×
loading...
Broached Retreat
2014.5.24 - 2014.8.29
Long Gallery
  • About
  • Installation Views
  • In the News
  • Related Programs
  • Videos

Broached Commissions, a Melbourne-based design studio, haspioneered a new approach to the applied arts and to design objects based on extensive curatorial research into overarching historical themes such as colonialism and globalization. One of their central concerns is a key question in international applied arts practice: Whathappens to design when it migrates?

The group’s first exhibition in China takes as a starting point Australia’s unique position as a mediator between European cultural traditions and its East and Southeast Asian neighbors. Far from merely a show of Australian design in China, “Broached Retreat” invites international designers to collaborate on discussions on the history of design. “Broached Retreat” features twelve pieces by eight designers. The exhibition includes works from the group’s first two highly successful collections, “Broached Colonial” and “Broached East,” alongside new works made for the UCCA presentation. “Broached Colonial” explores the colonial period from the Australian perspective, probing how the country’s unique cultural geography and population—remote yet European, bringing together entrepreneurs, frontiersmen, and convicts—impacted the development of its nascent material culture.

Broached East” focuses on Australia’s relationship to Asia during the Australian gold rush. This period saw the beginning of mainstream consumer products and lifestyle magazines, an era of consumption that continues today. With an influx of gold rush money, Australia quickly pivoted from being a penal colony to a merchant economy. It is during this period that the arts & crafts movement throws down the challenge to champion the well and locally made over the ubiquitous, cheap, mass-produced version—another dichotomy that persists to this day and is at the heart of the industrial dilemmas that Broached focuses on.

“Broached Retreat” situates these collections within a new context: a pavilion constructed out of fabric and stone. The pavilion consists of a masculine study and a feminine boudoir. The rooms are conceived as meditative refuge, featuring works that address the question of how we experience private, interior spaces today. A few new works are being created to fit with the show’s pavilion context. A day bed and stools are being made from the Dzek Max Lamb Marmoreal terrazzo stone. A giant loom containing a weaving by Susan Dimasi of MaterialByProduct and a dressing table by Chen Lu are being designed especially for the UCCA exhibition.

Broached Commissions is interested in design as a creative canon unto itself. The group explores narratives of design: how different times and cultures came to produce the forms that they did, and how these ideas grew, shifted, and evolved when adopted by designers and artisans in different parts of the world. The group investigates not just objects, but the locally specific intentions and desires that inspired them. For each commission, core Broached designers are joined by a curator to initiate research into the human and industrial stories of a particular era in Asian-Pacific history. Working with curators and scholars, the group constructs a narrative framework to guide the design. Broached then reaches out to international designers whose interests and practice fit the project, producing concept sketches and prototypes before engaging artisans and specialists to realize the object.

“Broached Retreat” is conceived by Broached Commissions Creative Director Lou Weis. The pavilion is designed by Chen Lu. Participating designers include Broached founding members Adam Goodrum, Trent Jansen, and Charles Wilson alongside works by Keiji Ashizawa (Tokyo), Susan Dimasi (Melbourne), Max Lamb (London), Naihan Li (Beijing), Chen Lu (Sydney), and Azuma Makoto (Tokyo). The exhibition is sponsored by Asialink. Technical support is provided by The Royals.

About Broached Commissions

Broached Commissions initiates bespoke made and limited edition design collections, each based on a different historical context. Broached gives form to historical fictions. By fusing the depth of history with contemporary design, the company creates new work that embodies a story of Australian life as one that is deeply connected to global trends. Applying a collaborative research and design process, the company enables an international dialogue about design from the Australian experience and perspective. Design ideas are adapted to local contexts when they move from country to country, from one design studio to another. Broached Commissions shows the Australian experience of this process of design migration. Broached was founded by its Creative Director Lou Weis and Vincent Aiello.

启思隐居

For more information, please read the “Broached Retreat” exhibition booklet.

Azuma Makoto, Paludarium Shigelu
  • 2013, stainless steel, glass, 80 x 80 x 120 cm
  • Courtesy Azuma Makoto
Installation Views
In the News
  • In the exhibition, the artistic director reviews some of the group’s most important works, mainly from the two collections – Broached Colonial, which explores the colonial period, and Broached East, which focuses on what’s by some measures the largest migration in human history, from 1850 to around 1930.

Related Programs
    • 2014.5.24
      [Workshop] Design Narrative
      13:00-16:00
      UCCA Salon
    • 2014.5.25
      [Talks & Forums] Broached Forum
      14:00-15:30
      UCCA Auditorium
  •  
  •  
Videos
  • Broached Retreat
  •  
  •  
  •

×
loading...
启思隐居
2014.5.24 - 2014.8.29
长廊
  • 展览介绍
  • 展览现场
  • 相关公共项目
  • 视频

本展邀请来自澳大利亚的艺术与设计工作室“启思会”,在美术馆内搭建一个私密、内置有限量版作品的性别空间,探讨有关历史和设计的典故。启思会由多位国际知名设计师组成,他们基于对殖民主义和全球主义等大跨度历史题材的广泛的策展研究,开创了一种拓展应用艺术和设计的新思路;其中,一个核心的关注点正是当今国际应用艺术实践所面临的普遍问题:当设计“ 迁移 ”到另一处时,将会发生什么?

“启思隐居”是启思会在中国的首次展览,探讨澳大利亚介于欧洲文化传统和东亚及东南亚邻国浸润之间的独特位置,寻找不同文明碰撞的缓冲地带。本展绝非挪移到中国的澳大利亚设计秀,而旨在提供一种新思路,邀请国际设计师共同搭建一个讨论设计历史的空间。展览内容包括8位设计师12件的作品、启思会早期的两个成功实践《启思殖民》和《启思东方》,以及一系列专为此次UCCA现场所打造的新作品。《启思殖民》从澳大利亚视角探讨殖民历史,分析本国独特的文化地理和复杂的居民成分——欧洲商人、拓荒者和罪犯等外来人口汇聚于此,在诸多因素的影响下形成了今天的物质文明面貌。

《启思东方》关注“淘金热”时期澳大利亚和亚洲之间的关系,这是人类有史以来最大规模的族群迁移,澳大利亚正是在此时期摆脱了流放之所的角色,正式加入了全球贸易链——尤其与中国和日本之间的贸易往来最为频繁。工业化和新兴中产阶级的崛起促生了实用主义和订制产品的蓬勃发展,同时激化了基础手工业和泛滥的商业制造之间的冲突关系,这也正是隐于启思会的大量实践背后的议题。

“启思隐居”将上述议题置入新的语境:一个用纸、石和铁搭建的临时空间。这个被命名为《启思隐私》的空间分为男性书房和女性闺房两个部分,可以看作是冥思之所,里面展示着一些质疑人们在今天对于隐私和内部空间的经验的作品。专为此次UCCA展览的空间语境所设计的新作品包括用水磨石做的沙发床和凳子、苏珊·迪马斯的大织造机和吕承颖的梳妆台。

启思会所关注的议题还包括如何将设计本身作为一件创造物或艺术作品,探讨的方向包括:不同的时代和文化如何自我生产了其特有的形式和风格,以及这些“特殊性”如何在不同的工匠和制作者手中生长、转换和进化。启思会的实践内容极为丰富,在创作中满足自身对文化地理的求知欲;核心的设计师成员们每年都邀请一位策展人合作,针对亚太历史中某一特定时期的人类学和工业化典故进行调研;通过与策展人和学者的密切交流,他们构造出一个叙事框架以指导设计,然后在国际范围内寻找并邀请兴趣相投的设计师,共同为项目生成概念、制作草图和模型。

本展由启思会创意总监罗韦斯所构思和策划,其中《启思隐私》空间由吕承颖设计。参展设计师包括启思会创始成员亚当·古德路姆 、特伦特·詹森和查尔斯·威尔逊,亦包括以下设计师的作品:芦沢启治(东京)、苏珊·迪马斯(墨尔本)、麦克斯·兰博(伦敦)、李鼐含(北京)、吕承颖(悉尼)和东信(东京)。

关于启思会

由来自墨尔本的启思会由创意总监罗韦斯和文森特·艾洛共同成立,推出特别定制和限量版的设计收藏品,每件作品都基于澳大利亚历史上的某个标志性事件。通过将先锋设计与历史的深度相融合,启思会以一系列创作实践体现澳大利亚式生活、并填补当代的功能需求,为时代背景和语境而设计;同时,在集体调研和设计流程的推进中,发起围绕澳大利亚艺术和设计观念所展开的国际对话。他们的设计理念基于所赴不同国家和机构的当地语境而不断变化,在此过程中反复实践着以澳洲经验为核心的“设计迁移”。

启思隐居

了解更多信息,请继续阅读“启思隐居”导览册。

东信,《水陆箱·茂》
  • 2013,不锈钢、玻璃。
  • 80 x 80 x 120 厘米。
  • 图片由东信提供。
展览现场
相关公共项目
    • 2014.5.24
      [工作坊] 设计的叙事
      13:00-16:00
      UCCA 沙龙
    • 2014.5.25
      [讲座与论坛] 启思而论
      14:00-15:30
      UCCA 报告厅
  •  
  •  
视频
  • 启思隐居
  •  
  •  
  •