×
loading...
After Nature: UCCA Dune Opening Exhibition
2018.10.13 - 2019.4.7
UCCA Dune, Aranya Gold Coast
  • About
  • Ticketing
  • Exhibition Works
  • Installation Views
  • Videos

From October 13, 2018 to April 4, 2019, UCCA presents “After Nature,” the inaugural exhibition at the UCCA Dune Art Museum, the newest addition to UCCA’s growing portfolio of projects. Included are works by nine Chinese artists who span a range of generations, born between 1942 and 1988. The works on display, by Li Shan, Liang Shaoji, Liu Yujia, Nabuqi, Yang Xinguang, Trevor Yeung, Yu Ji, Zheng Bo, and Zhuang Hui & Dan’er, engage with the question of how humanity discovered—and in some ways invented—the natural world, a question given increased urgency by the release of a United Nations Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change report this week forecasting climate-induced crises before 2040 if carbon emissions continue at current levels. The exhibition is specifically devised for the singular spaces of UCCA Dune Art Museum, a subterranean building designed by Li Hu and Huang Wenqing of OPEN Architecture, located under a sand dune on a beach in the Aranya Gold Coast Community, 300 kilometers from Beijing. Organized by UCCA curator Luan Shixuan, the exhibition creates a dialogue among the works, the cell-like galleries that house them, the surrounding sand, and the rising sea just beyond.

The title “After Nature” denotes changes in both the physical environment and human conceptions of it. Sustained human encroachment has permanently transformed the environment, leading many scholars to declare an entirely new geological era, the Anthropocene. The Romantic idea of nature as unspoiled wilderness—always ideologically fraught, even spurious—is no longer tenable. With this comes the realization that nature is not a holistic entity, or some secular providence, but simply the multiple, overlapping worlds fashioned by the billions of beings—living and non-living, organic and non-organic—that reside on this earth. Works in the exhibition testify to this strange insight. They evoke received notions of nature such as scenic mountains, green plants, and flowing rivers, only to have them morph seamlessly into “artificial” elements like liquid crystal, plastic, and inkjet printing. Taken together, the artists and works ask viewers to rethink nature, rather than to do away with it; to imagine a new ecology that sees humans and objects in close proximity, mutually influencing and influenced, ineluctably entangled.

Exhibited Works

Three works by Li Shan (b. 1942, Heilongjiang Province) deal with bioengineering: the prints Scribble 2 and Scribble 3 depict strange, organic hybrids of corn, decomposed leaves, and other organic material, while his film Misfortune centers on a dragonfly-human hybrid, roving across the world where an ecological disaster—with its attendant genetic mutations—seems to have already occurred.

Moon Garden by Liang Shaoji (b. 1945, Shanghai) continues the artist’s engagement with the life cycle of silkworms. A frame of acrylic and steel is covered in silk and cocoons, testifying to the ways in which actors—human and animal—engineer the places we inhabit. Alongside the installation, a film documents the silkworms spinning on this installation. Buried in the sand, itself taken from the surrounding area, are fragments of daggers, scimitars, and mirrors, which, along with the stele-like monument, evoke the rise and fall of ancient Mesopotamian civilizations, as well as the region’s present-day turmoil.

The exhibition includes two films by Liu Yujia (b. 1981, Sichuan Province). Black Ocean is inspired by Italo Calvino’s Invisible Cities, which follows an imaginary dialogue between to Marco Polo and Kublai Khan on a series of fantastical cities. Wave transforms aerial footage of beaches into a mesmerizing, digital diptych. These abstracted, aestheticized images of nature both contrast and resonate with the liquid crystal display screens that make them visible, seemingly pointing to an uncanny synthesis of two forms of liquidity.

Destination by Nabuqi (b. 1984, Inner Mongolia Province) juxtaposes “fake” plants with an image of a scenic beachside getaway, reminiscent of a billboard. The work reminds viewers of the dunes and sea outside the building, effacing the differences between interior and exterior by showing how artwork and environment are both shaped by human hands.

Mountains by Yang Xinguang (b. 1980, Hunan Province) is a collection of small, concrete hills. Yang is interested in the symbiosis between organic and synthetic materials. Here, it is concrete, a quintessential urban material, that is modeled into hills, revealing the sand, water, and gravel that have comprised it all along.

Monochrome prints of an acanthus tree by Trevor Yeung (b. 1988, Guangdong Province) pose the question: what becomes of the plant in the age of mechanical reproduction? The acanthus provides an ironic case study—a plant replicated in European art and architecture for thousands of years and disseminated around the world via colonial encroachment, yet which few people have seen in person. Yeung’s works Island 5050 and Island 6090, meanwhile, are “2.5-dimensional” sculptures: both are prints of bodies of water, stuck to pieces of real pumice.

Ta Jama – Green Hair Monster by Yu Ji (b. 1985, Shanghai) is an exercise in naming. What appear to be small boulders overgrown with moss are actually made of reinforced concrete. Reminiscent of a Chinese garden, the work reflects Yu’s interest in the many roles the figure of the stone plays in different civilizations and religions. The sleight-of-hand substitution of manmade for natural material, and the imitative, speculative quality of the work, only further blur the distinction between the natural and artificial.

Dune Botanical Garden by Zheng Bo (b. 1974, Beijing) takes the psammophyte—a plant that is uniquely adapted to living in shifting sands with its roots uncovered—and situates it within the environment of UCCA Dune. By transplanting a garden into a museum, Bo seeks to shift the definition of art from something “manmade” to something made by all living things.

The “Leftover Material from the Carpenters” series, by Zhuang Hui (b. 1963, Gansu Province) and Dan’er (b. 1983, Shaanxi Province) gives viewers a sense of the radical power of framing. These painstakingly crafted sculptures look like wooden odds and ends left over from a carpentry project. Yet composed of copper and acrylic—materials that are cast, not carved—they complicate the easy binaries between artist and artisan, carpenter and conceptualist.

About UCCA Dune

UCCA Dune is an art museum buried under a sand dune by the Bohai Sea in Beidaihe, 300 kilometers east of Beijing. Designed by OPEN Architecture, its galleries unfold over a series of cell-like spaces that evoke caves. Some are naturally lit from above, while others open out onto the beach. As a branch of UCCA, China’s leading independent institution of contemporary art, it presents rotating exhibitions in dialogue with its particular site and space. UCCA Dune is built and supported by UCCA strategic partner Aranya, and located within the Aranya Gold Coast Community.

Download “After Nature: UCCA Dune Opening Exhibition” press release.

Ticketing

Please scan the QR code to purchase tickets.

后自然170

Special Instructions
*Students and Aranya residents can buy discounted tickets; after successful purchase, they must present student ID or proof of Aranya residence at the venue to be admitted; each Aranya resident can buy two discounted tickets
*Proof via text message that tickets have been bought may be shown for entry into Aranya
*Tickets may be used only on the day they have been purchased
Works in the Exhibition
 / 2 1
    • Liu Yujia
    • Wave
    • 2017
    • Double channel HD video
    • 3’14”
    • Liu Yujia
    • Wave
    • 2017
    • Double channel HD video
    • 3’14”
    • Trevor Yeung
    • Garden Acanthus (Balkan)
    • 2017
    • Archival inkjet print
    • 108 x 108 cm
    • Courtesy Blindspot Gallery
    • Zhuang Hui & Dan'er
    • Leftover Material from the Carpenters (3)
    • 2009
    • Copper, acrylic
    • 138 x 106 x 150cm
    • Zhuang Hui & Dan'er
    • Leftover Material from the Carpenters (6)
    • 2009
    • Copper, acrylic
    • 230 x 15 x 54cm
    • Li Shan
    • Scribble 3
    • 2017
    • print
    • Li Shan
    • Scribble 3
    • 2017
    • print
  •  
Installation Views
Videos
  • After Nature: UCCA Dune Opening Exhibition
    3'41''
  •  
  •  
  •

×
loading...
后自然:UCCA沙丘美术馆开幕展
2018.10.13 - 2019.4.7
UCCA沙丘美术馆,北戴河阿那亚黄金海岸
  • 展览介绍
  • 票务信息
  • 展出作品
  • 展览现场
  • 视频

UCCA于2018年10月13日至2019年4月7日呈现UCCA馆群新成员——沙丘美术馆的开幕首展“后自然”。展览囊括了李山、梁绍基、刘雨佳、娜布其、杨心广、杨沛铿、于吉、郑波、庄辉&旦儿这九位/组出生于1942至1988年间,跨越数个代际的艺术家的创作。这些作品探讨人类是如何发现——或者从某种角度来说,如何发明——自然世界的;这一问题随着本周联合国政府间气候变化专门委员会发布的一份报告而显得愈为紧迫,该报告预测,如果碳排放量继续维持当前水平,全球气候危机将在2040年之前到来。本次展览特依据UCCA沙丘的独特空间而设计,由OPEN建筑事务所李虎和黄文菁主持设计的沙丘美术馆隐于距北京约300公里的阿那亚黄金海岸社区内的沙丘之下。展览由UCCA策展人栾诗璇策划,展览作品、容纳作品的细胞状展览空间、四周的沙滩与远处上升的海面形成独特的对话。

展览的标题“后自然”暗示了自然环境本身的变化和人类对自然之理解的变化。持续的人类入侵已对环境造成了永久的改变,许多学者也因而宣称我们进入了一个全新的地质时代——人类纪。浪漫主义将自然视为未经沾染与开垦之地的观念如今已难以成立:这一概念中也凝聚着多重意识形态痕迹,甚至有虚假之嫌。人们随即意识到,自然并非一个整体的独立存在物,也不是某种上帝的世俗馈赠,而是由生活在地球之上,包括生物和非生物、有机和非有机生物在内的数十亿存在物所共同构成的层次丰富而相互交叠的世界。展览中的作品正是这种奇特视域的印证,它们唤起人们对自然的认知记忆,如风景优美的山脉、绿色植物和流动的河流,却让它们无缝地变形为“人造”元素,如液晶、塑料和喷墨打印等。总体上来说,艺术家和作品要求观众重新思考自然而非弃之于不顾;要求他们想象一种新型生态,在这种生态系统之中,人与物的关系极为密切,它们互相施加影响并接收来自对方的影响,难以分割地纠缠在一起。

展览作品

李山(1942年出生于黑龙江兰西)创作了三件与生物工程相关的作品:印刷作品《涂抹2》和《涂抹3》展现了异形的有机杂交玉米、腐烂的树叶和其他有机物质形象。而影片《遭际》则聚焦于游荡在世界各地的蜻蜓人,地球生态灾难和随之而来的基因突变似乎业已爆发。

梁绍基(1945年出生于上海)的作品《月庭》延续了艺术家对蚕的生命历程的关注:一个由亚克力材料和钢材制成的框架上覆盖着蚕丝和蚕茧,这显示出作为行动者的人与动物是如何构造我们的居住环境的。在这件装置作品的旁边,还有一部展示蚕在装置上吐丝织茧的纪录影片。在从周边地区收集的沙子里,埋藏着匕首、弯刀和镜子的碎片,这些碎片和石柱状的纪念碑一起,让人遥想起古代美索不达米亚文明的兴衰以及该地区当前的动荡。

刘雨佳(1981年出生于四川)在展览中呈现两部电影作品《黑色海洋》与《海浪》。《黑色海洋》的创作灵感源于伊塔洛·卡尔维诺的作品《看不见的城市》,一部构建了马可·波罗和忽必烈在一系列虚构城市中的假想对话的作品。《海浪》将连续航拍海滩的拍摄画面转化为魅惑的数码双连画。这些抽象的、审美化的自然图像与使其可见的液晶显示屏形成对比并产生共鸣,似乎指向两种流动性所形成的不可思议的统一。

娜布其(1984年出生于内蒙古)在作品《终点》中将“假”植物与一幅描绘风景优美的海滨度假胜地、让人联想起广告牌的图画并置。通过展示艺术品和环境是如何同等地经由人手而塑造的,这部作品让观众想起建筑物外面的沙丘和大海,从而消除了内部和外部之间的差异。

杨沛铿(1988年出生于广东东莞)创作的几张单色橡胶树照片引出了这样的问题:在机械复制的时代里,植物会变成何种模样?莨苕这一植物为我们提供了一个具有讽刺意味的案例——这种植物的图像在欧洲艺术和建筑中流传了几千年,并通过殖民活动散播到世界各地,但很少有人亲眼见过植物本身。作品《五十五十岛》和《六十九十岛》则是半立体雕塑:这两件作品均将水体的形态影印出来,再将之附于真实的浮岩碎片之上。

杨心广(1980年出生于湖南宁乡)的作品《山们》汇集了一组小型的水泥和混凝土山丘。艺术家关注有机材料和合成材料之间的共生关系,而这件作品中,混凝土这种典型的城市材料被塑造成小山,展示出构成山体的沙子、水和砾石的形态面貌。

于吉(1985年出生于上海)的作品《Ta Jama—绿毛怪》是一次关于命名的练习,作品中看似长满苔藓的小石头实际上由混凝土制成。这部作品让人想起中国园林,展现出了艺术家对石头在不同文明和宗教中扮演的多种角色的兴趣。以人工替代自然材料的巧妙手法以及作品的模仿和想象特质,进一步模糊了自然与人工之间的边界。

郑波(1974年出生于北京)的作品《沙丘植物园》将沙生植物——这是一类根系裸露在外、生长于流沙之中的独特植物——置于UCCA沙丘美术馆的环境中。通过将植物园引入美术馆,艺术家尝试将艺术的的定义从人的创造扩展到万物的创造。

庄辉(1963年出生于甘肃玉门)&旦儿(1983年出生于陕西府谷)的系列作品《木工师傅的边角料》向观众传达了框架所具有的强大力量。这些精心制作的手工雕塑看起来就像木工活动结束后留下的废料。然而,创作使用的材料——铜和丙烯酸,是经浇铸而非雕琢而成的。这使艺术家与工匠、木匠和概念艺术家之间简单的二元关系变得更为复杂了。

关于UCCA沙丘美术馆

UCCA沙丘是一座隐于沙丘之下的美术馆,坐落于北戴河渤海海岸,距北京约300公里的繁荣海滨社区内。美术馆由OPEN建筑事务所主持设计,其展厅由一系列形似洞穴的细胞状空间彼此吸引联结而构成;来自天窗的自然光为部分室内展厅提供光源,几个户外展厅则朝向开阔的海滩。UCCA是中国领先的独立当代艺术机构,作为其馆群的新成员,沙丘美术馆每年推出注重与在地环境的互文关系、呼应建筑形态与馆内空间的展览。美术馆由UCCA战略合作伙伴阿那亚建设且提供资金支持,并于2018年10月起对公众开放。

下载“后自然:UCCA沙丘美术馆开幕展”新闻稿。

票务信息

后自然170

参观日期

2018.10.14 – 2019.4.7

开馆时间

五月至十月 周二至周日 10:00-19:00(18:30停止入场)

十一月至四月 周二至周日 10:30-17:00 (16:30停止入场)

特别说明

*学生和阿那亚业主可购买优惠票,购买成功后需现场持有效学生证件或阿那亚业主证兑换票入场,一位阿那亚业主凭证可购买两张优惠票;

*UCCA会员免费参观;
*可凭购票成功的通知短信进入阿那亚社区;
*票券兑换后限当天使用。

展出作品
 / 2 1
    • 刘雨佳
    • 《海浪》(静帧)
    • 2017
    • 双频高清录像
    • 3分14秒
    • 刘雨佳
    • 《海浪》(静帧)
    • 2017
    • 双频高清录像
    • 3分14秒
    • 杨沛铿
    • 《园中茛苕(Balkan)》
    • 2017
    • 收藏级喷墨打印
    • 108 x 108cm
    • 图片由艺术家及刺点画廊提供
    • 庄辉&旦儿
    • 《木工师傅的边角料(3)》
    • 2009
    • 铜、丙烯
    • 138 x 106 x 150cm
    • 庄辉&旦儿
    • 《木工师傅的边角料(6)》
    • 2009
    • 铜、丙烯
    • 230 x 15 x 54cm
    • 李山
    • 《涂抹3》
    • 2017
    • 照片
    • 李山
    • 《涂抹3》
    • 2017
    • 照片
  •  
展览现场
视频
  • “后自然:UCCA沙丘美术馆开幕展”现场回顾
    3'41''
  •  
  •  
  •