精彩分享;“我永远成不了舞者”双人组、高平、CC艺术音乐组合将以毕加索的绘画及其参与的戏剧为灵感进行创作;诸多学者也将以深入浅出地介绍毕加索的方方面面;同时,一系列与他相关的珍贵影像资料也能帮助观众对这位艺术大师的个人历史进行直观的把握。

 

“奇异旅程毕加索”将于当天傍晚时段的活动间歇免费提供限量酒水及轻食。

 

票务信息:

线上预售票:158 

会员优惠票:128

现场票:188

特别说明:

*“奇异旅程毕加索”系列活动共分为四期,将陆续发布活动信息;

*“奇异旅程毕加索”系列活动不包含“毕加索:一位天才的诞生”展览参观费用;

*“奇异旅程毕加索”不售单场活动票,仅售全天全部场次活动票;

*持UCCA年卡者按照优惠票价格收取费用;

*“奇异旅程毕加索”仅涵盖“对谈”项目费用,“影像艺术交流”“表演艺术交流”项目不从票务中获取收入,活动收入将悉数用于支持UCCA公共实践部的运营与发展;

*活动当天开场前半小时,请于UCCA前台领取活动门票;

*场地准入人数有限,建议提前规划出行时间,迟到请听从工作人员安排入场;

*活动期间请保持手机静音;

*购票请扫描下方二维码

ppp3

PEPI

终其一生,毕加索一直在不断探索多种表现形式。他从一开始就对表演艺术的世界尤其是马戏团和舞蹈尤为着迷。他从1910年代开始与迪亚吉列夫合作,为几部俄罗斯芭蕾舞演出作品设计布景和服装,例如《三脚帽》(1919)。展览提供了大量这方面的资料。从杂技演员和小丑形象到传统的西班牙舞蹈,直至夜总会和纵酒狂欢,毕加索的绘画、绘图和雕刻作品中都体现出他对运动中的动感的执着。

这场表演专为展览“毕加索——一位天才的诞生”而创作。 I Could Never Be A Dancer 的两位艺术家向毕加索的老家地中海和激发画家灵感的舞蹈形式表示敬意。该表演借鉴了不同的民间艺术形式(马戏团、都市舞蹈、弗拉门戈),观众们将有机会体验身体知觉在舞台上的立体变形。演出由Doors 门艺发起。感谢法国时装设计品牌Jacquemus对本次演出服装的独家特别支持与赞助。

表演时间

15:00-15:30

17:30-18:30

20:00-20:30

创意指导

“我永远成不了舞者”双人组(I Could Never Be a Dancer)

I Could Never Be A Dancer (卡琳娜·夏雷尔和奥利维埃·卡萨马约,曾经热罗姆·贝尔和马尔科·贝伦蒂尼编舞作品的表演者)是一个国际二人组,他们热衷于参与到流行文化的创造中,并解锁其密码来表达属于我们这个时代的东西。从法兰西喜剧院到蓬皮杜中心,从法国的奢侈品大牌到外国乐队,他们让舞蹈和艺术、时尚和媒体展开了对话。

表演者

何塞·曼努埃尔·阿尔瓦雷斯(弗拉门戈舞蹈演员)及卢卡斯·巴尔博(打击乐手)

Jose Manuel Alvarez是1985年出生于塞维利亚的弗拉门戈舞者。他曾与拉斐尔·埃斯特维斯、鲁本·奥尔默、马可·弗洛雷斯、胡安·卡洛斯·莱里达、埃米利奥·费尔南德斯、哈维尔·拉托雷和佩帕·甘博亚等导演合作,与安东尼奥·卡纳莱斯、拉斯·米加斯、踢踏舞演员罗克赞·蝴蝶、Increpacion Danza公司、阿米德·卡巴齐大师合作。在国际层面上,何塞·曼努埃尔与克雷格·里韦尔合作,在巴黎和伦敦合作音乐剧《Flamen ‘ka Nueva》。何塞·曼努埃尔·阿尔瓦雷斯曾是马尔科·弗洛雷斯公司出品的《Laberintica》(2014)和《Enter the Game》(2016)中的一员。

 

卢卡斯·巴尔博1988年出生在布宜诺斯艾利斯,曾接受过弗拉门戈和非洲拉丁打击乐方面的训练,师从弗拉门戈大师,如伊斯拉尔·苏亚雷斯(皮拉那)、卢茨基·洛萨达,以及胡贝尔·雷耶斯(秘鲁)、胡里奥·莫拉莱斯(阿根廷)和切克·古埃(几内亚)。他已经有幸与拉·法鲁卡、伊娃·耶尔巴布耶娜、马可·弗洛雷斯、卡里姆·阿马亚等弗拉门戈名家合作过。曾与何塞·曼努埃尔·阿尔瓦雷斯合作过《Bailes Colaterales》《Hostal Pascual》等舞台剧,并在《D-Structures》《Ciutat Flamenco 2017》和《Cirito Bucles 2018》中担任编舞。

 

马马杜·巴蒂利和泰勒·沙托

马马杜·巴蒂利和泰勒·沙托是舞蹈指导、舞者、模特和演员。他们是电子街舞蹈团的成员。他们曾与布兰卡·李合作,为迪赛、Replay、鲁布托、朗尚、纪梵希、杰尼亚和巴尔曼拍摄广告。两人都是在2007年开始学习舞蹈,并在最重要的国际比赛中获得冠军和奖项。他们组成了舞蹈二人组“Bone-breakers”,以展示融合了城市舞蹈和柔术的作品。

 

石美玉和石美茹(杂技演员)

石美玉和石美茹是中国杂技团的孪生姐妹。曾经出演过柔术、花盘以及车技。参演的剧目:北京北京、嗨北京、六十一块金牌、天地宝藏. 曾经在俄罗斯、美国、泰国、老挝、马来西亚、新加坡、柬埔寨等国家演出过。

合作方

Doors门艺

DOORS门艺由黎静与零零创办于2017年,是致力于文化出品与推广的艺术机构。我们的宗旨是用充满创意、创新的活动及项目,为中欧之间的文化交流开启一扇扇大门。最近的项目包括厦门的集美·阿尔勒国际摄影节,展览《毕加索——一个天才的诞生》,同时门艺与蓬皮杜艺术中心、巴黎爱乐乐团、巴黎国立网球场美术馆、里尔世界设计之都保持良好合作关系,并且正在与亨利·卡蒂尔-布勒松基金会合作关于中国的新项目。

 

JACQUEMUS雅克慕斯

西蒙·波特·雅克慕斯于1990年出生于法国南部的普罗旺斯萨隆镇。18岁时,他移居巴黎,在一所时装学校读书,但因母亲的过世,一个月后离开了学校。2009年,在他19岁那一年,他以母亲的婚前姓氏命名推出了私人品牌JACQUEMUS。2015年,他荣获了路易.威登特别奖。2017年5月,他的系列时装“Les Santons de Provence”再度于 “我爱你,马赛”活动中展出,并且参与了在马赛举行的其他三个展览。他还与13位艺术家合作,推出了他的新书,通过这种方式向马赛和法国南部表达自己的敬意。西蒙从他的家乡普罗旺斯和地中海地区汲取灵感。JACQUEMUS女性时装设计灵感来自于他生命中的女性。每个系列讲述其回忆中的一个故事。

《毕加索的秘密》

时间:13:00-14:30

 

《毕加索的秘密》

The Mystery of Picasso

导演:亨利-乔治·克鲁佐
编剧:亨利-乔治·克鲁佐 / 巴勃罗·毕加索
主演:巴勃罗·毕加索
类型:纪录片
制片:法国
上映时间:1956-05-05(戛纳电影节)/1956-05-18(法国)
片长:78分钟

获奖:第9届戛纳电影节主竞赛单元金棕榈奖提名、评审团特别奖

简介:1956年夏天,法国着名导演亨利·乔治·克鲁佐获得了毕加索的同意,拍摄了纪录片《毕加索的秘密》,影片忠实记录了这位艺术家创作20余幅绘画作品的详细过程。毕加索曾说过:“就我个人而言,一幅画乃是破坏的结果。”在观看这部影片的过程中,我们能够清晰地感受到这种破坏。在拍完这部纪录片后,毕加索将拍片过程中所画的20余幅画悉数毁弃,致使本片更显珍贵。

《毕加索:成为偶像》

时间:16:00-17:00

 

《毕加索:成为偶像》

Picasso, the Making of an Icon

年份:2015年

导演:霍皮·勒贝尔

类型:纪录片

制片:法国

语言:英语

片长:52分钟

简介:早熟的天才,卓识和坚定的艺术家,现代艺术的发明者,诱惑者和一代艺术宗师:自从毕加索在蒙马特的巴托拉沃伊尔开始他的艺术生涯,他的形象一直在不断演变。这部纪录片聚焦于毕加索的公众形象,追溯这位才华横溢的艺术家对大众媒体的掌控,以及他为书写自己的传奇角色,将自己的私人生活融入其中的过程。通过探索包括家庭文件在内的罕见档案材料,并通过艺术历史学家,以及当代艺术家杰夫·昆斯的分析,观众会从这位世界上最著名的画家身上发现新的闪光点。本片特别感谢法国画家利维耶·韦德迈尔·毕加索、法国国立视听学院、第七艺术制作与Sinapses Conseils。

《毕加索:一位写诗的西班牙艺术家》

时间:19:00-19:30

《年轻的毕加索》

时间:20:30-22:00

 

《年轻的毕加索》

Exhibition on Screen: Young Picasso

年份:2019年

导演:菲尔·布斯基

类型:纪录片

制片:英国

片长:91分钟

简介:许多记录毕加索生活和工作的电影都聚焦于他的晚年:他的艺术、他的逸闻以及他交游广泛的朋友圈子。但是,事出必有因,是怎样的经历让这位艺术家如此声名显赫?毕加索早年的故事常被人们遗忘,然而,是他接受的教育和学习将他引向成功的巅峰。三座城市:马拉加、巴塞罗那和巴黎,是滋润和孕育这位天才的摇篮。本片带领观众游历这三座城市,通过毕加索早年创作的几幅具体的绘画,探索它们对毕加索的影响。影片通过对艺术家两段早年重要的艺术阶段“蓝色时期”和“粉红时期”带我们回到1907年,以领略艺术史中的一件重要作品《亚威农少女》。这张绘画震惊了当时的艺术界,并将艺术历史不可逆转地改变了方向。当时,毕加索年仅25岁,摄制组与马拉加、巴塞罗那和巴黎的毕加索美术馆紧密合作,共同发现他是如何在这样的年纪达到如此的艺术高度。本片特别感谢法国画家奥利维耶·韦德迈尔·毕加索、法国国立视听学院、第七艺术制作与Sinapses Conseils。

合作方

法国大使馆

瑞典大使馆

法国文化中心

Olivier Widmaier Picasso

Institut National de l’Audiovisuel

Seventh Art Productions

Sinapses Conseils

巴可激光——为您做“睛”彩影像艺术呈现

放映技术支持 xiao

“奇异旅程毕加索”系列
第三期 表演与影像艺术交流
  • 2019.7.20
  • 13:00-22:00