×
loading...
New Directions: Yang Luzi
2018.6.9 - 2018.8.12
New Gallery
  • About
  • Exhibition Works
  • Installation Views
  • Related Programs
  • Videos

UCCA is proud to present “New Directions: Yang Luzi,” running from June 9 to August 12 in the New Gallery. The exhibition includes two bodies of work: “A Great Empire Needs Great Colors,” a series of black-and-white films comprising The Oracle is the Mouthpiece, Le Yeti, and Spirit Away Temple, all produced in 2016; and the color film What Miracles Took Place When You Were Born, shot in 2018. These works deal with perennial themes—the vicissitudes of time, the cycles of history, and the rise of civilizations—yet seek out new possibilities therein, creating a space charged with tension, balanced between past and future.

 

Yang Luzi studied philosophy and comparative poetics; her linguistic and formal concerns endow her films with a rich prosody. Using the language of prayer, she transforms her private experiences into visual and linguistic cues. Words, scattered among the images, are given a life of their own. They do not merely supplement these images, but run parallel to them, sometimes even challenging their veracity. Numbers seem to suggest important historical dates, yet it is never clear whether they are keys to understanding the films, or merely bait, luring us deeper into a labyrinth of history. Here, facticity and imagination, memory and futurity, blur together.

 

Yang Luzi’s filmic practice often blends scenes of personal significance into larger historical contexts, creating a landscape in which the psychological is overlaid with the geographical. In The Oracle is the Mouthpiece, a fragment of a face appears on a small mirror above a lake, its lips silently uttering a string of bizarre words: “red yellow green blue, iron copper bronze zinc, a great empire needs great colors.” This prophet’s eyes are never seen—they are cut off by a mountain range, rising from the water, as if the speaker’s sight merges into the land itself. The image evokes that of the blind prophet, one who could see divine will beyond the fog of appearances—giving up physical sight, and gaining supernatural vision. In Le Yeti, a traveler retraces the storied steps of early twentieth century Swedish explorer Sven Hedin, surveying the area supposedly inhabited by the mythical Yeti. Desert and debris are juxtaposed with the sound of running water, suggesting the artist’s home in southern China, and forming an imagined landscape at once familiar and foreign. In Spirit Away Temple, Hangzhou’s Fei Lai Feng (literally “The Peak that Flew Hither”) is recalled as the artist has always known it in her memory, as “The Peak that Flew Away.” In one shot, two deities within the thirteenth century Moya Cliff Reliefs seem as if they have just descended and, simultaneously, as if they are about to take flight. Another scene cuts between a pair of sculptures kneeling in a shrine and two human bodies crouched in darkness, like figures punished for some age-old crime. In Yang’s films, the borders of ancient empires are coextensive with the ruins found in modern civilization; past adventurers share itineraries with today’s travelers, using scraps of Morse code; people carved into cliffs exchange looks with twenty-first century viewers; and motifs, dense with history and culture, lead us into a kingdom of images. These images do not themselves point to any specific historical event, but to the hardships—then and now, real and imagined—faced by individuals and nations.

 

What Miracles Took Place When You Were Born, shot in 2018, represents Yang’s search for vitality in new continent. The mass of this land is constantly increasing due to volcanic activity, a kind of geographic autopoiesis which affords her the rare chance to unburden herself from history. She picks bright, lively images, like potatoes grown on native soil, or newly introduced species, and searches for the “miracles of birth” that connect them. Both serious and irreverent, the film uses the structure of Psalms to retell or “annotate” several stories of miracles. After repeated iterations, the “miracles” begin to sound like jokes.  Their supernatural aspect is diluted, and the structures at their core, cemented over thousands of years, are destabilized, becoming fluid and free. A newly discovered, individual consciousness reveals itself, a pre-religious understanding of the world and nature. Delving past layers of abstraction and returning to the moment of birth, it finds the miraculous.

 

Through their citations of history, geography, and poetry, Yang Luzi’s films explore the limits and secrets of perceptible language. Her work hovers in a space between sensory experience and the indescribable. From the discovery of a jouissance unspoiled by ideology, to the communion between the human world and the world of nature, this exhibition completes a protracted journey, a movement of dialectical self-consciousness, and a political investigation subtly connected to reality.

 

About the Exhibition

Exclusive audio equipment support comes from Genelec. BenQ provides film equipment support.

 

About the Artist

Yang Luzi (b. 1987, Hangzhou, lives and works in Beijing and Los Angeles) graduated from Harvard with a degree in comparative literature and a specialization in philosophy in 2011. In that year, she was awarded a DAAD scholarship to study comparative poetics in Bonn and Berlin for two years. In 2016, she obtained her M.F.A. in film from the California Institute of the Arts. Her work was included in the group exhibition “Toward the Emergence of Resistance” (Taikang Space, Beijing, 2016-2017).

 

About “New Directions”

Initiated in 2015, the “New Directions” series offers some of China’s most promising young artists a platform to realize their first institutional solo exhibition and monographic publication. Deepening UCCA’s ongoing commitment to emerging practices pioneered by shows including “The New Normal” (2017), “ON|OFF” (2013), “Breaking Forecast” (2009), and the “Curated By…” series (2010-2012), New Directions aims to present, through a constellation of singular positions, an overall sense of the richness and complexity of new art in China today.

Works in the Exhibition
 / 1 1
    • Yang Luzi
    • The Oracle is the Mouthpiece (film still)
    • 2016
    • single-channel video
    • 3′43″
    • Yang Luzi
    • Le Yeti (film still)
    • 2016
    • single-channel video
    • 6′12″
    • Yang Luzi
    • Spirit Away Temple (film still)
    • 2016
    • single-channel video
    • 9′47″
    • Yang Luzi
    • What Miracles Took Place When You Were Born (film still)
    • 2018
    • single-channel video
    • 8′18″
Installation Views
Related Programs
    • 2018.7.22
      New Directions Series Yang Luzi: Memory Workshop
      14:00-18:00
      UCCA Workshop
  •  
  •  
  •  
Videos
  • New Directions: Yang Luzi
    4′14″
  •  
  •  
  •

×
loading...
新倾向:杨露子
2018.6.9 - 2018.8.12
新展厅
  • 展览介绍
  • 展出作品
  • 展览现场
  • 视频

尤伦斯当代艺术中心(UCCA)于2018年6月9日至8月12日在新展厅呈现“新倾向:杨露子”,展出艺术家近年来创作的两组影像:创作于2016年的一系列黑白影像“伟大的帝国需要伟大的色彩”三部曲——《先知就是喉舌》《雪人》《神去之寺》,与创作于2018年的彩色影像《你出生的时候有什么奇迹》。这两组作品在主题上既有延续也有转折,承载了艺术家对于时间、历史兴衰、文明形态等主题的思考,并试图在历史的负重之下探寻新生的可能性,共同在过去与未来之间构建出一个充满张力的空间。

杨露子早年研究哲学与比较诗学,随后转向影像创作,其对文字与诗歌形式的关注也使得其作品充满了诗学蕴味。艺术家将私人经验以祷辞般的语句进行暗示,这些散落于图像间隙的文字被赋予了独立的生命轨迹;语词并非仅仅作为图像的补充而存在,而是与图像构成平行甚或相互挑战的关系。这些散落的文字与似乎提示着重要年代的数字,究竟是为我们提供了一把解开图像谜题的钥匙,还是一枚诱饵,企图迷惑我们进入更深入复杂的历史与记忆迷宫?——在那里,史实与想象、记忆与未来的边界变得暧昧不明。

杨露子的影像实践多从个人经验与记忆出发,将对自身具有特殊意义的场景融入历史语境之中,这使得她的创作呈现出一种地理图景与心理图景相交叠的面貌。在《先知就是喉舌》中,先知面容的残片被投射于湖面上方的小圆镜中,双唇反复无声叙说着扑朔迷离的语句:“赤橙黄绿,铁铜铅锌,伟大的帝国需要伟大的色彩。”先知被山峦所隐没的双眼在画面中并不可见,其视线似乎与风景本身融为一体;而眼眸的缺失则使观者隐隐想起那些能够穿透迷雾看清神意的盲先知——又或许,正是对生理视觉的舍弃让他们获得了更高程度的“灵视之力”。《雪人》中的旅行者踏上了二十世纪初的瑞典探险家斯文·赫定曾涉足的异域,探访传说中的雪人居住之地。目之所及的干涸沙漠与风物残片和以流水声和歌声暗示的南方形成对照,在故乡与他乡之间构建出一幅想象的地图。《神去之寺》中,名为“飞来”的山峰在艺术家的记忆里却始终被称作“飞去峰”,而峰坡之上摩崖石刻像中的神灵既似刚刚降临此地,又似要从此处飞身而去。古祠庭院中的两座古代跪像与黑暗空间内的两具肉身形成似是而非的平行,仿佛因背负历史的罪责而被困于此,永远不得逃离。在这些流动的影像中,古代帝国不断扩张的版图与现代文明遗址仍有着高度的重合,先辈冒险家们和今天的旅行者通过流传下来的摩斯密码交流行动轨迹,十三世纪的摩崖石刻像与现代的观察者进行目光的置换,种种凝聚了丰富历史与文化内涵的意象将我们引入一个扑朔迷离的图像帝国。被刻意处理成黑白的图像本身并不指向特定历史年代或事件,却让“帝国”一词本身所具有政治色彩变得超越了时间限制,而指向个体与族群在历史与现实之中,彼时与此时持续面对的难以摆脱的困境。

在2018年最新创作的影像作品《你出生的时候有什么奇迹》中,杨露子试图在最近到访的大陆上探寻新的生机。在这片因持续的活火山爆发不断带来新土壤,而处于不间断的自我更新状态中的土地上,艺术家看到了从历史的重负中走出,重获“新生”的希望。她选取具有新生之感、色彩鲜活的图像——如来自本土的洋芋叶子和被引入的外来动物等,以“诞生的奇迹”为线索将它们串联起来。艺术家借鉴圣经旧约中《诗篇》的结构形式,以略带戏谑的方式对宗教典籍和名人传记中的“神迹”进行重构或添上亦庄亦谐的私人评注。在不断的变奏中,这些奇迹演变得越来越接近于某种玩笑,而通常蕴含庄严或神圣之感的“奇迹”本身的宗教意味被淡化消解,在数千年的历史中日渐凝固僵化的神话结构被拆散,重新回归自由的流动状态。这或许正预示了个体的觉醒,预言了一种重新发现自身与世界、与自然的前宗教关系的可能性:正如诞生神话中,“奇迹”母题所遵循的结构实际上源于人类文化历史经验的抽象与提纯,若我们返回人类个体经验的源头,会发现在历史的最初起点,每个个体的新生中都蕴含着某种奇迹。

通过对历史、地理和诗歌形式的引用,杨露子的影像创作探索着可感知的语言的极限和秘密,她的创作面貌徘徊在既有感官经验与无法描述之状态之间。从沉溺于历史包袱无法醒来的困顿,到发现既成意识形态工具不曾染指之处的狂喜,再到人类世界与自然世界的和解,艺术家通过展览完成了一次漫长的旅途,一场自我意识的辩证运动,一轮与现实微妙关照的政治考察。

 

关于展览

“新倾向:杨露子”由Genelec(真力)提供独家展览音响设备支持,BenQ提供影像设备支持。

 

关于艺术家

杨露子1987年出生于杭州,2011年毕业于美国哈佛大学,获比较文学学士学位,主修哲学;同年获DAAD德意志学术研究奖学金并旅居德国两年,在波恩和柏林进行比较诗学研究。2016年毕业于美国加州艺术学院,获电影创作艺术硕士学位。她曾参与群展 “抵抗的涌现”(泰康空间,北京,2016-2017)。

 

关于新倾向

“新倾向”系列聚焦于大中华地区的艺术新声,为艺术家举办个展并出版相关专著。该系列项目延续UCCA一贯的展览愿景,致力于通过一系列个体呈现的整体样貌来展现当今中国乃至国际范围内新艺术倾向的丰富性与复杂性。

下载“新倾向:杨露子”新闻稿。

展出作品
 / 1 1
    • 杨露子
    • 《先知就是喉舌》(静帧)
    • 2016
    • 单频录像
    • 3′43″
    • 杨露子
    • 《雪人》(静帧)
    • 2016
    • 单频录像
    • 6′12″
    • 杨露子
    • 《神去之寺》(静帧)
    • 2016
    • 单频录像
    • 9′47″
    • 杨露子
    • 《你出生的时候有什么奇迹》(静帧)
    • 2018
    • 单频录像
    • 8′18″
展览现场
视频
  • “新倾向:杨露子”开幕现场回顾
    4′14″
  •  
  •  
  •