×
loading...
Sarah Morris: Odysseus Factor
2018.3.24 - 2018.6.17
Great Hall
  • About
  • Ticketing
  • Exhibition Works
  • Installation Views
  • Related Programs
  • Videos

From March 24 to June 17, UCCA presents “Sarah Morris: Odysseus Factor.” This marks the first exhibition of the artist’s entire filmic output anywhere in the world, set within a vast installation comprised of paintings, drawings and a monumental wall painting specially devised for the Great Hall. The fourteen films on view offer open ended explorations of space that emerge through a democratic overview of their architectures, protagonists, situations, and processes, shown at UCCA in a sequence of custom-built spaces arrayed throughout the former factory chamber of the Great Hall. The title of the exhibition might be understood as a reference to Morris’s creative trajectory, which can be divided into several ten-year periods—the same amount of time the Trojan war lasted, and the exact number of years that it took Odysseus to sail home to Ithaca. Morris debuted her first film, Midtown, in 1998, went on to shoot Beijing in 2008, and now returns, in 2018, to the city which inspired both the film and several of her paintings. Her artistic process, too, is Odyssean, involving journeys to multiple countries, and entanglements with characters and powers that seek repeatedly to drive her off course.

Morris’s paintings run parallel to her films; the artist has described them as two sides of the same coin. They describe urban, social, and bureaucratic typologies with points, vectors, and angles, mapping a set of coordinates onto a two-dimensional surface. Rather than abstractions, it is more apt to view these features as a “glossary…used to depict a visible reality (architectural, social or economic) that capitalism has turned into an abstract painting” (Nicholas Bourriaud). Prior to the opening of the exhibition, Morris will execute an original, site-specific wall painting at UCCA, 57.7 meters wide by 9 meters tall, which will encompass the space in which the exhibition is held.

Like Charles and Ray Eames, Morris combines an attention of detail with a sense of wonder at the physical world. Having grown up in the era of post-Watergate skepticism, she creates films fueled by a tension between paranoia and disavowal, characteristic of the heroes in high postmodernist novels, struggling to make sense of overdetermined systems. Her works are filled with the suspicion that behind the surfaces of day-to-day reality lie conspiracies of massive scope. This epistemic unease ultimately wreaks havoc with the genesis of ideas: if late capitalism is a giant playbook, then the boundary between reality and construct is blurred, meaning that, as J.G. Ballard has said, “external reality is a fiction.”

This is the theme of 1972, made in 2008, a portrait of the police psychologist Dr. Georg Seiber, who, like the Hollywood script doctor who features in Morris’s film Robert Towne [2007], writes “scenes”: Seiber was hired by the International Olympic Committee to anticipate scenarios that would jeopardize the safety of the Munich Games. “Scenario # 21” stated that, “a dozen armed Palestinians would scale the perimeter fence of the [Olympic] Village. They would invade the building that housed the Israeli delegation, kill a hostage or two…then demand the release of prisoners held in Israeli jails and a plane to fly to some Arab capital.” The projection was almost identical to what happened in reality: the Palestinian paramilitary organization, Black September, stormed the apartment housing the Israeli team, killing several members, and capturing nine hostages. Resigning immediately after the attack, Dr. Seiber went on to correctly predict that the ensuing events would be “a bloodbath”—the botched rescue operation launched by the Munich Police resulted in the deaths of all the hostages, as well as several civilian and police casualties.

Morris’s films are collections of modular parts, which can be detached and recontextualized in relation to the other films in her oeuvre. Like 1972 and Rio, Beijing is about an Olympic city; like Capital, which captures the waning days of the Clinton administration at work in the White House, it is about a ruling party; like Abu Dhabi, it documents capitalism’s flouting of the European and American exceptionalisms from which it grew. If the success of an Olympic Games is determined by its projection of wealth, power, prestige, and identity, then Beijing 2008 was undoubtedly one of the most successful Games in history. Compared to Washington D.C., then home to a government beset by stock market crashes and costly wars in the Middle East, the unprecedented economic growth of the Chinese capital seemed to hint at an eastward shift of the centers of power. Unlike the Rio and Munich Games, in which the “officially sanctioned scenario” was hijacked by activists, terrorists, and journalists, the 2008 Olympics seemed, to curious and anxious Western viewers, like a flawless demonstration of China’s newfound might. Indeed, as Georg Seiber told Morris, an attack on Beijing was inconceivable: “the Chinese have too much control.”

Yet Morris’s 86-minute 35mm film, shot in China’s capital, challenges the stereotyped image of the country as monolithic force. The recurrent motif in Beijing is that of series of rings, connected metonymically: the five-ringed Olympic symbol, the concentric circles that radiate from the Forbidden Palace, and the bureaucratic hoops through which the artist had to jump to capture the city at this monumental juncture. In her quest to acquire filming rights, Morris approached officials in the Chinese government; Herzog and De Meuron, the architects who designed the National Stadium; and Uli Sigg, the former Swiss ambassador to China, who directed her to the International Olympic Committee. After a series of lengthy negotiations, the IOC agreed to give her permission. Her itinerary—full of accidents and contingencies—and her dealings with multiple gatekeepers, often at odds with each other, reveals the complexities behind the Games. Similarly, some of the most compelling footage in the film was discovered fortuitously: an argument in a subway station; a card game whose every permutation seems invested with meaning; and surprise speeches by Henry Kissinger and Jackie Chan. Perhaps the most arresting scene is one in which a group of women rehearse ribbon spinning in a square. In Beijing, as in all of Morris’s films, this most mundane of details takes on an ominous significance if looked at closely enough. Suddenly, the whorls of gaudy cloth appear to be another series of rings, prompting the viewer to question—out of paranoia or curiosity—whether someone is behind the metonymic chain.

Connections proliferate between Morris’s films. Finite and Infinite Games, the most recent film in the exhibition, records a conversation between the artist and Alexander Kluge, the writer and director once employed as attorney for the Frankfurt School. Together, they explore the differences between ideas underpinning the culture industry and poststructuralist play. This transition between modernism and postmodernism is also explored in Points on a Line, which juxtaposes the Farnsworth House, designed by Mies van der Rohe, and the nearly-identical Glass House, designed by Philip Johnson, complicating modernist notions of originality and authorship. Chicago explores the architecture of the city to which Mies fled, during World War II, where he founded the “New Bauhaus.” Los Angeles, like 1972 and Robert Towne, unpacks an obsession with performance, exploring Hollywood’s psychological landscape and the ambitions of actors and actresses who, even “off set,” still play versions of themselves. Strange Magic starts in Frank Gehry’s studio, and moves to the streets of Paris and the construction of the Bois de Boulogne.

Challenges to Morris’s journey to create her films are, in another sense, the very objects of her search. This is perhaps why, in Finite and Infinite Games, she describes the artist’s duty as one of being open “to possibly being used by a force that is larger than you, that might corrupt your meaning.” Unlike the epic—or, indeed, the modern—hero, Morris has not chosen to go forward or onward, but inward: her work evinces the belief that the smallest image, voice, or event, can provide the key to understanding.

 

About the Exhibition

Support for this exhibition comes from Vispring. Genelec is the exclusive audio equipment sponsor. Secoo Lifestyle has provided special support.

 

About the Artist

Sarah Morris (b. 1967, England, lives and works in New York) has presented solo exhibitions at the Espoo Museum of Modern Art (Finland, 2017); Kunsthalle Wien (2016); Kunsthalle Bremen (2013); M-Museum Leuven (2015); Wexner Center for the Arts (Columbus, Ohio, 2012); Kunstsammlung Nordrhein-Westfalen (Dusseldorf, 2010); Museum für Moderne Kunst (Frankfurt, 2009); Museo d’Arte Moderna di Bologna (2009); Lenbachhaus (Munich, 2008); Fondation Beyeler (Basel, 2008); Museum Boijmans van Beuningen (Rotterdam, 2006); Kestner Gesellschaft (Hannover, 2005); Palais de Tokyo (Paris, 2005); Moderna Museet (Stockholm, 2005); Kunstforeningen (Copenhagen, 2004); Hamburger Bahnhof (Berlin, 2001); Kunsthalle Zürich (2000); and Modern Art Oxford (1999). Her work has also been included in the São Paulo Biennial (2002) and the Tate Triennial (2003), and has been collected by museums including Centre Pompidou; Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum; MoMA; Museum für Moderne Kunst (Frankfurt); Neue Nationalgalerie im Hamburger Bahnhof (Berlin); Stedelijk Museum (Amsterdam); San Francisco Museum of Modern Art; and Tate Modern.

Download “Sarah Morris: Odysseus Factor” press release.

Ticketing

smo

Works in the Exhibition
 / 2 1
    • Sarah Morris
    • Beijing (film still)
    • 2008
    • Single-channel video
    • 84’47”
    • Sarah Morris
    • Beijing (film still)
    • 2008
    • Single-channel video
    • 84’47”
    • Sarah Morris
    • Beijing (film still)
    • 2008
    • Single-channel video
    • 84’47”
    • Sarah Morris
    • Elixir [Abu Dhabi]
    • 2017
    • Household gloss paint on canvas
    • 214 × 214 cm
    • Sarah Morris
    • Control Tower [Abu Dhabi]
    • 2017
    • Household gloss paint on canvas
    • 214 × 214 cm
  •  
  •  
  •  
Installation Views
Related Programs
    • 2018.5.28
      MORRIS OBRIST
      16:30-17:30
      Auditorium
  •  
  •  
  •  
Videos
  • Do you remember Beijing in 2008?
    5′19″
  • Sarah Morris: Odysseus Factor
    4′49″
  •  
  •

×
loading...
萨拉·莫里斯:奥德赛
2018.3.24 - 2018.6.17
大展厅
  • 展览介绍
  • 展出作品
  • 展览现场
  • 视频

尤伦斯当代艺术中心(UCCA)于3月24日至6月17日呈现个展“萨拉·莫里斯:奥德赛”。本次展览在全球范围内首次完整展出艺术家的全部影像作品,并将之置于由绘画、素描和一件专为UCCA大展厅设计的巨幅墙上绘画组成的宏大背景中。这十四部影像作品呈现艺术家对在一系列空间进行的开放性探索,这些空间逐渐成型于对其建筑、主体、情境和日常运转方式的全面概览中;影片被呈现于一组为展览特别设计的、贯穿原为工厂厂房的UCCA大展厅的空间之中。展览名称暗示萨拉·莫里斯创作轨迹也可以十年为计量标准来进行划分,正如特洛伊战争持续了十年,而奥德修斯则漂泊了十年才回到家乡伊萨卡:莫里斯于1998年拍摄其首部作品《中城》,2008年她拍摄了影片《北京》;而在2018年,她回到了这座激发了其创作这部影片与数幅绘画的城市。她的艺术创作过程同样是奥德赛式的,其间充满了无数异国旅行,也历经与试图迫使她改变既定航线的人事权力之间的反复纠缠。

萨拉·莫里斯的绘画与其影像作品齐头并进;艺术家将之称为一枚硬币的两面。这些作品以点、线和角在二维平面上描绘出城市、社会和官僚政治的拓扑图。这些作品并非某种形式的抽象,我们更应将视作“用以描绘已被资本主义改造为一幅抽象画的(关于建筑、社会或经济)可见现实的语汇表”(尼古拉斯·伯瑞奥德语)。在本次展览开幕前,莫里斯将于UCCA创作一幅约9米高、58米宽的特定空间墙上绘画,画作将布满整个展览空间。

与查尔斯·埃姆斯和雷·埃姆斯夫妇一样,莫里斯将对细节的关注与对物理世界的好奇相结合。她成长于后“水门事件”时代盛行的怀疑主义之中,其作品由某种在偏执和否认之间来回摆荡的张力所推动——这也是全盛时期的后现代主义小说中主人公的特征,他们竭力想要看清所处的被过度定义的体系。她的作品中充满这样的怀疑,即日常现实的表面之下实际隐藏着巨大的阴谋。这种认知上的躁动不安最终导致观念源头的崩坏:如果晚期资本主义是一部庞大的剧本,那么真实与虚构之间的界限也被消解了,正如J. G. 巴拉德所言,“外在的真实即是虚构。”

这正是莫里斯于2008年拍摄的影片《1972》的主题。影片的拍摄对象格奥尔格·赛贝尔博士是一名警务心理学家,与莫里斯影片《罗伯特·唐恩》(2007)中的好莱坞编剧一样,他的工作是撰写“剧本场景”——他受国际奥委会雇用,负责预测慕尼黑奥运会的潜在安全威胁。他的“21号场景”设想,“十几名巴勒斯坦武装分子可能会爬上奥运村的围墙,闯入以色列代表团的居所,杀死一两个人质……他们可能会接着要求释放关押在以色列监狱的囚犯,并索要一架飞往阿拉伯世界国家首都的飞机。”现实中发生的事件几乎是这一预见的复现:巴基斯坦非法军事组织“黑色九月”突袭了以色列代表团居住的公寓,杀害数名运动员并劫持了九名人质。在袭击发生后立即辞职的赛贝尔博士还准确预测到这起事件接下来会演变成一场“大屠杀”——慕尼黑警方失败的营救行动导致人质全部遇难,还造成了数名市民和警察的伤亡。

莫里斯的影片作品是不同模块的集合,每部作品都可以被作为独立个体看待,也可以在与其他作品联系构成的语境中进行重联。《1972》《里约》和《北京》都与曾举办奥林匹克运动会的城市有关;《首都》是一部美国执政党的影片,记录了克林顿在白宫处于衰落时期的执政生涯;《阿布扎比》则记录了发源于欧美例外论的资本主义对这种例外论本身的嘲弄。如果一场奥运会是否成功取决于它是否成功展示了财富、权力、国际威望与身份认同感,那么2008年的北京奥运会毫无疑问是历史上最成功的一次盛会。与深陷于股市崩盘和耗费甚多的中东战争泥潭之中的首府华盛顿相比,中国首都史无前例的经济增长似乎暗示着世界权力中心的逐渐东移。不同于里约和慕尼黑奥运会——其“官方核定的场景”被激进主义者、恐怖分子和记者们所破坏殆尽,对好奇而焦虑的西方观众而言,2008年的奥运像是对中国新确立的强大力量的完美展示。事实上,正如乔格·西伯告诉莫里斯的那样,袭击北京是不可能的,“中国的控制能力太强大了。”

然而,莫里斯于中国首都拍摄的时长86分钟的35毫米胶片电影,仍然撼动了西方世界将中国视作某种强大的整体性力量的刻板形象。影片《北京》中,与环形有关的意象反复出现,并相互链接,形成转喻关系:奥运会五环、以紫禁城为中心向外辐射的几条同心环形公路,还有艺术家在试图记录这座正处于意义非凡时刻的城市的过程中,所必须跨越的官僚体制禁锢圈。为获得拍摄权,莫里斯与多方进行了交涉:中国政府;国家体育场的设计师赫尔佐格和皮埃尔·德·梅隆;前瑞士驻华大使乌里·希克——他向国际奥委会推荐了她。经过一系列漫长的协商,国际奥委会同意授予她拍摄许可。她充满偶然和意外的拍摄之路,她与各种口径不一的守卫所进行的周旋,均揭露了游戏背后的复杂性。同样地,影片中有几个最生动的片段是意外捕捉到的:在地铁站发生的一次争吵;排列顺序暗含深意的牌局;基辛格和成龙出乎意料的演讲。影片中最引人注目的场景或许是一群在广场上练习彩带舞的妇女:和莫里斯的所有作品一样,在《北京》中,最寻常的细节在仔细检视之下似乎都蕴含着某些不详的意味。突然之间,色彩鲜艳的布条漩涡似乎变成了另一种环状物,促使观者思考——无论是出于偏执还是好奇,这些转喻链的背后是否有另一双手在操纵。

莫里斯的影片之间遍布着各种联系。展览中的最新影片《有限与无限的游戏》记录了艺术家与曾被法兰克福学派视为代言人的作家、导演亚历山大·克鲁格的对话,他们共同探讨了文化产业中的关键概念与后结构主义“游戏”之间的区别。作品《线上的点》也探讨了这一从现代主义到后现代主义的过渡:影片将密斯·凡·德罗设计的范斯沃斯住宅和菲利普·约翰逊设计的极为相似的玻璃屋并置,使得现代主义关于独创性和著作者的概念更为复杂化。《芝加哥》探索了这座密斯在第二次世界大战期间逃往的城市中的建筑,正是在这里他创立了“新包豪斯”。《洛杉矶》与《1972》和《罗伯特·唐恩》一样展现出对表演的痴迷,并揭示了好莱坞的心理图景和演员们的野心——即便离开了拍摄片场,他们仍在扮演着不同版本的自己。《神奇魔法》的镜头从弗兰克·盖瑞的工作室开始,逐渐转移到巴黎的街道,直至追寻布洛涅森林公园的建筑过程。

从另一种角度来看,莫里斯创作旅途中遇到的挑战也正是她求索的对象。也许这正是她在《有限与无限的游戏》中将艺术家的使命解释为接受“被某种远大于你自身的力量所利用的可能性,即使这会使你的真正意图面目全非”的原因。莫里斯没有像史诗英雄或现代主角一样选择继续向前,而是将目光转向了事物内部,她的作品体现了这样的信念:即便是最为微小的图像、声音或事件,都有可能构成达成理解的关键。

 

关于展览

展览“萨拉·莫里斯:奥德赛”由VISPRING提供支持,由真力GENELEC 提供独家展览音响设备支持,由寺库生活提供特别支持。

 

关于艺术家

萨拉·莫里斯1967年出生于英国,现工作、生活于纽约。其作品曾于芬兰埃斯波现代艺术博物馆(2017)、奥地利维也纳美术馆(2016)、比利时鲁汶M博物馆(2015)、德国不莱梅美术馆(2013)、美国俄亥俄州立大学卫克斯那艺术中心(哥伦布,2012)、德国北莱茵-威斯特法伦州艺术品收藏馆(杜塞尔多夫,2010)、法兰克福现代艺术博物馆(2009)、意大利博洛尼亚现代艺术博物馆(2009)、德国伦巴赫之家市立博物馆(慕尼黑,2008)、瑞士贝耶勒基金会美术馆(巴塞尔,2008)、荷兰博伊曼斯·范伯宁恩美术馆(鹿特丹,2006)、奥地利格拉茨现代美术馆(2005)、巴黎东京宫(2005)、斯德哥尔摩当代美术馆(2005)、哥本哈根艺术协会(2004)、汉堡车站美术馆(柏林,2001)、苏黎世艺术博物馆(2000)、牛津现代艺术博物馆(1999)等艺术机构展出;她也参加了圣保罗双年展(2002)和泰特三年展(2003)。其作品也被蓬皮杜艺术文化中心、古根海姆博物馆、纽约现代艺术博物馆、法兰克福现代艺术博物馆、新汉堡车站美术馆(柏林)、阿姆斯特丹市立博物馆、旧金山现代艺术博物馆和泰特现代艺术馆等机构收藏。

 

票务信息

扫描下方二维码购票:

170 170

*UCCA春季三展通票使用时间:2018年3月24日 – 2018年5月27日。

 

下载“萨拉·莫里斯:奥德赛”新闻稿。

展出作品
 / 2 1
    • 萨拉·莫里斯
    • 《北京》(静帧)
    • 2008
    • 高清影像
    • 84分47秒
    • 萨拉·莫里斯
    • 《北京》(静帧)
    • 2008
    • 高清影像
    • 84分47秒
    • 萨拉·莫里斯
    • 《北京》(静帧)
    • 2008
    • 高清影像
    • 84分47秒
    • 萨拉·莫里斯
    • 《炼金药·阿布扎比》
    • 2017
    • 布面家用光泽涂料
    • 214 x 214 cm
    • 萨拉·莫里斯
    • 《控制塔·阿布扎比》
    • 2017
    • 布面家用光泽涂料
    • 214 x 214 cm
  •  
  •  
  •  
展览现场
视频
  • “萨拉·莫里斯:奥德赛”预告片
    05’19’’
  •  
  •  
  •