×
loading...
Picasso – Birth of a Genius
2019.6.15 - 2019.9.1
Great Hall
  • About
  • Exhibition Works
  • Installation Views
  • Related Programs
  • Videos

Between June 15 and September 1, 2019, UCCA Center for Contemporary Art, Beijing, presents “Picasso – Birth of a Genius,” the most significant exhibition of work by Pablo Picasso (1881-1973) ever to take place in China. The exhibition, which offers a comprehensive overview of the first three decades of Picasso’s career, includes 103 works drawn entirely from the collection of the Musée national Picasso-Paris, which trace Picasso’s development from childhood to middle age. Curated by Emilia Philippot, Head of Collections, Musée national Picasso-Paris, the exhibition has been conceived and organized specifically for this presentation at UCCA and in China, and includes 34 paintings, 14 sculptures, and 55 works on paper. Taken together, this selection of works, predominantly realized between 1893 and 1921, tells the story of the creative formation and evolution of the most daring, original, and prolific talent in the history of modern art.

The three decades under consideration were a period of artistic discovery and ferment for the young Picasso, whose style underwent numerous changes: from the academic realism of his student days to his post-war return to classical style; from the alternately somber and carnivalesquemotifs of the Blue and Rose periods to the primitivist explorations which ultimately led to the multiple phases of Cubism. Rather than rigidly separating Picasso’s work into different thematic sections, the exhibition seeks to reaffirm the coexistence of seemingly contradictory languages in his creative process, and to highlight the lived realities behind them.

“Picasso – Birth of a Genius” is organized in six chapters: “The First Picasso,” which accounts for the artist’s artistic upbringing, when he produced works such as Man in a Cap (1895) and Study of a Torso, After a Plaster Cast (1893-1894); “Picasso Blue and Rose,” during which he advanced from imitating Post-Impressionist masters to develop a truly original style, resulting in works like The Jester (1905) and Two Brothers(1906); “Picasso the Exorcist,” which saw his revolutionary experiments with form and space, producing artworks like Self-portrait (1906) and preparing his masterpiece, Les Demoiselles d’Avignon (Museum of Modern Art, New York, 1907); “Picasso the Cubist,” a period when he wrought an elaborate system of signs, producing works such as Man with a Mandolin (1911) and Man with Fireplace (1916); “Picasso the Chameleon,” which marked the artist’s turn towards classical revivalism, creating works such as The Lovers (1919) and Studies (1920), as well as designing the sets, costumes, and curtain for the Ballets Russes production of Le Tricorne (1919); and a final section which includes several notable paintings and sculptures done between 1927 and 1972, giving a sense of how Picasso’s creative idiom, developed during the period under consideration in the exhibition, informed his later practice.

The exhibition unfolds throughout UCCA’s 1800-square-meter Great Hall,with exhibition design by Studio Adrien Gardère (SAG). This design features a set of monumental beveled and chamfered boxes, pacing and differentiating the diverse themes brought together in the show. Through a game of openings and slots revealing unexpected perspectives and surprises, the exhibition design invites the audience on a rhythmic journey through Picasso’s evolution as an artist, and fosters an infinite conversation in which the works are perpetually reinvented by visitors’ movements. Large-scale prints of Picasso’s portraits and images of his studios underscore each box as a reminder of the artist’s life and times.

This exhibition grows out of a recognition of the importance of cultural and artistic exchange between France and China at the highest levels, and constitutes an important component of the 2019 Festival Croisements. As French Prime Minister Edouard Philippe has highlighted to Premier Li Keqiang during their meeting on June 25, 2018, the exhibition represents a significant contribution to the bilateral cultural dialogue between China and France. It echoes President of the French Republic Emmanuel Macron’s wish, pronounced during his state visit to China in January 2018, to see more exhibitions from major French museums come to China, and from Chinese museums to France. On March 25, 2019, President of the People’s Republic of China Xi Jinping met with Macron at the Élysée, and expressed the need for increasing cooperation between the citizens and governments of France and China in the field of art and culture. Xi stressed the need to promote extensive bilateral exchange in the humanities, and to increase dialogue with regard to culture, tourism, language, and region, reaching out to younger audiences in particular, and designated 2021 as the year of Sino-French cultural tourism.

President Macron added, “Our cooperation in the cultural field is experiencing an unprecedented dynamism… Great projects are being undertaken, such as the biggest exhibition of Picasso’s works in China this year, and the cooperation between Versailles and the Forbidden City… We have decided that 2021 will be the year of cultural tourism between our two countries, and, I must say, all these initiatives, conceived in recent months and carried out together, are not a coincidence. They reflect a common state of mind, that of rediscovering the essence of our bond, and the bedrock on which our mutual understanding is built.”

For the Musée national Picasso-Paris, the exhibition marks the most substantive presentation of its collection—which includes 5,000 art works and more than 200,000 archival objects—in China to date, and the first since Laurent Le Bon assumed the directorship in 2014. “We are pleased with this new stage in the international cooperation policy led by the Musée national Picasso-Paris,” LeBon has noted.

UCCA Director and CEO Philip Tinari has said, “For UCCA, this exhibition marks the realization of a dream we have held since our opening in 2007, to present not only recent developments in contemporary art but to examine the underpinnings of the contemporary by showing modern masters. We believe that the story of Picasso is relevant to our audience in China, as individuals here continue to answer the challenges of creativity, originality, and innovation.”

Visitor and Ticketing Information

“Picasso – Birth of a Genius” is continuously on display from June 15 to September 1, 2019. Exhibition opening hours are Monday to Thursday, 10:00 – 19:00 with last entry at 18:30, and Friday to Sunday, 10:00 – 21:00, with last entry at 20:30. On June 15, 16, and 29, July 19 and 20, and August 24, opening hours will be 10:00 – 19:00, with last entry at 18:30.

Tickets are available at UCCA’s front desk and official WeChat account. Adult tickets valid for one-time admission Monday to Sunday, including holidays, are available for RMB 188; adult tickets for one-time admission Monday to Friday, not including holidays, are available for RMB 158; and student tickets for one-time admission are available for RMB 138. UCCA Members are eligible for free admission and access to a Member’s Lane for express entry during periods of high traffic.

Please scan the QR code to purchase tickets

毕加索170

Sponsorship and Support

“Picasso – Birth of a Genius” is made possible by generous sponsorship from Morgan Stanley, Sotheby’s, artistic partner Marie Dalgar, and ShedeSpirits Co., Ltd. UCCA thanks collaborators TMALL Culture, the China Women’s Development Foundation “Mom Handmade” charity program, WILLIAMISM, and YLYK for their support. Children’s educational programs for this exhibition are made possible by Asia Ying’s Baby World Limited and YeeHoO Children Growth Foundation, with further generous support from TMALL. BenQ provides film projection support. HongriLighting provides exclusive lighting equipment support. Focus Media provides national advertising support. Accommodation and event support come from NUO Hotel Beijing(www.nuohotel.com). Transportation support comes from D-Lux Travel. Exclusive support for environmentally friendly wall solutions comes from Dulux. UCCA also thanks the members of the UCCA Foundation Council, the UCCA Contemporary Circle, the UCCA Young Associates, and Strategic Partners Bloomberg and Aranya for their support.

Online ticketing platform support for “Picasso – Birth of a Genius” is provided by Damai, Meituan, Maoyan, Dianping, and Moretickets. Thanks to Tencent Video Art Channel, Ergeng TV, and luckin coffee for their special support.

Partners and Collaborators

“Picasso – Birth of a Genius” is presented in collaboration with Muséenational Picasso-Paris.

The exhibition is made possible through the support of the French Embassy in China. As an important part of Festival Croisements 2019, the exhibition has received support from numerous French and Chinese national institutions; by presenting a selection of important work by one of the twentieth century’s preeminent artists, who spent much of his life in France, UCCA hopes to promote the cultural and artistic exchange between these two countries.

Festival Croisements is the major cultural event of the French Embassy in China.

The first foreign festival in China, Festival Croisements has built up over the years a strong identity expressed in its artistic, ambitious and innovative choices. Its programming showcases singular works and artists, from France and China, in all artistic disciplines, including visual arts, performing arts, music, cinema, literature, and ideas. The recognition acquired from the general public and cultural partners over fourteeneditions enables it today to make live and resound this intercultural dialogue in more than thirty cities in China and on the international scene, within the framework of important collaborations.

www.faguowenhua.com

The exhibition is organized with the support of the art and culture agency Doors门艺. Founded in 2017 by Bérénice Angremy and Victoria Jonathan, Doors is a Franco-Chinese agency specialized in the production and promotion of art and culture. Through creative projects and innovative events, their goal is to open doors and facilitate cultural exchange between China and Europe. Doors has also contributed to the exhibition’s supporting public programs, in particular the performance PEPI, specially commissioned from I Could Never Be A Dancer to pay tribute to Picasso’s Mediterranean roots and the choreographic forms that inspired him. Recent Doors projects include Xiamen’s Jimei x Arles photo festival, and collaborations with Centre Pompidou, Philharmonie de Paris, Jeu de Paume, Lille World Design Capital, and Fondation Henri Cartier-Bresson.

www.doors-agency.com

The exhibition is designed by Studio Adrien Gardère (SAG). Founded in 2000, SAG has continually worked towards a comprehensive, integrated approach in its practice, and has been met with international success in projects ranging from permanent museum and temporary exhibition design to product design. SAG has collaborated and established long-lasting relationships with major institutions, architects, and private entities all around the world.

www.studiogardere.com

Special Programs

In conjunction with the exhibition, UCCA presents four weekends of public programs including panel discussions along with performing artsand cinema events. This ongoing series, titled “Adventures with Picasso,” seeks to introduce audiences to the life and work of the artist in a variety of different formats. Academics will introduce Picasso from every angle, including through the “Picasso in China” forum, which will analyze Picasso’s relationship with China through lectures and discussions on June 15. Further academic programs include the panel “Picasso’s South” on June 29, featuring José Lebrero Stals, the artistic director of Museo Picasso Málaga, and the poet Xi Chuan, amongst others, reflecting on the Mediterranean character of the artist’s oeuvre. Pianist Gao Ping, choreographic duo I Could Never Be A Dancer, and 3C (Creative Composers Collective) will present original works inspired by Picasso’s paintings and his collaborations in the worlds of dance and theater, on June 29, July 20, and August 24, respectively. At the same time, a series of films related to Picasso will give audience members a glimpse of this artistic master’s life story. For detailed information, please visit www.ucca.org.cn/programs

Throughout the run of the show, UCCA’s philanthropic arm, UCCA Foundation, will offer a series of specially designed children’s education programs. All proceeds from guided tours for young visitors and a special commemorative packet of art supplies will be used to support UCCAFoundation’s projects bringing access to art and education to underserved populations around China.

Taking inspiration from Picasso’s creative development, UCCA’s renowned art-education initiative UCCA Kids will offer a series of five workshops. Structured around the themes “Happy Young Artists” (June 15 and 16), “The Colors of Emotion: Rose and Blue” (June 22 and 23),“Ancient Art” (June 29 and 30), “New Dimensions in Painting” (July 6 and 7), and “Picasso on Stage” (June 13 and 14), the workshops utilize the story of Picasso’s personal growth as an artist to trace the journey from childhood innocence, to the explorations of youth, to maturity and an artistic breakthrough. Space is limited; please call +8610 5780 0202/03 ahead of time to book.

Picasso – Birth of a Genius Exhibition Catalogue

This bilingual (Chinese-English) book includes an original essay by curator Emilia Philippot which expands on the argument made in the exhibition, and another by art historian Wu Xueshan that explores Picasso’s enduring legacy in China. Edited by UCCA and published by the Culture and Art Publishing House, it also includes caption information and full-color images of all 103 artworks exhibited, as well as an extensive chronology and bibliography. The catalogue can be purchased at UCCA or online at UCCA’s store on JD.com. The retail price is RMB 268.

Exhibition Merchandise

To celebrate this exhibition, UCCA Store has launched a line of products to accompany “Picasso – Birth of a Genius,” officially licensed by the Picasso Administration, the representative of the Picasso Estate. The range of products, which will be available in the newly renovated UCCA Store, includes canvas bags, notebooks, and t-shirts, as well as commemorative prints, posters, and notecards.

UCCA Summer Party

On July 19, UCCA will host the first edition of the UCCA Summer Party, a new annual fundraising event that serves as the summer counterpart to the UCCA Gala held each November. The Summer Party gathers art lovers from all fields to show their support for UCCA’s mission and programs, while celebrating the individuals and corporations that have made significant contributions to UCCA. The evening program will include special access to the exhibition and the world premiere of the specially commissioned performance PEPI by the choreographic duo I Could Never Be A Dancer, which pays vivid homage to Picasso’s Mediterranean roots, fusing flamenco and acrobatics. Featuring great food, drink, and music, the UCCA Summer Party is sure to be an evening to remember. For more information or to purchase tickets (RMB 888), please contact Li Lin at lin.li@ucca.org.cn.

About Musée national Picasso-Paris

Musée Picasso’s considerable collection was established after two donations made through “acceptance in lieu,” an alternative to inheritance tax, by Picasso’s heirs in 1979, and later by the heirs of his widow, Jacqueline, in 1990. This is the first major endeavor that the Musée Picasso will have undertaken in China since its institutional revitalization in 2014, under the leadership of new director Laurent Le Bon, and his novel curatorial framework.

www.museepicassoparis.fr

Conditions for the reproduction of Pablo Picasso’s works

Download “Picasso – Birth of a Genius” press release.

 

  • Pablo Picasso
  • Studies
  • 1920
  • Oil on canvas
  • 100 x 81 cm
  • Musée national Picasso-Paris
  • © Succession Picasso 2019
Works in the Exhibition
 / 4 1
    • Pablo Picasso
    • Academic Study of a Plaster after the Antique
    • La Coruna, 1893-94
    • Fusain and black pencil on paper
    • 49 x 31.5 cm
    • Musée national Picasso-Paris
    • © Succession Picasso 2019
    • Pablo Picasso
    • Self-portrait
    • Paris, end of 1901
    • Oil on canvas
    • 81 x 60 cm
    • Musée national Picasso-Paris
    • © Succession Picasso 2019
    • Pablo Picasso
    • The Two Brothers
    • Gósol, summer 1906
    • Gouache on cardboard
    • 80 x 59 cm
    • Musée national Picasso-Paris
    • © Succession Picasso 2019
    • Pablo Picasso
    • Study for Les Demoiselles d’Avignon: Head of the Young Woman Squatting
    • Paris, June – July 1907
    • Gouache on paper
    • 63 x 48 cm
    • Musée national Picasso-Paris
    • © Succession Picasso 2019
    • Pablo Picasso
    • Mother and Child
    • Paris, summer 1907
    • Oil on canvas
    • 81 x 60 cm
    • Musée national Picasso-Paris
    • © Succession Picasso 2019
    • Pablo Picasso
    • Three Figures Beneath a Tree
    • Paris, winter 1907-08
    • Oil on canvas
    • 99 x 99 cm
    • Musée national Picasso-Paris
    • © Succession Picasso 2019
    • Pablo Picasso
    • Violin and Music Sheets
    • Paris, autumn 1912
    • Papers cut and glued on cardboard
    • 78 x 63.5 cm
    • Musée national Picasso-Paris
    • © Succession Picasso 2019
    • Pablo Picasso
    • Man Beside Fireplace
    • Paris, 1916
    • Oil on canvas
    • 130 x 81 cm
    • Musée national Picasso-Paris
    • © Succession Picasso 2019
    • Pablo Picasso
    • Studies
    • 1920
    • Oil on canvas
    • 100 x 81 cm
    • Musée national Picasso-Paris
    • © Succession Picasso 2019
    • Pablo Picasso
    • The Village Dance
    • Paris, 1922
    • Fixed pastel and oil on canvas
    • 139.5 x 85.5 cm
    • Musée national Picasso-Paris
    • © Succession Picasso 2019
    • Pablo Picasso
    • Reading
    • Boisgeloup, January 2, 1932
    • Oil on canvas
    • 130 x 97.5 cm
    • Musée national Picasso-Paris
    • © Succession Picasso 2019
    • Pablo Picasso
    • Head of Woman
    • Cannes, 1957
    • Painted and cut wood
    • 78.5 x 34 x 36 cm
    • Musée national Picasso-Paris
    • © Succession Picasso 2019
    • Pablo Picasso
    • The Kiss
    • Mougins, October 26, 1969
    • Oil on canvas
    • 97 x 130 cm
    • Musée national Picasso-Paris
    • © Succession Picasso 2019
  •  
  •  
  •  
Installation Views
Related Programs
    • 2019.6.15
      “Adventures with Picasso” Series
      Session One
      10:00-21:30
      Auditorium
    • 2019.6.16
      “Adventures with Picasso” Series
      A Great Painter’s Cartoon Life
      15:00-16:30
      Auditorium
    • 2019.6.29
      “Adventures with Picasso” Series
      Session Two
      14:00-20:00
    • 2019.7.20
      “Adventures with Picasso” Series Session 3
      13:00-22:00
Videos
  • Picasso – Birth of a Genius
    4′51″
  •  
  •  
  •

×
loading...
毕加索——一位天才的诞生
2019.6.15 - 2019.9.1
大展厅
  • 展览介绍
  • 展出作品
  • 展览现场
  • 相关公共项目
  • 视频

北京UCCA尤伦斯当代艺术中心2019年6月15日至9月1日期间,呈现中国迄今为止最为重要的巴勃罗·毕加索(1881-1973)作品展“毕加索——一位天才的诞生”。展览基于国立巴黎毕加索博物馆的馆藏,从中精心挑选出103件作品,全面回顾毕加索创作生涯的前三十年,力求呈现出毕加索从早期到中期的艺术成长经历。此次展览由国立巴黎毕加索博物馆藏品总监艾米利娅·菲利普策划,并专为此次在中国于UCCA的呈现而进行构思设计与组织,囊括34件绘画、14件雕塑以及55件纸上作品。这些创作于1893至1921年间的作品,共同展示了这位现代艺术史上最为大胆、最具原创性、最为多产的天才——毕加索的艺术创作的形成与演变过程。

展览作品涵盖其早期的全部代表性阶段,展览中所呈现的三十年则涵盖了青年毕加索的艺术发现与酝酿时期,其风格经历了从学徒时代的学院派现实主义,到战后向古典风格的回归;从蓝色时期和粉色时期交替出现的忧郁和情感相关主题,到他具有开创性的原始主义探索等诸多变化。与惯常将毕加索的艺术生涯简化为一系列严格定义和相互封闭的创作时期的策展方式有所不同,此次展览在不同创作阶段之间保留了开放性和穿越性的视角,由此呈现同时存在于毕加索身上多种看似矛盾的艺术语言,也使观众得以体察这些艺术风格转变背后的历史与个人生活现实。

“毕加索——一位天才的诞生”划分为六个不同章节:“早期毕加索”聚焦于毕加索自童年时期开始的创作及艺术家早期受到的影响,在这一阶段,他创作了《戴帽子的男人》(1895)和《古典雕塑石膏像写生习作》(1893-1894);在“蓝色和粉色毕加索”阶段,艺术家放弃模仿前辈的后印象派绘画风格,转而塑造真正意义上最早的个人风格,并逐渐确立了最初的艺术身份,其作品包括《疯子》(1905)和《兄弟俩》(1906);“驱魔人毕加索:《阿维尼翁的少女》的革命”展现了艺术家简化形式和空间的探索,在寻找、发明新的艺术语言的过程中,他创作了《自画像》(1906)等作品,并孕育杰作《阿维尼翁的少女》(纽约现代艺术博物馆,1907),开启了一场彻底改变二十世纪艺术的革命;“立体主义者毕加索”中,艺术家对“标志物”等符号元素的运用催生出了立体派作品,如《弹曼陀林的男子》(1911)和《壁炉旁的男人》(1916);“多变毕加索”着眼于艺术家对古典的致敬、引用与革新,《恋人》(1919)、《习作》(1920)等作均展现出毕加索独特的艺术探索,艺术家为俄罗斯芭蕾舞团出品的舞剧《三角帽》(1919)设计的舞台布景、服装和幕布亦在这一部分中呈现;展览的最后部分展示了艺术家1927年至1972年较为晚期的一系列杰出绘画和雕塑作品,这些作品清晰地展示了毕加索青年时期的艺术实验所产生的影响,亦勾勒出贯穿他创作生涯的主题与基本原则。

展览于UCCA面积1800平方米的大展厅内呈现,阿德里安·卡迪工作室(Studio Adrien Gardère)为展览特别设计了一组半开放式的盒状空间,使展览各章节主题得以错落有致地呈现。这些开口与空隙为观众提供了意想不到的视角和惊喜;展览设计邀请观众踏上一段探索毕加索艺术生涯发展的旅程,并孕育出一段无限的开放性对话,作品也在这一过程中经由观众的动态而被永久重塑。多幅毕加索的印刷肖像和关于艺术家工作室的图像更突显了每个盒状空间所对应的艺术家创作阶段。

此次展览起源于对中法两国最高层次文化艺术交流重要性的共识,也是2019年“中法文化之春”系列活动的重要组成部分。法国总理爱德华·菲利普于2018年6月25日会见李克强总理时强调,此次展览与中法两国的文化关系相契合。这与法国总统埃马纽埃尔·马克龙去年1月访华时所表达的愿望相一致;马克龙总统曾表示,他希望更多的法国重要美术馆能来到中国举办展览,更多中国的美术馆展览也能来到法国。2019年3月25日,国家主席习近平在巴黎爱丽舍宫同马克龙总统会谈时表示,中法在人文交流方面,既要畅通政府间合作的“主渠道”,也要丰富民间交往的“涓涓细流”,要充分发挥中法高级别人文交流机制的统筹协调作用,加强文化、旅游、语言、青年、地方等领域合作,在2021年互办中法文化旅游年。

马克龙总统则说:“中法两国在文化领域内的合作前所未有的活跃:蓬皮杜上海和罗丹美术馆深圳项目正在落实,其他的大型文化项目在筹备,其中包括今年将举行的中国有史以来规模最大的毕加索展览、凡尔赛宫和故宫的合作等。我们也决定将2021年作为中法文化旅游年。能够在这几个月达成这些合作成果并非偶然,这体现了我们共同的意向,希望找到联结我们的关键纽带,奠定互相理解的基石。”

对于国立巴黎毕加索博物馆来说,此次展览标志着其藏品在中国迄今为止最丰富全面的展示,这也是洛朗·勒邦自2014年出任馆长以来的首次北京展览。他“为由国立巴黎毕加索博物馆领导的国际合作政策进入新阶段而感到高兴”

UCCA馆长兼CEO田霏宇表示:“对于UCCA而言,此次展览标志着我们实现了自2007年创办以来即秉持的一个梦想,我们不仅展示当代艺术的最新发展动向,而且通过展示现代大师的创作,来审视当代艺术的根基。我们相信,毕加索的故事与我们中国的观众是相关的,因为这里的独立个体仍在继续应对创造力、独特性和革新性的挑战。”

 

票务信息

“毕加索——一位天才的诞生”于2019年6月15日至9月1日期间持续对公众开放。展览开放时间为:周一至周四10:00-19:00,最后入场时间为18:30;周五至周日10:00-21:00,最后入场时间为20:30。6月15日、16日、29日,7月19日、20日和8月24日,展览开放时间为10:00-19:00,最后入场时间为18:30。

观众可于UCCA前台购买展览门票,亦可通过UCCA官方微信平台购票。周一至周日(含节假日)成人单次入场票价为188元;周一至周五(非节假日)成人单次入场票价为158元;学生单次入场票价为138元。UCCA会员可免费观展,并在观展高峰期使用快速会员通道优先入场。

购票请扫描下方二维码

毕加索170

 

赞助与支持

展览“毕加索——一位天才的诞生”由摩根士丹利、苏富比、艺术跨界合作伙伴玛丽黛佳以及舍得酒业股份有限公司提供慷慨支持,感谢合作伙伴天猫新文创、中国妇女发展基金会“妈妈制造”公益项目、WILLIAMISM、友邻优课的支持。展览的儿童教育项目由英氏婴童用品有限公司及英氏儿童成长基金会、天猫商城提供慷慨支持。展览由明基BenQ提供影像解决方案,红日照明提供专业照明设备支持。分众传媒提供全国广告宣传支持。本次展览的住宿与相关活动由北京诺金酒店(www.nuohotel.com)倾情支持,展览出行由谛珞轲旅游咨询有限公司支持。美术馆环保墙面解决方案由多乐士独家呈现。UCCA同样感谢尤伦斯艺术基金会理事会、尤伦斯当代委员会和UCCA Young Associates成员,以及UCCA战略合作伙伴彭博、阿那亚的支持。

“毕加索——一位天才的诞生”展览合作售票平台为大麦、美团、猫眼演出、大众点评及摩天轮票务,感谢三联中读、腾讯视频艺术频道、二更及luckin coffee为本次展览提供特别支持。

合作伙伴与合作方

本展览与国立巴黎毕加索博物馆合作举办。

本次展览获得了法国驻中国大使馆的大力支持。作为2019年“中法文化之春”系列活动的重要组成部分,本次展览也得到了许多法国与中国国家机构的支持;通过在中国呈现这位于法国度过了一生中大多数时光的二十世纪天才艺术家的重要作品,UCCA将进一步推动围绕着伟大的艺术作品而进行的文化交流与对话。

作为在华规模最大的外国艺术节,“中法文化之春”以其高品质、重创新的项目树立起独特的文化品牌。每年春夏,来自中法两国的艺术家带来多元的文化大餐,从视觉艺术,舞蹈、戏剧、音乐、电影,到文学和思辨,不一而足。创立十四年,中法文化之春在中国观众和文化机构中间搭建起了推动国际文化交流与合作的平台。www.faguowenhua.com

本次展览由Doors门艺文化公司支持呈现。门艺是一家由黎静(Bérénice Angremy)和零零(Victoria Jonathan)于2017年创立的中法合资机构,专门从事艺术与文化的出品和推广。通过创意项目和创新活动,他们希冀打开中国与欧洲之间的大门,促进两者的文化交流。门艺同样为展览相关公共项目的举办进行了协助,尤其是邀请“I Could Never Be A Dancer”组合的两位艺术家进行特别委任创作,呈现一场向地中海和激发了画家灵感的舞蹈形式致敬的演出《Pepi》。门艺的近期项目包括厦门集美x阿尔勒摄影节,以及与蓬皮杜中心、巴黎爱乐乐团、保罗青年、里尔世界设计之都和亨利·卡蒂埃·布列松基金会开展的合作。

www.doors-agency.com

本次展览由阿德里安·卡迪工作室(SAG)设计。自2000年成立以来,阿德里安·卡迪工作室(SAG)一直致力于在实践中采用全面、综合的方法,在从永久美术馆和限时展览设计到产品设计等项目领域均获得了国际性的成功。SAG与世界各地的重要机构、建筑师和企业开展合作,并与之建立了长期的友好关系。

www.studiogardere.com

特别项目

在“毕加索:一个天才的诞生”展览期间的4个周末,UCCA推出系列活动“奇异旅程毕加索”,以“对谈”“影像艺术交流”“表演艺术交流”三种活动形式,丰富UCCA观众的文化生活之旅,全面、立体地介绍这位伟大艺术家的生平和创作。6月15日,“毕加索在中国”系列将通过学者演讲的形式,全面诠释毕加索与中国的关系;6月29日,学术圆桌会议“毕加索的南方”邀请马拉加毕加索博物馆艺术总监何塞·雷布罗·斯塔勒斯、艺术史教授欧亨尼奥·卡尔莫纳以及诗人西川,集中讨论毕加索的地中海性格;“I Could Never Be A Dancer”双人组、高平、3C艺术音乐组合将以毕加索的绘画及其参与的戏剧为灵感进行创作,分别于6月15日、29日,7月20日和8月24日呈现;同时,一系列与毕加索相关的珍贵影像资料也能帮助观众对这位艺术大师的个人历史进行直观的把握。更多详细信息,请访问:

www.ucca.org.cn/programs

展览期间,UCCA基金会精心策划一系列儿童艺术教育公益项目,这些儿童艺术活动围绕本次展览中的毕加索作品与实践展开,为孩子们创造出通过探索不断进行深入学习的文化氛围。公益课程和材料包所得的全部收益将悉数用于支持针对艺术教育尚未触达的儿童群体展开的艺术教育普及工作。

受到毕加索创作的发展历程启发,UCCA儿童艺术中心(UCCA Kids)将于毕加索展览期间推出一系列艺术工作坊,共分为五个主题:“快乐的小画家”(6月15日、16日)、“情绪的色彩—粉与蓝”(6月22日、23日)、“古老文明的启示”(6月29日、30日)、“重塑绘画的维度”(7月6日、7日)和“走进毕加索的舞台世界”(7月13日、14日)。展览相关艺术工作坊以个人成长的发展规律为线索,聚焦艺术家从童年、少年时期的天真烂漫,到青年时期的探索、逐渐成熟并再次突破的创作历程。工作坊参加名额有限,请致电+8610 5780 0202/03提前预定。

“毕加索——一位天才的诞生”展览画册

展览中英双语图录收录一篇策展人艾米利娅·菲利普就本次策展主题进行拓展讨论的原创论文,一篇中央美术学院吴雪杉教授关于毕加索在中国接受史的原创研究论文。展览图录由UCCA编辑,由文化艺术出版社出版,包含103张展出作品的高清彩色图片,以及一份详细的艺术家年表和参考书目。展览图录可于UCCA现场购买,亦可于UCCA京东线上商店(JD.com)购买。图录零售价为每本人民币268元。

展览衍生品

展览期间,UCCA商店推出“毕加索——一位天才的诞生”艺术衍生品,此系列获得了法国毕加索基金会的正版官方授权。展览衍生品将于新的UCCA商店同步上线,包含帆布袋、笔记本、T恤等,同时也有包括具有纪念意义和艺术感的海报、艺术卡片、桌面霓虹灯等。

UCCA Summer Party

2019年7月19日,UCCA将首次举办与UCCA Gala共同属于年度筹款活动的仲夏夜派对——UCCA Summer Party。与UCCA Gala性质相同,Summer Party旨在号召热爱艺术的各界友人及支持者为UCCA的运营和公益项目筹款,同时答谢为UCCA捐赠重要资源的个人和企业。2019 UCCA Summer Party围绕毕加索大展,以毕加索出生及成长地地中海沿岸为灵感,特邀驰名世界的著名舞蹈创意团队I Could Never Be A Dancer于全世界范围内首发名为“PEPI”的大型互动表演,通过弗拉明戈舞、爵士和杂技重现一场带有地中海风情的视听盛宴。如需更多信息或购买门票(人民币888元),请联系李琳:lin.li@ucca.org.cn

关于国立巴黎毕加索博物馆

国立巴黎毕加索博物馆内可观的馆藏得益于1979年和1990年的两次代税捐赠,它们分别来自于艺术家本人的继承人和其遗孀的继承人。本次展览是国立巴黎毕加索博物馆在其2014年的机构振兴之后,于新任馆长洛朗·勒邦及其新策展框架的领导之下,在中国进行的首次主要尝试。

http://www.museepicassoparis.fr

点击阅读巴勃罗·毕加索作品图片的使用规范条例。

下载“毕加索——一位天才的诞生”新闻稿。

  • 巴勃罗·毕加索
  • 《习作》
  • 1920
  • 100 x 81 cm
  • 国立巴黎毕加索美术馆
  • © Succession Picasso 2019
展出作品
 / 4 1
    • 巴勃罗·毕加索
    • 《古代石膏像素描习作》
    • 拉科鲁尼亚,1893-1894
    • 纸上炭笔和黑色蜡笔画
    • 49 x 31.5 cm
    • 国立巴黎毕加索博物馆
    • © Succession Picasso 2019
    • 巴勃罗·毕加索
    • 《自画像》
    • 巴黎,1901年末
    • 布面油画
    • 81 x 60 cm
    • 国立巴黎毕加索博物馆
    • © Succession Picasso 2019
    • 巴勃罗·毕加索
    • 《兄弟俩》
    • 戈索尔,1906年夏
    • 纸板水粉画
    • 80 x 59 cm
    • 国立巴黎毕加索博物馆
    • © Succession Picasso 2019
    • 巴勃罗·毕加索
    • 《〈阿维尼翁的少女〉习作:蹲下的女子头像》
    • 巴黎,1907年6月至7月
    • 纸上水粉画
    • 63 x 48 cm
    • 国立巴黎毕加索博物馆
    • © Succession Picasso 2019
    • 巴勃罗·毕加索
    • 《母与子》
    • 巴黎,1907年夏
    • 布面油画
    • 81 x 60 cm
    • 国立巴黎毕加索博物馆
    • © Succession Picasso 2019
    • 巴勃罗·毕加索
    • 《树下三人》
    • 巴黎,1907年冬至1908年
    • 布面油画
    • 99 x 99 cm
    • 国立巴黎毕加索博物馆
    • © Succession Picasso 2019
    • 巴勃罗·毕加索
    • 《壁炉旁的男人》
    • 巴黎,1916
    • 布面油画
    • 130 x 81 cm
    • 国立巴黎毕加索博物馆
    • © Succession Picasso 2019
    • 巴勃罗·毕加索
    • 《习作》
    • 1920
    • 布面油画
    • 100 x 81 cm
    • 国立巴黎毕加索博物馆
    • © Succession Picasso 2019
    • 巴勃罗·毕加索
    • 《小提琴与乐谱》
    • 巴黎,1912年秋
    • 纸板纸质拼贴画
    • 78 x 63.5 cm
    • 国立巴黎毕加索博物馆
    • © Succession Picasso 2019
    • 巴勃罗·毕加索
    • 《乡村舞蹈》
    • 巴黎,1922
    • 布面固定色粉与油彩画
    • 139.5 x 85.5 cm
    • 国立巴黎毕加索博物馆
    • © Succession Picasso 2019
    • 巴勃罗·毕加索
    • 《阅读》
    • 波格鲁,1932年1月2日
    • 布面油画
    • 130 x 97.5 cm
    • 国立巴黎毕加索博物馆
    • © Succession Picasso 2019
    • 巴勃罗·毕加索
    • 《女子头像》
    • 戛纳,1957
    • 彩绘切割木料
    • 78.5 x 34 x 36 cm
    • 国立巴黎毕加索博物馆
    • © Succession Picasso 2019
    • 巴勃罗·毕加索
    • 《吻》
    • 穆然,1969年10月26日
    • 布面油画
    • 97 x 130 cm
    • 国立巴黎毕加索博物馆
    • © Succession Picasso 2019
  •  
  •  
  •  
展览现场
相关公共项目
    • 2019.6.15
      “奇异旅程毕加索”系列
      第一期 对话与影像艺术交流
      10:00-21:30
      UCCA报告厅
    • 2019.6.16
      “奇异旅程毕加索”系列
      大画家的漫画人生
      15:00-16:30
      UCCA报告厅
    • 2019.6.29
      “奇异旅程毕加索”系列
      第二期 对话、影像与表演艺术交流
      14:00-20:00
    • 2019.7.20
      “奇异旅程毕加索”系列
      第三期 表演与影像艺术交流
      13:00-22:00
视频
  • “毕加索——一位天才的诞生”开幕现场回顾
    4′51″
  •  
  •  
  •